We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Spot, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off - Limited Time
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Coronado
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel and Spot, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Beautiful historical hotel, a true San Diego classic. The only area for improvement would be the sun deck/fire pit area. There is currently a snack-bar atmosphere which is nice, but the plastic cups and plates, and limited menu make one feel as though they were at the zoo or Sea World. It's very out of character with the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Del. Because the Sun Deck is located right on the beach, we choose to use plastic utensils for safety reasons. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,207
    714
    384
    249
    186
See reviews for
810
764
50
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful property... But for $ 700.00 at night + Tax + local tax + resort fee + 41.00 dollars parking+ local Tax is not worth the money
1* Fridge in the room empty and not working
2* Patio sealing wholes and painting felling down
3* we reserve in the main hotel "but not they give us the tower a building next to the hotel with old non style decor at all
they lived with the name DEL CORONADO but far from a classic hotel with comfort
we ask for extra blanket and give us a blue blanket rip and full of holes like if I need to move furniture in a U-Haul truck overall not good experience finally we check out after three days and move to the to other hotel not because I love Coronado island beaches that was way more clean that the rooms at Del Coronado

Room Tip: be sure before you are booking to ask questions where the room is located
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for submitting your feedback on your recent stay. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Again, we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at this wonderful resort twice, and plan to return soon. It is very charming. There are three sections of this resort. The Beach Village at the Del, which is a group of outragously priced cottages and villas. The Victorian section, which are located in the original hotel, and the ocean towers and California Cabanas. I have stayed in the victorian, and the California Cabanas. The victorian rooms are small, but charming and elegant, and have been recently renovated. The California Cabanas is 1960s building. The rooms are larger, but are nothing nicer then a hilton, and are from $400 a night. Next to the pool, so it its extreemly noisy, however I still slept well. The victorian rooms decor is victorian oldschool charming. The bathrooms are very tiny. California Cabanas decor is more bright and colorful, and have a beachy decor. Unfourtunately, the Cabanas are a tad run down, and could use a renovation. However they are still clean. The ocean towers are ugly. They ruin the resort theme. They look like apartment buildings. I advise you not to stay in them. My favorite accomodations are the victorian buildings. Inside the rooms, they make you feel like you are in the 1900s. The resort grounds are wonderful. My only complaint is sometimes planes fly over the beach. The dining is good. I ate at Sheerwater. The service is friendly, helpful and professional. It is not a quiet getaway, but is great fun for the family. I would recomend the resort as long as you dont stay in the ocean towers. I love this resort because it is unique, like no other resort. I cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the victorian rooms, they are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we have been going to the del for about 15 years, and looks like we are in for another 15 more! somehow the del has been able to maintain a friendly staff and world class hotel. all different types and prices of rooms, from the older, historic rooms in the main hotel (great to be in the beat of things, get a seaview away from the restaurants on the north side) or the more modern towers (go for ocean view there too higher floors) the cabanas on the water (older by the main pool but if you get the ones on the oceanfront the surf is beautiful (however not a lot of privacy). we prefer to stay in the beach village units. the bigger ones have a full kitchen which is great! there is a vons down the street, and you can buy a quart of milk for your kids still less than the $5 glass of milk from room service. they can put you on the first floor with less elevator time, but a little less privacy. you can go farther from the pools for that or go up higher. we had a room on the front by the windsor and on the first floor by the walk in area and they were convenient and clean. there are several more private pools there and it is close to the fitness center, easier parking and a walk to the beach. staff, stephanie and maria are superb. you can rent bikes by the tower part of the hotel and get a nice 8 ride around or go straight up the peninsula for a really good workout. book your reservations in advance with the hotel! summer and holiday weekends are packed, but if you can get in there in early spring or early fall, weather is nice enough to get to the beach, but not so hot it's crowded. no fire pits on the beach thankfully! great beach to run on or rest too. main pool is huge and quiet early morning for swimming laps. food on site is all you need. crown room on sunday buffet is a must. don't need to bring your own shampoo and lotion... theirs is great! do bring some eye patches though for beach village... the outside lights might make you feel like you are sleeping in a tanning bed... we will be back as soon as we can! hopefully it will continue to be as well run as it is!

Room Tip: review has more details. choose beach village. privacy more north side, but more walking. first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are ecstatic that you have made The Del a tradition for the past 15 years. Thank you for your review, thoughts and tips about your previous experiences. We believe we have something to offer every guest and strive to ensure that each guest is satisfied with their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think The Del is a place everyone should stay at at least once. If you can stay with a conference even better as the rates are reduced. The main structure is elegant, charming and chock full of history. One can window shop for hours at the various hotel shops. The beach is pristine and one of the best in the World. It's within walking distance of wonderful shops and restaurants.

However properly set your expectations beforehand. You are paying for the location and historic charm.

Our room was an incredible oceanfront location, but under the sundeck which meant lots of noise. It was rather worn down and the heat didn't work. I watched the maid clean our drinking glasses in the bathroom sink using only her cleaning gloves. Upon reserving a "Private Smores Party" for our family we found the promotion was a bit misleading. However, upon sharing with the concierge they did provide us partial credit.

Again, it's an American icon everyone should experience at least once. Just have a great attitude and temper your expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay and are pleased that you were able to enjoy our location, shopping, and unique history that makes the resort so special. Thank you for your input and we hope that you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's going to be hard to say something no one else has said here. The del Coronado (or "the Del," apparently) is a classically elegant hotel. It's beautiful. It's ornate. People who demand modern minimalism will hate it. But it accomplishes all this opulence with the confidence of a gracefully aging Hollywood beauty. The beauty is never fussy, never stressful, and never importunate. Instead, it's deeply restful. You want to luxuriate in it the way you luxuriate in bath salts that cost far more than is sensible.

My husband hosted a work conference here, and was thoroughly impressed by the quality of service and the conference facilities. I joined him for a few days, without any work demands, and was amazed by the leisure facilities. The beach, the pools, the restaurants, the shops, and just the general aesthetics of the buildings and grounds are all of the same high caliber. Nothing here is a bargain, but it's all worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor of the Victorian building have fairly low ceilings. Rooms on lower floors i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your conference stay and that you appreciate the historic nuances that make The Del so special. It sounds as though you were able to experience much of what the resort has to offer. Thank you for submitting your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I vacilated between a four versus five bubble rating for the Del. Let's face it is a classic, distinctive, historic hotel which sprawls along a beautiful coastal way in southern California. What's not to like? Without a special package or associated with a conference or group, the Del is just plan expensive for the value. The restaurants serve delicious innovative and classic American fare - all at hotel prices. Rooms are large, not overly spacious. Depending upon your room, the wireless may not be existent and your cell phone will most likely NOT work. The grounds, walking paths, and beach areas are lovely. The Del is location and experience, a true mixed bag, but something worth a visit to enjoy the grounds and views, if not an actual hotel stay.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main hotel areas along or around the main building. Try not to stay in the towers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your recent stay here at The Del. We are glad that you were able to experience and enjoy the beautiful grounds that The Del is situated on as well as the variety of dining options we offer. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.