We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderately kid-friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Advance Purchase!
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Coronado
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Moderately kid-friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I took my three young kids (all under 8) to the Hotel del Coronado for winter break. I like grand, historic hotels, like the Broadmoor or Chateau Lake Louise, more than standard large resort hotels. When in a 125-year-old hotel I don’t expect perfection, but value is still nice. The del Coronado was mixed.

Check-in was fast. However, no small gifts/toys for the kids. Such a simple thing that a lot of nice hotels do, but the del Coronado instead tried to sell me on a $100/night upgrade to a grand suite, with “bunk beds and toys, very kid-friendly.” I kind of resented that given how much I was already spending, the implication being that we will make your kids happy if you spend even more here, but won’t do much if you’re only in a junior suite. Would have been great to get coloring books or something small at check-in. It goes a long way when entertaining kids for 5 days.

I had booked the junior suite a week in advance, and they knew that it was one adult, three kids. So not sure why the couch bed wasn’t unfolded when we got there late afternoon, or why we only had three towels in the room until the last day when a fourth was added. The television only had two kid channels, Cartoon Network and Nick. No Nick Jr or Disney Jr for young kids. We weren’t in the room a lot, but better kid television would have been appreciated.

The breakfast buffet is great and, at only $5/kid, nicely priced. The pool was very kid-friendly, with a depth of 3.5 feet in a lot of it, and kick-boards and noodles.

Like others, I was annoyed by all the people. Conference/corporate/tour visitors coming off large buses crowded the lobby and restaurants. It’s nice when hotel staff recognizes you after a couple of days. Other than the breakfast check-in girl, that never happened. We were lost among hundreds of other visitors.

The kids club / camp was strange. We booked our 7-year-old at the kids club every night, a few days in advance. We were told on the phone that if she was the only one signed up, they would likely cancel it, but that we would be notified in advance. After we checked in, we called the concierge and was told that it was, in fact, cancelled that night. No reason was given. So the next day we asked the concierge whether the kids club would be taking place that evening, and we were told that they do not cancel it any longer if there is only one person enrolled. He had no clue why it was cancelled the day before, or why we weren’t notified, and said that that was against hotel policy to cancel it at all. Our kids (5 and 7) liked the camp the nights that they attended, except that at 6:30-9:30, they were both exhausted by the end. Our normal bedtime is 8:30. It would have been a lot nicer if the camp took place at, say, 5:30-8:30.

The location was great, we likely would stay here again if we go back to Coronado. But the hotel could easily do some small things and make some minor changes to make the kids even happier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your suggestions. We are glad that you enjoyed our pool, breakfast buffet, and the kids’ camp. We apologize for some of the service issues you encountered, and we will share this review with the appropriate managers to make the necessary improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    917
    478
    308
    222
See reviews for
1,041
1,012
65
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grand old hotel on beachfront location. Lovely large rooms overlooking the beach (this is an ocean view upgrade) nice old fashioned large bar area with a restaurant used for breakfast & Starbucks & lots of shops & an ice cream parlour. Good size heated pool with jacuzzis & loads of other facilities we didn't get time to see or use. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and were very excited about our stay,been looking forward to a break.
Our first impression was one which would carry through our entire stay... It's just too hectic!
It's impressive and somewhat beautiful but it's like a shopping mall at Christmas... People everywhere... There was a conference during our stay which added to the mayhem... But I'm sure this isn't a one off...
The restaurants were all busy and the atmosphere was one of grab a table and eat anywhere if lucky!
The facilities are great, the rooms ok...expected it to be a little more special, the beach obviously beautiful, but we just found it to be one of the most unrelaxed places we have ever visited.
I think all the merchandise in their many gift stores is a clue, it's all about selling the brand and the history not necessarily the guests!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review. As a National Historic Landmark, the resort can be quite busy. We understand your frustrations and apologize that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

If you love history and grand elegance you will love visiting here. Of course it is extremely overpriced but you expect that going in. The decor is a woodworker and historians dream. Food was good but very overpriced. Only visited did not stay overnight.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your endorsement and we are pleased that you appreciate the historic charm that makes The Del special. We hope you will return soon for an overnight stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It's hard to say anything negative about the Hotel del Coronado. We have stayed here many times and have never been let down. During the day you can enjoy the ocean and beach just outside your door, great swimming pool, multiple dining options, easy access to Sea World, Disneyland, San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, or simply enjoy the beautiful hotel grounds. At night you're able to take advantage of the expansive, open hotel bar, fantastic restaurants on the grounds (1500 Ocean in particular was great), or wander around the quaint town of Coronado in search of dining options.

The rooms were of fairly generous size. We have stayed in both the courtyard rooms and ocean view. If you're willing to spend a little more the ocean view rooms really are worth it - unobstructed views looking right out on to the water. The service is always top notch.

We can't wait for our next trip to the Hotel del Coronado.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it for those willing to splurge a little
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty and kind support! We are thrilled that your visits have been memorable and that you’ve been able to experience all that the resort has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Fabulous location, great place to chill out and watch the sun go down. Had drinks over looking the beach even in feb it was lovely and warm.
Took some of out best pictures of the holiday here, the pool looks lovely but no one was in it. The place was busy inside for lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent visit to The Del. We are glad that you had a great time overlooking the ocean. We hope you return again soon and stay as long as you like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

During Comic-con the rates here compare with hotels closer to San Diego. And you might run into stars. Look for the limos that que in the mornings.

Watch out for the "Resort Fee", its a tack-on, consider it, and the numerous taxes and service charges, in your total costs.

If they give you a room in the "towers", you're getting the ghetto. Sure, its nice and relatively new there But, rooms with connecting doors can be noisy. Waits for the elevator are annoying. And you still need to walk a block before you can call for a taxi.

Internet connection was adequate for my work.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with no connecting door, or you'll be sharing drama with your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your Del experience. We like to think we have something for everyone—from the historic charm of the 125-year old Victorian Building to the more spacious and contemporary Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxury villas and cottages at Beach Village. We appreciate your review and hope you will consider returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
0.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 18 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
4.3 mi away
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.