We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room and great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Marin, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice room and great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Was here on the December 21 - figured if the world was going to end Hotel Del was as good a place as any to be. Staff was friendly and helpful. While I have enjoyed visiting the hotel on a prior visit to San Diego, staying there was even better. While the hallways reflect the splendor of a past age (read dated) and it may be a hike to get to your room, the room itself was very clean and nicely updated. Great romantic location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend what may have been your final days at The Del. As it is, we’re still standing and celebrating our 125th anniversary. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,061
    623
    334
    225
    165
See reviews for
682
667
44
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Nl Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at the Del on October 31 for a meeting and spent a couple of nights there. This was the first time that I stayed in the actual hotel and not in one of the out buildings and it was lovely. My room was huge and really beautifully appointed. The bathroom was lovely and larger than I expected for such an old building. The Del has lots of charm and also lots of little issues being an older building but they only add to that charm. I would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to the chance to do so soon.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that has a terrece that overlooks the central garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Del and the historic charm and nuances of the 125-year-old Victorian building where no two rooms are alike. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you like a long stretch of lovely beach directly in front of your hotel with no street in between, the 'Del Coronado' is the perfect place.
The long and interesting history of the hotel adds to the exceptional flavour of this colonial style, very well kept mansion.
Elegant restaurants, casual bars, pools, beautiful gardens and special shopping arcades enhance your stay in a truly 5 star location.
The front sea view suites are worth the extra money you spend. The service of the staff is welcoming, friendly and professional.
If ever I came to San Diego again, I would choose 'the Del' again.

Room Tip: The front sea view suites are costly but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We appreciate your kind review and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in the amenities we are able to offer our guests and especially in the service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Del again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked during week between Christmas and New Years and were extremely surprised as to the number of non-hotel quests visiting the property. You would think that an exclusive upscale property would limit tourists, but just the contrary the Del welcomed them at the expense of paying guests. We often had trouble finding a seat in the bar and families with children occupied many seats, "resting" before walking back to their hotels. The staff was welcoming and accommodating but to pay $700 per night and not be able to enjoy many of the amenities advertised on the web site was disappointing. I have the good fortune of having a brother who is a GM with a luxury hotel chain and to say the Del did not live up to the billing would be an understatement. Reputation alone will not allow for a property to survive and some reassessment of the mission of The Del needs to be done by management.

Room Tip: my suggestion would to stay somewhere else in the San Diego area (Pacific Beach has great hotels wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on your holiday experience at The Del. We apologize for the inconvenience and understand your frustration. As a National Historic Landmark, The Del is a very popular destination for tourists especially during the holidays and summer months. For a more intimate visit, we recommend staying during the spring or fall when the weather is still perfect and the crowds have diminished. We hope you might consider returning in the future and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This Christmas was our family's second trip to the Del, and if it weren't for all the other wonderful places in the world to see we might not go anywhere else. Our two teenage children (and their parents) love the fact that they can be independent in town. There is one main street so it's almost impossible to get lost. The rooms are great, the resort has just about everything you could want, and there are miles of beach and quiet streets to enjoy. The restaurants are a bit pricey but there are lots of good places off the resort within walking distance so you are never short of options.

The summer months are probably different but when we were there during the winter there really wasn't much to do after 8pm. If you travel when the days end early think about what you can do especially if you have children after the shops close.

The only real complaint I have is that you have to line up to get out of the parking lot...sometimes it took us 10-15 minutes to get out which was frustrating and unexpected given the price of parking and the resort. Otherwise, this is a lovely, relaxing place to spend part or all of your holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are thrilled that you and your family chose to return to The Del and had a wonderful holiday. Coronado is a lovely, safe village and it’s nice that your family could explore the island. The resort does get quite busy over the holidays and summer months and we understand your frustration. We look forward to seeing you and your family back at The Del soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived on a friday evening. Everything looked beautiful. We were greeted quickly and our room was ready.
The room was on the ground floor across from the atrium. The room was large and nicely appointed. Bathroom
was a little small but had all the conveniences you needed. We had a problem with the TV remote and the matter
was taken care of quickly. We loved the architecture of our room and the hotel. We were a little disappointed in
Shearwater restaurant. It was a little noisy and the patio decor could have been better. The food was great.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back again if they offer the holiday package.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday getaway at The Del. Thank you for recognizing the beauty of the hotel and attentiveness of the staff. Please check our website periodically for room specials and packages. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to San Deigo and I loved every moment. My company was hosting a workshop here for our customers and I was involved in all the behind the scenes setup. Staff was very courteous and knowlegeable. They met all my needs for equipment and did an excellent job setting up all the conference rooms.

This place has a lot of charm. The ball room was amazing for our celebrations and the food was outstanding. My room had a beautiful view of the interior landscaping as it was very quite. I hope one day to go back for a vacation.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to San Diego and that The Del helped to make it memorable. Thank you for recognizing our exceptional staff and we look forward to your return for a leisure stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list