We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exciting visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase Offer
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An exciting visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I haven't stayed at the Del since I was a kid and my Grandma stayed here during her visits. This review is about the staff that is great the property which is gorgeous and how getting lost in the hallways of the hotel was a highlight of the weekend. Even though we weren't staying there the staff was gracious, helpful and full of information. The morning started with coffee and a comment of I wonder if they have the ice skating rink open yet. My boyfriend and I walk over to the Del to find out. Then we took a detour we walked through the beautiful hotel up to the 5th floor and down to the main floor. We found lots of interesting little nuances like the lower floors have higher ceilings and narrower hallways, the upper floors have a little more of a tilt. We then found our way to the bad weather tunnel (can't remember what it's actually called) and got lost the staff smiled and kindly let us out. Now if only we could remember how to read roman numerals the visit would be complete 8)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Del and were able to rediscover some of the nuances that make the resort so special. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate the recognition of our wonderful staff. We hope you return again soon for an overnight stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    812
    429
    282
    202
See reviews for
900
895
56
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in one of the big suites and it was absolutely divine. The room had 2 televisions, a huge veranda overlooking the entertainment area and beach. It was amazing. We ate outside the hotel as the food was very expensive. $12 for a cocktail at the beachfront bar! Both the food and alcohol was way overpriced for what you got.

Room Tip: Ask for the beachfront suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Del and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the beachfront location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was very excited to stay at this property as I had heard very good things, but I was disappointed. We were in the Ocean tower which was a newer building, but it still had issues such as molding coming off the ceiling, horrible water pressure in the shower and what seemed like paper-thin walls (we heard everyting going on in the next room). There was construction going on near the boardwalk and so access to the beach was restricted to a couple openings. I walked down to spend some time at the spa and was told thre was a day fee of $55 which is very expensive. I asked for a tour and it was very basic--a hot tub, dry sauna, access to a small private pool and very very non-distinct relaxation room. Needless to saw, it was not worth the $55. On the upside, it is very close to an amazing number of eating places and cute shops.

Room Tip: Certainly an ocean view but they do charge $100 more for the view. We had a view of the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to at The Del. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I loved it! My room was a bit small but my friends wasn't. I didn't mind because we were in the oldest section of the hotel. It was like walking back in time. Cute shops too! I would go back in a second.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and we’re pleased that you enjoyed your visit and the historic nuances that make the resort so special. Every room is unique in the 125-year old Victorian building. We hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed 5 nights for a conference. This time I stayed in the Ocean Tower. Slightly more expensive, but much larger rooms. Stil very thin walls and you could hear the conversation of your neighbors without trying to be nosey. A bit of a walk each morning to the main hotel but I thought it was worth it. Besides, the Ocean Tower isn't haunted, like the main hotel building. All of the staff, from the front desk, to the maids, and servers and bus boys at the restaurant, were extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. The view cannot be beat, unless of course you live in Hawaii and have a view like this of the beach every day, like me. There are a number of decent restaurants walking distance from the hotel. There is also a $25 resort fee, for the free wifi, newspaper, and exercise room access. The daily parking fee was expensive as wel, but I think they forgot to add in on my bill. I used the exercise rent, which was OK, but also enjoyed running on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: I might recommend the new Ocean Tower, rather than a room in the main building. Some attendees at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and beautiful beachfront location during your business visit to The Del. We also appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff and hope you return again soon for a leisure visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As a way to celebrate with my family over a recent promotion, we decided to upgrade our stay to one of the finest hotels in/near San Diego. We ended up feeling like everything was amazing to look at, but not nearly worth the price.

When we arrived, we found there was no place to park, so we HAD to valet our car for the $40 versus the NORMAL $30 parking fee (don't waive the extra money, right?). So, after checking in to a very disappointing room (much smaller than we anticipated), we went down to the beach (which was amazing) and paid nearly $60 for two mixed drinks, a hot dog, two sodas and a couple bags of chips. They even charged us $12 for the use of a cheap umbrella on the beach.

I will admit that we had a nice time and the place was beautiful, but paying over $500 per night for the room is obscene. It just isn't worth it. I've stayed in luxury hotels in New York, Philadelphia and on vacation up and down every state on the eastern seaboard, but this didn't offer anything in terms of luxury outside of the price and the facade. Granted, people were very nice and did everything they could to take care of you, but you just didn't get what you were paying for. With that kind of price in the past we have been treated to amazing rooms with beautiful showers and a concierge to make sure we received everything we desired, but this didn't offer that. It had a great view, but I felt like everywhere we went, we were being gouged for money.

Was it worth it to charge $80 to park for two days? We even decided to get pizza delivered from an off-property place and had two medium pizzas and a salad delivered to the room to the tune of $80 (I guess the locals feel like they can gouge too). That is not the fault of the del, but it just felt like the spirit of the trip was perfectly caught in that! If I felt like we were getting the value for the money, I wouldn't say much, but months later, I feel like staying at the del Coronado was a mistake that I made that I wish I could take back.

But you at least have to see the place - it is gorgeous!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you chose to celebrate your special occasion at this iconic resort. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Amazing history. Beautiful hotel. Rooms better than average, but not quite worth the rate. Sun Deck with fire pits was wonderful for wasting the late afternoon. Beach was beautiful, but there wasn't any shells at all to be found? IF you stay there, be sure to splurge and do the smores on the beach.

Room Tip: They're quick to put you in a room overlooking the parking lot. Don't be shy about asking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Del and our location on America's #1 Beach. The small shells are hard to find but there are lots of sand dollars. We hope your travels bring you back this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.