We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off - Limited Time
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Honolulu
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Classic hotel, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed 5 nights for a conference. This time I stayed in the Ocean Tower. Slightly more expensive, but much larger rooms. Stil very thin walls and you could hear the conversation of your neighbors without trying to be nosey. A bit of a walk each morning to the main hotel but I thought it was worth it. Besides, the Ocean Tower isn't haunted, like the main hotel building. All of the staff, from the front desk, to the maids, and servers and bus boys at the restaurant, were extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. The view cannot be beat, unless of course you live in Hawaii and have a view like this of the beach every day, like me. There are a number of decent restaurants walking distance from the hotel. There is also a $25 resort fee, for the free wifi, newspaper, and exercise room access. The daily parking fee was expensive as wel, but I think they forgot to add in on my bill. I used the exercise rent, which was OK, but also enjoyed running on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: I might recommend the new Ocean Tower, rather than a room in the main building. Some attendees at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and beautiful beachfront location during your business visit to The Del. We also appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff and hope you return again soon for a leisure visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,139
    677
    358
    232
    173
See reviews for
733
720
49
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As a way to celebrate with my family over a recent promotion, we decided to upgrade our stay to one of the finest hotels in/near San Diego. We ended up feeling like everything was amazing to look at, but not nearly worth the price.

When we arrived, we found there was no place to park, so we HAD to valet our car for the $40 versus the NORMAL $30 parking fee (don't waive the extra money, right?). So, after checking in to a very disappointing room (much smaller than we anticipated), we went down to the beach (which was amazing) and paid nearly $60 for two mixed drinks, a hot dog, two sodas and a couple bags of chips. They even charged us $12 for the use of a cheap umbrella on the beach.

I will admit that we had a nice time and the place was beautiful, but paying over $500 per night for the room is obscene. It just isn't worth it. I've stayed in luxury hotels in New York, Philadelphia and on vacation up and down every state on the eastern seaboard, but this didn't offer anything in terms of luxury outside of the price and the facade. Granted, people were very nice and did everything they could to take care of you, but you just didn't get what you were paying for. With that kind of price in the past we have been treated to amazing rooms with beautiful showers and a concierge to make sure we received everything we desired, but this didn't offer that. It had a great view, but I felt like everywhere we went, we were being gouged for money.

Was it worth it to charge $80 to park for two days? We even decided to get pizza delivered from an off-property place and had two medium pizzas and a salad delivered to the room to the tune of $80 (I guess the locals feel like they can gouge too). That is not the fault of the del, but it just felt like the spirit of the trip was perfectly caught in that! If I felt like we were getting the value for the money, I wouldn't say much, but months later, I feel like staying at the del Coronado was a mistake that I made that I wish I could take back.

But you at least have to see the place - it is gorgeous!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you chose to celebrate your special occasion at this iconic resort. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Amazing history. Beautiful hotel. Rooms better than average, but not quite worth the rate. Sun Deck with fire pits was wonderful for wasting the late afternoon. Beach was beautiful, but there wasn't any shells at all to be found? IF you stay there, be sure to splurge and do the smores on the beach.

Room Tip: They're quick to put you in a room overlooking the parking lot. Don't be shy about asking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Del and our location on America's #1 Beach. The small shells are hard to find but there are lots of sand dollars. We hope your travels bring you back this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe, az
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There is so much history associated with this hotel. The property is gorgeous. The original section is fantastic, and the entire new section is outstanding. Love all the stores on the lower floor. Great happy hour in the bar. Wonderful location on one of the 10 ten beaches in the USA. They even have a skating rink during the holidays! You pay more, but it is well worth it! The entire staff bends over backwards for you. A quick trip over the bridge and you are in San Diego. This is a must see, even if you don't spend the night.

Room Tip: You just need to decide new or historic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and we are pleased that you appreciate the historic architecture and beautiful grounds. It sounds like you were able to explore everything The Del has to offer. The skating rink is set up and the resort is decked out in its holiday finery so we hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at The DEL in 2011 for new years and loved my stay. The hotel had an amazing atmosphere and spa. I loved their lotions and shampoo. If any one could tell me how to get the old Lotion verses the new lotion I would love it. I highly recommend this hotel to all friends and families you will love your stay:)

Room Tip: try to stay in the original building:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation and we are pleased that you chose to celebrate the holidays at The Del. Unfortunately, the old lotion is no longer being manufactured and our stock is gone. We hope you can track some down and that you return soon to try our new Coconut Mango bath products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Absolutely beautiful historic hotel sitting on miles of gorgeous Pacific coast. Was so hoping for warm weather to enjoy the beach, maybe take a surfing lesson but it was drizzly and chilly during our two day visit. The staff could not be nicer, the restaurants and stores are top notch, just a very classy place. Rented bicycles and biked around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. Had a spacious, lovely room with such a comfortable bed, large bath and balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the beachfront location, unique shops and amenities during your stay at The Del. We strive to provide the best service for our guests and appreciate your recognition of our great staff. We hope you return soon and that the weather is more cooperative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We've stayed at the Hotel del several times, dined there dozens of times, and have attended 3 weddings there. Always outstanding. The service is impecable. The food superb. The rooms, uniformly terrific. You get what you pay for and the upgrades are worth it, when it comes to the hotel rooms.
The location is perfect if you're hanging in Coranado and not too bad if you're headed to San Diego proper. Not great if you're planning on excursions to Point Loma or places north of town.
The views are great, especially on the higher levels.
We've had our my best times there when it was off-season.

Room Tip: It's all about the upper floors. Stay away from elevators. Liked the end of the halls best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We truly appreciate your loyalty to The Del and your recommendation. While the resort is very popular during the summer, we recommend the fall and springtime when the weather is still great and the crowds are gone. Thank you for your kind support and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.