We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury on the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights, Get $300
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“luxury on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Del is beautiful. We stayed for a weekend conference in the Ocean Tower and left the balcony door open all night in early November and heard the waves crashing all night. The beds were very comfortable. Of course it is very expensive but a great place with a nice beach, nice restaurants and a wine/chocolate/cheese bar. A big downside is the lack of free shuttle transportation. The ferry is fun to catch over to San Diego and the sunsets over the water are stunningl

Room Tip: Ocean view room in the Ocean tower on third floor had great ocean sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your weekend visit at The Del and all the amenities and nuances that make the resort so special. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    875
    453
    298
    213
See reviews for
966
974
63
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary recently at the Del. We have visited many times over the years and have watched the changes. Even with these changes, the ambience is still amazing. Absolutely loved our stay. It was better than we could have hoped for.

Room Tip: Stay in the Victorian part of the hotel to experience the historical charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Congratulations on your anniversary and we are pleased you chose to celebrate at this iconic resort. The Del has a long history of romance and you're now a part of it. Thank you for your loyalty over the years and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's one of those places you hear about your whole life so when we finally pulled into the parking lot of the Hotel del Coronado, I sprinted up the road and then paused to enter the grand lobby so as to take in all its splendor. The day was magical. Who knew grilled cheese and tomato soup could be so good. We watched families playing on the beach, tables of women dining and laughing and sat in the lobby imagining famous people sitting in the same old furniture, seen and being seen. Well worth the price of admission, an escape, a true escape.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, there is a wonderful outside area where you can buy a beverage (or not) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to The Del. We are so glad you were able to appreciate its beachfront location and historic ambiance. We hope you return again soon for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at The Del for 2 nights in the Victorian wing of the hotel. Everything from check in to right before we went to sleep was amazing, but when we finally laid down it was very hard to get comfortable. Both myself and my husband work up with a sore neck and back both nights and we don't usually have issues with sleeping.

Besides the bed and pillows, the property was amazing. Walking around the property and Coronado is simply relaxing. I loved that they brought in bird handlers with some amazing large birds. That was such a nice and unexpected treat.

PS - parking is quite pricey at $30/$40 a night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed our location, beautiful grounds and village of Coronado. We apologize that you didn't have a restful visit and hope you will consider staying with us again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've really enjoyed the Hotel del over the years, but we've been away for more than 10 years. We were disappointed to see the lobby piano bar replaced by a shop and the Victorian lobby furniture removed, leaving a empty lobby. That decreased the ambiance. Also, prices are now outrageous, with piling on of $!2/day self parking & $18 resort fee. We were attending a convention, and the initial room in which we were placed was a dog. The view from the room was a red roof.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your latest visit. We appreciate your loyalty over the years and are truly sorry that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Your feedback allows us to assess our guests' praise as well as concerns and act accordingly. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A grand hotel with excellent service, accommodations and an awesome beach to go with it. While it is very expensive it is worth staying at least a night or two for a special occasion for the experience. The facility includes several restaurants and specialty shops just off the beach and can be visited even if you are not a guest. The food and service is excellent and they do a decent happy hour at the outdoor bar and lounge overlooking the beach. Nice lounge couches and chairs to just sit back and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Del and happy you were able to experience the specialty shops, our beachfront location and excellent service. The Sun Deck is indeed a great place to unwind and watch the sunset. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

keep looking! If you want to relax do not waste your time and money here.I am surprised they
have so many good reviews.To be fair the property is beautiful and right on the beach.But I felt like I was at the zoo.Because it is a historic property you have a bunch of tourists who come to lok at the property and have a meal or drink.Honestly they have the right idea.It would be nice to have a drink or brunch here,staying here was the pits!It is WAY overpriced for what you get.I ordered a bowl of soup an a order of french fries and two cokes and it was 44.00..seriously,I know room service is more expensive but I did not see the tiny print at the bottom,that said 22%
plus 595 or something like that for bringing it to your room.I felt taken advantage of.I think this would be fine for a convention,but that is about it.There were three different conventions at the propery when we were there,and they said they have a lot of conventions.The parking is 40$
a night.The place feels like a 3 star hotel masquerading as a 5 star.The luggage carts are old rickety things which set the tone for a lot of things that feel old dirty and run down. some of the furniture in the old building I would not sit on if you paid me. The room was fine but the smell of carpet cleaner was strong it made me gag! Anyway I am only spending my time on this so you dont waste your all important time and money on this place.Have a drink and move on!!!!

Room Tip: dont get a room here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As a National Historic Landmark, the resort can get quite busy, especially in the summer. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.