We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand place and setting-- terrible service and food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights, Get $300
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Grand place and setting-- terrible service and food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is definitely worth seeing and its location on Coronado is fantastic. Nonetheless, my experience was unpleasant because I have never stayed at a four-star hotel with such poor service. The staff consistently are apathetic about guest concerns and nothing here acts like they care about your experience. The restaurant has the poorest cost-to-quality ratio of any place I have eaten.

It's worth driving over for an afternoon visit-- but stay and dine in downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best service for our guests and it seems we have fallen short. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    765
    407
    269
    197
See reviews for
859
831
53
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Crowded, expensive and poor service! This area is pretty but we waited almost 30 minutes for our drink order to be filled. There was not enough help for such a busy place. The price for the quality of wine was way too high!!! Very disappointing, we won't be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit to the Sun Deck. We understand your frustrations and extend our apologies. We will share your feedback with management so we may make the necessary improvements. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel is charming and chock full of history, but not worth the price and definitely sucks as a romantic getaway. Too many conventioneers and non-guests roaming around. Had a "Jr. Suite" (not really a suite; just a small sitting area next to the bed) in the main Victorian building with a great full ocean view @$600+ per night. AC hardly working. Thank God for the ceiling fan. Entire building was warm the entire 3-day weekend. VERY small bathroom, no counter not much shower pressure and no AC vent. Little room heats up very fast. You have to come out to dry off. Also no ac vent near sitting area. Considering that hotel interior was re-done several years ago it looked like something out of Target. Definitely NOT the grand atmosphere one would expect. Hotel food was nothing special except for the price ($24 for burger and fries). Fortunately, there are tons of excellent restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. Hotel service was OK; everyone friendly .Parking is outrageous. $30 to self-park and $40 for valet. One night they had a rock band blasting away on the beach in front of the hotel. Not what you want to hear when you're having wine on the terrace and watching the ocean. Fortunately they quit by 10pm. Best off if you just visit the hotel and not stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We like to think that we have something for everyone--from the historic charm of the Victorian Building where no two rooms are alike to the more spacious and contemporary California Cabanas and Ocean Towers to the luxury villas and cottages at Beach Village. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a classic hotel from the old elevator with operator, wood paneled lobby, to the variety of places to get a drink or to eat. Our room in the main building had been updated with wallpaper, new furniture, and modern bathroom. So, you get history with modern conveniences. You can walk to numerous restaurants in the area on Coronado.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed the historic nuances that make the resort so special and had the opportunity to stay in one of our recently renovated Victorian guestrooms. We hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was there for a conference, so can't complain. But while my colleague got a room in the Victorian, I was sent to the ground floor of Ocean Tower--despite the plasma TV, it was still 1973 all the way with decor (lamps look Goodwill), wobbly (and very few) outlets for charging phone/laptop/Kindle. No view from my room. That being said, it is a very pleasant complex (restos/bars high $$$$) to wander around in. Beach superlative, falcons on the grounds an interesting note, a little town all in itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the resort. We hope you return some day to experience the charm of the Victorian Building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riffa, Bahrain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2012.
We were hoping to get a room in the Historic building or a suite as an upgrade depending on avaliblity which we booked through their website, but were upgraded to the ocean building which was a modern annex to the hotel, this was a big dissappointment as we have been travling from a very far away land to California and we were dreaming of the precious nights in Del coronado:(
Still we made a good use of our breif stay there.
The coffee shop around the pool was expensive, so was the parking fees, the grounds of the hotel were amazing, The private S'more by the beach was also expensive, but there is a free s'more nights on Thursdays which is open to all guests.
The beach was big and the militry-airplanes flying all day, but not at night, so no problem at sleep time.

Room Tip: Historic building, do not choose to upgrade as you might end-up in the annex building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that we were unable to accommodate your room request. As a National Historic Landmark, the resort can be quite busy, especially during the summer. We hope you're able to return someday during the fall or springtime when the weather is still great and the crowds are gone. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The "Del" is beautiful with a fascinating history. The beach setting and beautiful grounds make this a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere, even if you are here on business with limited time to enjoy it. You must read about the hotel history to fully appreciate it. Some of the rooms are haunted, so don't be shocked by any unusual happenings!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are pleased that you appreciate the historic ambiance that makes The Del so special. We are celebrating our 125th anniversary next year and will be releasing a new history book with many never-before-seen photos of the resort. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.