We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel del Coronado: Five star service and a slice of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights, Get $300
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bremerton, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hotel del Coronado: Five star service and a slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

First off, I want to start this review by saying that some nimrod in marketing has decided to call this lovely old hotel "The Del", which is like saying "the of". Hotel del Coronado (the hotel of Coronado) is a lovely historic property that still continues to deliver when it comes to lavish service. This property has often been heralded as California's most lovely beach property and is a National Historic Landmark.

Return guests are greeted by name. Servers in the onsite restaurants remember repeat guests' dining preference and will go to extraordinary lengths to accommodate any guest's needs. Check in service is efficient and as you are escorted to your room by the bellman you are given an overview of the property and a brief history.

If you can, at least for your first visit, stay in the old Victorian Building as it is full of wonderful details and history. The Crown Room, where they have their Sunday Brunch is a wonder to behold. The magnificent high-vaulted Victorian ceiling is made entire of Sugar Pine and was constructed without a single nail.

Because of its historical significance, the property is visited by many tourists who aren't necessarily staying at the hotel, so I would recommend you make reservations for breakfast and lunch. Even when crowded during peak season, you are never rushed through your meal and the table is yours until you decide you are finished with your meal. Breakfast on the patio at Sheerwater is delightful and not to be missed.

Walk on the beach, take surfing lessons rent a bike, shop in town or play golf at the Coronado Public Golf Course, there is no shortage of things to do. The Hotel del Coronado is a magical place and if you can, you should stay there at least once.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your endorsement and we are thrilled that you appreciate all of the nuances that make the resort so special. The term "The Del" has been used for many decades though its origins are unknown. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate the recognition of our great staff. Your recommendations are terrific and we hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    832
    438
    288
    205
See reviews for
924
929
59
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed a long weekend for a Medical conference I attended.
It is a beautiful hotel. We have stayed there multiple times over the past 20 years.
They have gotten rid of the tennis courts, and have expanded their usable overnight space.
We stayed in part of the original building, on the 2nd floor, there are 3 floors total.
Lesson learned, don't stay on the 1st or 2nd floor, as creaking wood above you can drive you nuts, especially if it lasts a long time.
The Eno wine bar was nice, for wine tasting and cheese tasting.
I always am surprised to get the bill, as there are 5 additional charges every tim, for parking, resort fee, taxes, so the total price is always higher than expected.
Is a nice getaway though, will do it again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We appreciate your loyalty to The Del over the years and are pleased that you enjoyed your recent business stay. The 125-year old Victorian Building, which was recently renovated, does have a historic charm while others prefer the more contemporary Ocean Towers or California Cabanas. We hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of a 2nd floor room with an ocean view AND balcony, which was superb! We could hear the waves crashing, watch dolphins play, and enjoy beautiful sunrises/sunsets; relax with a glass of wine. Couldn't be more relaxing. Loved that they actually had coffee in the room! The sundeck and casual eating restaurants, pool, and beach access were only a few steps away. Everything was so convenient!
All the hotel people were friendly. We only ate at one casual poolside restaurant for burgers, and they were good. The bar had a nice variety of beers.
Housekeeping was good but not great -- forgot to replace coffee, left the hotel robe lying around rather than hang it, didn't always put the fresh towels on the bathroom towel racks (left on a shelf by the door). Also, the hotel said to leave recyclables out, so we didn't put our wine/soda bottles in the trash, but she just left them stacked in the room! However, the rooms were well cleaned, and if you called for something, they were very responsive.
The one thing that was most disappointing was the bed. Both my husband and I didn't find it particularly comfortable, and we would have expected something more luxurious considering the room price.
But overall things were wonderful, and we will be back. That said, utside of the prices, I personally would NOT choose to be here in the summer -- I think it might be overrun with tourists, children, people, and noise -- NOT for me. September is ideal. And you can't beat it for beach location!

Room Tip: The hotel is huge with different buildings, old and new, condo style "villages" and prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are thrilled that you had such a relaxing visit to this iconic resort. As a National Historic Landmark, the resort can get quite busy, especially in the summer months so for a more intimate stay, we recommend the fall and springtime when the weather is great and the crowds are gone. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Beautiful older hotel set right on the spacious and beautiful beach. We had an ocean view room with a balcony. It was quite pricey, but the view was spectacular and the sound of the ocean waves rushing to shore was soothing, expecially at night (we left the sliding glass door open so we could hear it). We ate at 2 of the restaurants and weren't disappointed at either. Reservations are required at night and should be made at least a week in advance to get your choice of dining time. Always request to sit outdoors, it is a treat; and if the weather is chilly, heaters are provided. There is also a good selection of shops and that was fun to browse through. Some of the retail personal were a little over zealous, but I guess that's better than the alternative.
The spa was devine! I highly recommed going to the spa for some type of treatment and then being able to enjoy the spa facilities for the entire day.
For the price of the room, I would have thought the bathroom would have included a seperate shower, but it did not. It only had a standard sized tub with a shower curtain. This was a bit disappointing. The room did have a refrigerator, but not a mini bar. Walls between rooms are thin. I heard someone throwing up and rushed to the bathroom to see who in my party it was, only to find out it was coming from the adjacent room.
The hotel has a "hotel fee" each day of $25.00. This provides you with "free" internet, a newspaper each day and a "free" bottle of water. Once again, for the price you pay for the room, this fee seems extravagent.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the ocean and crack your balcony door at night to listen to the waves crash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Del and our great beachfront location. Spa at The Del was just named Best Beach Spa by SpaFinder and is a great place for a girls getaway. We hope to become a tradition for you and that you return again soon for some R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had been to Coronado but never stayed at the Del. The staff was friendly, the surroundings historic yet comfortable. There was live music several times. Plan ahead for meals by making reservations because many outside visitors come to tour, shop, and eat. As frequent travelers we are difficult to impress. This hotel is charming, fun, and we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves. We will go be going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are tehrilled that your first experience staying at The Del was such an enjoyable one for you. We appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have never stayed at a hotel where you have to make a reservation for breakfast it was so busy due to the fact which is not clear when you book that not only is the hotel and facilties occupied by the residents but as a recognised historical location it is overrun with visitors who come on site to view the building and use the facilities. The staff are not able to differentiate between residents or day trippers who arrive on tour buses!. We paid a lot of money for 4 nights in an ocean front junior suite and would say that the room was nicely refurbished however that doesnt run to the bathroom which was so small, no his and hers washbasins( we had arrived from Santa Barabara Four Seasons who have these), and no where to put your bathroom bits and bobs ie no hooks or shelves enough for two people. We had to ask for bath shower caps, coffee for coffee machine, turndown service when we asked why, the reply was its on request only. The minibar wasnt stocked , it was empty. We spent most of our time away from the hotel in San Diegos sight seeing and eateries which are excellent. For a hotel marketed as a 5 star this is just not good enough and we left at the end of our stay very disappointed. Location and sea view is great but everything else isnt 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. As a National Historic Landmark, the hotel does get quite busy, especially during the summer months. For a more intimate visit, we recommend the Fall and springtime. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A unique, historic place. Historic photos & displays. Classy shopping. Good to walk around the lobby and the property even if you do not stay overnight. Statues of Dr. Seuss characters along the outside walkway. Rooms next to the beach are available.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are pleased that you appreciate the historic nuances that make The Del so special and the whimsical Dr. Seuss statues. Unfortunately, the statues are back on a national tour but we look forward to displaying them in the future. Thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.