We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some like it hot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off - Limited Time
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Some like it hot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Del Coronado Hotel on Coronado Island is quite simply one of the great historic yet up to date luxury hotels in the world. A location where movies like "Some Like it Hot" with Marlyn Monroe and Tony Curtis were filmed and presidents and world leaders have stayed this property is the quintessential Southern California resort hotel. The hotel has its own private beach, world class dining of all types (sit on the patio at Sheerwater and enjoy the world famous burger or fish tacos) a complete spa and fitness center, game room for kids, many wonderful shops and multiple pools. I felt safe letting my teenage daughter and her friend have the run of the place. No riff raff on this property like Mission Beach. Safe, beautiful, secure.

Room Tip: Every room is different than the rest. While pricey, the ocean view rooms are spectacular with their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed the historic ambiance, modern amenities and nuances that make this iconic resort so special. It sounds like you were able to experience everything The Del has to offer and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,154
    685
    360
    236
    173
See reviews for
743
732
49
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked 2 junior suites for the end of a California family vacation Aug 9-10, to just relax at what was supposed to be a Fantastic Hotel Resort. While the hotel itself is a beautiful historic building and the beach is perfect the services/staff were lacking for the luxury rates. Long lines for valet parking and an overall "crowded" feeling. Our rooms did not get below 78 degrees until after 0400 am. Outside temperature high was 82. There was only one vent for the large room on the 5th floor. Fans were brought up and the front desk waived the resort charge, but that didn't help us sleep. Food/beverage service was adequate, not amazing for the price. General use of the spa was NOT included for hotel guest even with the resort fee. The kids enjoyed the reptile show. My wife and I used to live in San Diego and come here during the holidays for dinner/cocktails, and wondered what it would be like to stay here. Now we know we were not missing out on anything special.

Room Tip: Just come for lunch, or ice cream at Moo Time, walk through the lobby and on the beach. That is ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we apologize that some aspects of your trip did not meet your expectations. As a National Historic Landmark the resort can get busy, especially during the summer season. For a quieter vacation, we recommend the fall when the weather is perfect and the crowds are gone. Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I wanted to surprise my husband for our first wedding anniversary so I booked Hotel Del Coronado. The problem was that I booked on line from a travel site and wasn't able to pick my room. When we got there, we were blown away by the beauty of the hotel and couldn't wait to see our room. When we got to the room we were sad that our view was of the parking lot and laundry facilities. I went down to ask if there was anywhere else we could move. Unfortuantely, we couldn't move that night but they told me to check in the morning. Early in the morning I went down to the front desk and spoke with John. I explained that this was a very special occasion and that I am a teacher and spent a lot of money on this weekend and our room was a bit sad and gloomy. John was very understanding and accommodating. After breakfast he was able to move us to a new room, and it was unreal. We had a wonderful time enjoying the view from our room, swimming in the pool, and relaxing on the beach. We had a romantic glass of wine watching the sun set from the patio above the pool and then went to dinner. Santos who works at the Bell Desk, helped us numerous times, and Joe in the concierge gave us great recommendations for activites and restaurants near by. Everyone we came in contact with, whether it was housekeeping or the parking attendant, was very friendly and seemed to enjoy working there. What could have been a mediocre weekend, turned out to be the best anniversary weekend we could have had.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view. It is a beautiful place and a bit costly, but worth it if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are thrilled that you chose The Del to celebrate your special occasion and happy anniversary! As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff and will pass your kind comments on to John, Santos and Joe. The Del has a long history of romance and we hope to become an annual tradition for you. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Why do we consider it two hotels in one? Because in our view there is no finer beach location in California. Certainly one of the country's most beautiful beaches and property lay outs. Although its a five star location, some of the services and amenities are closer to two stars. Here are some pros and cons of our 3-night stay in August.
Check in: extremely helpful staff. Went out of their way to help us find an acceptable room despite 94% occupancy. We ended up staying in ocean tower because needed a two-queen bed room with either balcony or patio. Stayed on first floor of this building. Pro is room is convenient to beach and adults only pool. But con is its a noisy location with people entering/exiting building near your rooms and a noisy nearby service area which saw employees stacking room service dishes at 2:30 in the morning. Wouldn't stay in this area again. Also the bathroom vents funnel noise from connecting rooms so can be very noisy. Room walls are also pretty thin. Stay on higher floor in this building or a couple should stay in Victorian building.
Parking: The parking staff is swamped most of day because visitors use same area to valet or self-park as hotel guests. A simple solution is to segregate the hotel guests from visitors. One line for hotel guests, another for visitors. Guests shouldn't have to endure an excessive wait to retrieve their car. However we didn't use our car once we arrived. Just parked and walked.
Food: We ate at Shearwater for breakfast buffet which runs about $25 each. Food is OK, liked the omelette bar because food was hot. The view from restaurant is exquisite. Reminiscent of a luxury hawaiian hotel. For lunch and dinner you order off the menu, no buffets offered. We also ate dinner at Babcock bar and ordered off appetizer menu because didn't have reservations and didn't want to wait 45 minutes for dinner at Shearwater. Love the atmosphere of older bar. Appetizers are hearty portions and enough to split. Can get expensive so order accordingly. Loved the nachos. Helpful wait staff. At the walk-up counter next to Shearwater you can order sandwiches, yogurt, fruit, desserts until 9pm. Very convenient and decent food. Nice for lunch or a snack if you don't want to spoil appetite for later meal.
Shops: Nice gift shops. Fun clothes, toys, coronado mementos. Good ice cream at Mootime. A lot to choose from but watch the prices.
Beach/pools: The prettiest golden sand I've ever seen. Plenty of room to roam. Hotel has all the beach supplies. They'll help you set up a beach spot. Wish we could heat the ocean like the pools. Main pool noisy and full of kids. Loved the adults only pool but not fond of the sea birds who like to share the pool throughout the day. Staff claims there's nothing they can do to keep the birds out but out of all the nice resorts we've stayed at I've never seen this kind of issue. There is pool food and drink service and its fairly quick.
Spa: Very relaxing, not crowded in summer during day because everyone's outside. Awesome pool but must buy a spa service to use it or pay $55 without service. Had swedish massage which was good. Enjoyed the low-key atmosphere and taking a break from the crowds. The one objection was charging me too much when I checked out. Had a pre-arranged price which should have been logged into computer when reservation was made but they 'accidentally' charged the regular price which I questioned on bill. They have various spa discounts depending on time and day of week so if you book a discounted service, make sure you get the discounted price. They may be counting on your relaxed state to not check the bill too closely.
Housekeeping: Didn't do much but change out towels and make beds. And had to call one day later in afternoon as they hadn't come yet. One of staff was vacuuming at 8 in morning down hallway with a very large, noisy commercial vacuum that sounded like it was on its last leg. Not very considerate of guests. Soap and shampoo amenities are pretty cheap. They could offer better quality towels and soap amenities for the price you're paying. This is a good example of cutting corners where they shouldn't be.
So overall, here's a breakdown of pros and cons for the services we used and our overall impression :
Pros - Location is breathtaking. Summer is understandably high season but know that going into it and find quiet corners to take a break from the crowds. Sprawling property with so much history. Gorgeous beach. Warm pools. Adults only pool (nicer without the birds). Decent food but expensive. Walking distance to shops and restaurants on Coronado. Easy to escape the property if you need to see something different or eat elsewhere. Lots of good choices. We like Leroy's in town for good food, nice service and casual atmosphere. Clayton's offers diner atmosphere with ok food. Good prices but usually crowded so plan on a wait to get a seat. A lot of mom and pop stores in Coronado which adds to the area's uniqueness. Although there are a lot of fun things to do in San Diego ie Seaworld, Old Town, Legoland, etc., I wouldn't stay at Hotel del if I was planning on being gone all day. Kind of a waste of money. If you're going to visit Seaworld or Legoland, then split the trip. Let Hotel Del be a vacation all by itself. It's completely self-contained. You're paying a lot to stay there so enjoy the property. Then check into a cheaper hotel if you're going to be doing the tourist attractions. Regarding spa, it's relaxing, lovely pool but watch your bill.
Cons: Not as organized of a property as it should be for its luxury resort status. The thing that bugged us was seeing the service staff everywhere. They're moving huge gray carts around the same sidewalks where guests and visitors are walking. They're clanging dishes at odd hours of the morning and vacuuming too early. You have to wait a half hour for breakfast at Shearwater when there are empty tables visible. Separate the parking lines so hotel guests don't have to wade through the visitors to get their cars. Our teenaged daughter said she often felt like she was in the staff's way. It seems the staff had been told to do their job without any consideration to hotel guests. Doesn't matter what time of day, just get the job done. I've never seen this attitude at any other luxury property we've stayed. In fact they're usually told not be intrusive but that's not the policy here so be prepared to encounter staff working 24/7 right outside your door.
Overall: This is a five-star location with decent services and a helpful front desk. It's a casual property, not snooty at all. Probably the closest you can get to a fine hawaiian hotel in Waikiki.
One other note, my husband and I stayed here in June in a king resort room in the Victorian building. I loved the building and old elevator. It's a quieter area with a beautiful garden view. Most of these rooms have king beds. I think the ocean tower was built more for families so the noise level is definitely higher at ocean tower. It also doesn't have that older charm of the victorian building. The Hotel Del definitely isn't a place where you stay if you're looking for value. With the resort tax of $25 a night plus parking charge and tax you can plan on spending $100 a night in addition to your room charge. Read the resort's website closely. There are many room deals depending on length of stay and season. There's also a separate section of property called the Beach Village. It's quite spacious and has a separate hotel guest entrance with it's own pool. More expensive but you're paying for privacy. Looks more like small condos than a hotel. We'll hopefully try that next time. Yes, if there's a good deal, we'll be back. We live fairly close to San Diego so the location is great. With our suggestions we think their service issues could be fairly easily remedied. It wouldn't take much to bring this hotel up to the four-to five star service level it deserves.

Room Tip: Victorian building if you're a couple, ocean tower if you're a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your very thorough feedback and recommendations based on your recent stay. We appreciate your recognition of our staff and sincerely apologize for some of the service issues that you encountered. To that end, we will be reviewing your valuable feedback with the appropriate managers so that we may make the necessary improvements. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide the exemplary service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wow, talk about a come down. After visiting this hotel for over a decade, I am now embarrassed that we've told people this is our favorite hotel in the US. We have always considered this a high end luxury place and since that is the type of property we typically stay in, we have a basis for comparison. Check in was a zoo, with too few desk clerks. Our room wasn't ready so we went for an early lunch and kitchen already seemed overwhelmed with a long wait and dressing forgotten on the salads. We waited for 10 minutes at the key pick up area and were never helped and finally prevailed on a bellman to get our key and take us to our room, only to find we had been sentenced to the Siberia that is Ocean Towers, a 70s monstrosity out of keeping with the character of the proper, despite being told at the time of our reservation that we would be in the main hotel. We found the room small, badly appointed, the curtains filthy,as though someone had wiped their ketchup stained hands on them. The room smelled of tar, the cotton throws at the end of the bed worn and stained. All this for 800 a night. The marble desk had water rings which obviously no one had wiped.

We had asked to stay in he Beach Village, which is far nicer and service better.

So, so sad, as we've had some wonderful vacations here. Will never stay again unless in the Beach Village. Weve been loyal through strikes, construction and minor mix ups, but this is too much.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front in main building or Beach Village. Do not stay in Ocean Towers. If you want lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We appreciate your loyalty and feedback on your recent stay at The Del. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and will review your comments with the appropriate managers in order to correct these issues. Thank you again for your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our expensive hotel room was small and slightly dated with a limited view, but the location and hotel itself were amazing. It was a short walk to the beach with free chair rentals (albeit not the best chairs). Several nice bars and restaurants onsite. The hotel shuttle service from the airport charges so it is easier to take a taxi if you have two people. Overall, it was an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Choose a cheaper room since the middle rate rooms are not worth the money and stay based on the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed the beachfront location and outdoor dining venues at The Del. We believe we have a range of accommodations from the recently renovated Victorian guestrooms to the more spacious and contemporary Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxury villas and cottages at Beach Village. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a great experience here. Our rooms were ready even before check-in time, and it was very peaceful at night. Usually I use ear plugs in hotels because there's always noise from the hall or other rooms, but not here. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the property and beach were beautiful, and the restaurants were informal but excellent with great views of the ocean. There are many shops on the first floor of the hotel, plus an ice cream shop which our kids loved.
There was a band there one afternoon playing on the sundeck. Very enjoyable!

Room Tip: We were in the Guest Tower, which isn't in the old historic part of the hotel. It was good becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind endorsement and we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed all the amenities the resort has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.