We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Grande Dame of Coronado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights, Get $300
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Loved the Grande Dame of Coronado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is one of my favorite resorts. We just returned from a two city vacation to Las Vegas and San Diego. How relaxing and lovely it was to go from the fabulous but crazy Vegas scene and the 116 degree weather to the relaxed and beautiful atmosphere at the Hotel Del Coronado and an average temperature of about 70! We had booked a prepaid package---with no cancellation option--- for a partial ocean view room with two queen beds. For three nights, the cost was about $1450 and it included resort fees and WiFi. I think the rack rate would have been about $595 per night. This was during ComicCon and the Del---and other San Diego hotels---were pretty busy.

Arrival: Pulling up in front of the Hotel Del Coronado is a great feeling. The building is majestic and inviting with its Victorian style and signature red turrets. Kudos to Hertz for letting us upgrade to a Cadillac SRX from a Jeep Liberty for only $70 total. We pulled up in our stylish new vehicle and the valets and bellman were quite friendly and absolutely on point in terms of taking our car and directing us towards check-in, especially when the number of limos and chauffeur driven SUVs around the property suggested that there were guests with a lot more clout than our little family. You can self-park for the $30 per day or valet park for $40. After the first day, we realized that the self-park lot was right next to our building, so we were losing money and time by valeting. The only down side to the self-park was that it was occasionally crowded, so you had to really search for a space.

Check-in is in the main lobby. The hotel was originally built in 1888, so the lobby is something to behold with beautiful dark woodworking, incredible chandelier and an original gated elevator with attendant. The main hotel wraps around a very beautiful courtyard which you should see as well. The clerk who checked us in was very friendly and fun. She confirmed the details of our package, gave us our keys and hinted that there might be some famous types staying for ComicCon, though she wouldn't name names. (We did see the "King of Cameos" and deduce from a few details on his Twitter feed that a certain hefty Hispanic comedian was there as well. Additionally, when we ate at the Coronado Boathouse which is across the street and not part of the hotel, we saw the entire cast and crew of "Breaking Bad.")

Our room was in the ocean towers which is a series of separate buildings built in the 1970s. The rooms in this section are larger. The buildings are not super luxurious. They are more like apartment buildings. The best way to describe our room is to imagine that your family has had a beach house for generations and you are in one of the guest rooms. It has a familiar, cozy, beachy feeling, but it is not cutting edge stylish and you might have to tolerate a crack in tile or the occasional small peel in wallpaper. The walls were a neutral yellow, the beds were very comfortable with comforters that were topped with polo-striped blankets; there was a flat screen TV and a refrigerator as well as a desk and a couple of chairs. We just happened to be given a handicapped room, so the bathroom was probably slightly different from the standard. The balcony was small, but offered a view of the adult pool, the sand and the Pacific. We had a reasonable amount of drawer space and the closet, which was in the bathroom, held towels, robes, a safe, an iron and ironing board. The refrigerator was a real plus because it is not a mini-bar. There is a Von's in town, so we bought some fresh fruit, yogurts and milk to keep in our room in case anyone needed a snack. N.B. the refrigerator has a notice on it that states that it will not cool down as fast as a regular refrigerator. I don't know why this is, but our food was fine. The free, in-room WiFi is slow. You can upgrade to a faster connection for an additional fee, but we didn't bother. If I or my husband were doing business while staying there, I probably would have.

The grounds: The grounds of the Hotel Del Coronado are exquisite. The beach is beautiful and we enjoyed walking on it. The property is very large and there is much to see. There is an adult pool and a main pool. The scene around the main pool is very kid friendly, but still maintains a sense of luxury. You can reserve cabanas if you like. There are waitresses taking drink orders, pool attendants who are very friendly and willing to chat and a young woman whose job is to clean your sunglasses. The pool area has WiFi. On the sun deck above the pool, there is a snack bar/bar area which had live music, a band playing classic rock, while we were there. There are seating areas near fire pits on that deck, too and the ubiquitous and spectacular view of the ocean. We saw the staff set up for one wedding doing our stay, but it did not interrupt our access to the grounds in any significant way and the Del is a gorgeous spot for a wedding.

The adult pool is closer to the Ocean Towers and smaller, but very comfortable, especially if you are not keen on small children and games of Marco Polo.The Del has a lovely-looking spa and fitness center, but we didn't get a chance to use it. There is an extensive herb garden that the hotel maintains. There are larger villas for larger groups which face the beach and have separate pool facilities. You can also see the falcon and hawks used to keep seagulls from taking over the property. Inside the resort, there is an exhibit on the history of the hotel which I recommend. We found it very interesting. The line of Shops at the Del has specialty stores with fine men's and women's clothing, children's clothing, jewelry, luggage and hand bags, housewares stores, an ice cream shop, a candy store, grooming items and cosmetics, including the hotel's own line of products, a store that sells Hotel Del Coronado memorabilia as well as antique-style jewelry, clothing and household accents and another store that sells sportswear with and without the Del logo. I bought a Hotel Del Coronado hoodie and capris because it was getting just a bit chilly for me in the evenings.

Activities: Although we didn't actually reserve any activities through the hotel, you can take surf lessons, rent bicycles and plan other outings at the Del. We took care of reservations separately and planned a trip with OAX La Jolla to kayak the caves and a sunset sail through Seaworth rentals in Coronado. The town of Coronado is a great place to walk with some lovely shops, a movie theater and a playhouse. We liked strolling it at night and enjoyed gelato at the Nado Gelato Cafe one night and ice cream at Mootime another night. Check out Mootime's S'more Sundae or the almond gelato at Nado. Also, Mootime mashes different candies and sweets into your ice cream and my son swears by the cheesecake ice cream with cookie dough and butterscotch mashed in. There is a Mootime at the shops at the Del, but it is more expensive than the one in town and you will enjoy the walk.

The crowd at the hotel seemed very non-pretentious and I didn't notice any of the guests being particularly high-maintenance or demanding. I heard people speaking multiple languages, so the guests are diverse.There were quite a few families enjoying time with their kids. People were dressed casually and often in sports-related clothing. In sharp contrast to Vegas, from which we had just arrived, no one was dressed to kill. Although I am sure there are plenty of affluent guests at the Hotel Del, you can feel very comfortable here in a sundress or a pair of sport shorts, T-shirt and sandals for most of your day. We were supposed to eat dinner at 1500 Ocean and we would have dressed for that, but we decided to cancel because no one was actually hungry.

Dining: We dined at Sheerwater for breakfast one morning. This restaurant has both indoor and outdoor dining. The breakfast buffet has all the usual eggs, waffles, pancakes and omelets and a thorough variety of pastries. It also has some delicious savory items like chilaquiles and quiche. The price was around $22 per person, I think. We definitely felt it was a good value. We also had drinks at Eno, the wine bar. I ordered a flight of chardonnays and the young woman who served us provided us with plenty of information on the wines and pointed our her favorites. The flight was three very generous glasses of wine for about $20. I didn't finish the last glass because I would have been a bit too tipsy. Eno also serves different cheese platters, chocolate flights and gourmet sodas. It was really fabulous to spend the cocktail hour at an outdoor table sipping three very different, but all excellent wines and enjoying the ocean breeze.

Housekeeping: We had very little interaction with housekeeping, except to request an extra bathrobe and extra towels. (I think somehow the housekeeper was under the impression that we were a party of two instead of three.) Other than that, the room was spotless. Sometimes, it was cleaned a little later than I prefer, but generally the housekeeping was quite good and the one time we did bump into our housekeeper, she very sweetly thanked us for the tip.

One feature at the Del that fascinates my husband is its proximity to the naval base. If you stay at the resort, expect to see and hear naval helicopters, transport planes and the occasional jet. When we last visited several years ago, he also saw a bunch of navy recruits run along the beach, stop and do their exercises, sing "Anchors Aweigh" and then resume running. This time, he witnessed navy seals doing deploy and extraction to and from the water to helicopters. I think most guests find this aspect of the resort interesting, but some might not like listening to the peaceful waves of the Pacific lapping against the shore and then hearing the chop-chop-chop of a helicopter or the whoosh of a jet.

The bottom line: This is a beautiful and relaxing resort with very good service, a fascinating history and a location second to none. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement, thorough review, and recommendations for future guests. As we strive for legendary service, we appreciate the recognition of our great associates throughout the resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful beachfront location, gorgeous grounds, and dining experiences. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    763
    407
    269
    197
See reviews for
859
829
53
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I toured the hotel and grounds and dined there on a previous trip to San Diego. This trip, we planned ahead and got a special, "one night at full price, get the second half price" deal on accommodations! Although the hotel is expensive (actually, it was the most expensive single night room rate that I'd ever booked - even more expensive than a luxury hotel in Venice - Italy, that is, not Venice, California) it was worth the experience and I'd do it again. Although we did not have the most expensive ocean view room, our room had a west-facing, walkout balcony with table and chairs so that we could overlook the pool, see the ocean, and watch the sunset from our room as we toasted the day. In comparing this room to a similar room in top notch hotel along Florida Gulf Coast or in Miami (our more typical beach vacation locale), a room with a view like this one would be labeled as "ocean view" whereas this was called partial view. The amenities made the visit very luxurious and enjoyable. and the staff was professional and courteous. I so liked the bath products that I bought some for gifts.

When I booked online, I pre-purchased a "buy one meal, get the second half off" for the breakfast buffet. so glad that I did! . As expected, the hotel staff was courteous from the minute we arrived through departure.

Room Tip: for a good value, ask for a room with a walkout balcony and 'partial ocean view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are pleased that you and your husband enjoyed the beachfront location and beautiful ocean view from your balcony. We appreciate the recognition of our wonderful staff and are happy you had a chance to visit our many shops and boutiques. We hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We did not stay at the Del, only visited for an afternoon at the recommendation of some friends - we took a short tour of the grounds and then headed to the "patio" that overlooks the ocean for a few drinks and some relaxation - it is nothing short of spectacular! then the kids headed down to the beach for a cold dip! the beaches are awesome and have little shower heads at almost every access point to get the sand off - I certainly hope to stay at the Del some day, but if you're in the area, have a look around and stay for a drink on the patio

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the Sun Deck and America’s #1 beach. We hope to see you again soon for an overnight stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautiful hotel with each room taking you back in history to the 19th century. Right on the ocean with beautiful views. Several excellent restaurants and all the pools and beach access one could ask for. Just four miles to the heart of San Diego, but truly in a world by itslf.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the historic ambiance of The Del. We are happy that our nearly 125-year-old resort offered history as well as modern luxury to you during your stay. We hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice historic resort hotel. Stayed at the main building. No views from my room - just the road. Room was large though not the bathroom. Good air con and sleep. Breakfast and in house restaurants were good but not outstanding. Grounds are beautiful but not as expansive as you may think. Keep in mind that there are a lot of people visiting the hotel for its history so it's not a quiet place- rather the contrary. Messed up my account and double charged me, something they amended later but not before several phone calls and emails were exchanged.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated Victorian guestrooms and apologize for the service issues you encountered. Summertime is a busy time at the resort while other times of year offer great weather and less crowds. We hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

How can you find fault with this amazing property! My family has been staying at this hotel for the last 15 years and every single visit we experienced perfection and a beautiful stay. The hotel has such charm and the rooms exude elegance and history. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are to die for. If you are into haunted history, stay in the Victorian building! If you are into a more modern, beach feel, the ocean towers are for you! While I will always prefer the ocean towers, the Victorian rooms are substantially lower in price. The food has always been outstanding and we can't stop talking about the delicious happy hour selections found on the Babcock and Story menu as well as the breakfast buffet in Sheerwater. Yes, this hotel is pricey, but you get what you are paying for! It is worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and recommendations. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your annual visits to The Del and sincerely appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and 2 young daughters stayed at the Del for 2 nights. Prior to our arrival, I made the reservations with an ocean view room. The hotel reservations clerk told me that there were 2 "newer" buildings as well as the original main building and so we requested our room be in one of the newer buildings.
Upon arrival we entered the dark, dank and smelly lobby of the main building. Then we walked over to the newer building. As we entered, I noticed the ceramic tile was sand scratched beyond repair and it was also stained with juice that no one bothered to clean. The hallway carpet was worn in colour from bight yellow to dirt brown. Our room looked like we walked onto the set of Golden Girls but very dirty. The wall of windows facing the ocean was covered in greasy finger prints (even after I called housekeeping, no one came to clean the windows), the ceiling was dirty, the bathroom was old and the exhaust vent was covered in thick dust. There were empty peanut shells under the bed. Well, perhaps we got a bad room. I spoke with a bellman who told me that the "newer" building was actually built in 1976.
I brought my concerns to concierge the next morning. They immediately granted us a room in the main building which was now being renovated. Yes, our room was definitely more modern but again, the same problems. The ceiling fan was covered in thick dust, the humidity in the room made the bed sheets feel wet and there were empty water bottles under the bed.
Clearly, the Hotel Del does not have the finances to make thier facility one of the best in S.C. It seems as though they try to cash in on the hotel's haunted status and that over 50 years ago, one movie was filmed at the hotel.
We will not return until significant changes in cleanliness have been addressed.

Room Tip: If you are not satisified with your room, let the manager know. They will probably give you a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback and there is no excuse for the unacceptable service issues you encountered. We sincerely apologize and will share your review with the appropriate managers so these issues can be addressed. We appreciate your input and hope you will reconsider staying with us so we may provide the exceptional service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.