We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where I would live if I could.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights, Get $300
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“This is where I would live if I could.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Hotel del 2 times in the past 3 years.
Our repeat trip was even more enjoyable than our initial visit. Yvette helped get us the most 'bang for our buck' and was a joy to work with via telephone. We were welcomed back with even more personal service, if that is possible.
The employees at the del toy store even greeted our son by name our second time in to actually make a Lego purchase. Everything you need is at this resort.
We stay in the towers with a partial ocean view and I never want to leave.
San Diego is so nice but Coronado is in a different realm. It leaves me awestruck.
Also, my 4 year old loved the camps that the recreation center provides and my husband and I had a leisurely delicious dinner at Ocean 1500. We accidentally left his sand/paint art project there as it has to dry and Chris, a front desk manager UPS shipped to us.
I feel like I stayed at a family-friendly resort that truly is about making memories of a lifetime.
Thank you for all that you do and did to make our family feel special.
We will be back, Hotel del Coronado!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your fond memories with your family during your recent stay at The Del. As we always strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff and we'll be sure to pass your kind words onto Chris and Yvette. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    763
    407
    269
    197
See reviews for
859
829
53
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Lovely character hotel. We stayed in the Victorian part which was beautiful. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Would love to visit again. We were there for Easter which was a bit busy for a couple of days but nothing to disrupt our enjoyment. The beach is fantastic. Breakfast is good value if you are hungry and keeps you going well into the afternoon. The music in the bar in the evenings is good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday visit. We also appreciate your kudos to our great staff and hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Top Contributor
592 reviews 592 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

I was here for a weekend conference. Missed the talk on the history of the Del but was impressed with the dining room. The food was another story. I arrived Friday night at 7:50 pm..the meeting dinner was still going on, but the bar closed at 8 pm and nothing could move anyone to get me a glass of wine or a diet coke! Saturday's breakfast was "egg mcMuffins". Give me a break! What about options for vegetarians.The meal at lunch that day was enjoyable....plenty of options for vegetarians.My hotel room was large and clean with a balcony and view of the front of the hotel. If I looked to my right, I saw the ocean. When I left the room and walked to the elevators, I was met with the most amazing views of the Pacific ocean.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations. We apologize that there were aspects of your conference that did not meet your expectations and will be reviewing your comments with our management team in an effort to improve in these areas. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in an ocean view in the Ocean Tower building. The views were great. We saw the Navy Seals training on the beach directly in front of the hotel. There was always something going on out in the ocean be it dolphins or military training. The kids lov ed it. The hotel is lovely but everything is a bit overpriced. $5 for a Diet Coke???. It was great for a one time expereince.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and all that The Del has to offer. Thank you for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Del Coronado Hotel is the best hotel in the country based on location, experience, and the outstanding staff at The Del. We have stayed there at least 15 times and every visit was an incredible experience. It is a beautiful setting with a staff that has a service-heart. My family highly recommends the Del as a luxury resort that is family-friendly. John and Nancy Kraft of Plano,Texas

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear John and Nancy,
Thank you for your wonderful endorsement and your ongoing loyalty to The Del. We are thrilled that visiting our resort has become a tradition in your family and look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Del this past weekend over Easter for my Wife's birthday. We've spent many an evening on the Sun Deck having a drink or a burger and I've always loved the atmosphere there. Staying at the hotel was on my wife's bucket list, so we made it happen. I'm glad we did - we stayed in a lovely room overlooking the Courtyard, and we were high enough up that you could see the water from the balcony outside our bedroom. It had recently been remodeled I thought due to the new flat screen TV and the new fixtures on the bathroom. I've read some other reviews where folks were concerned about noise levels; was absolutely not an issue for us. It's worth noting that we stayed in one of the oldest parts of the hotel, and that's what we wanted to do - the newer Ocean towers were not interesting to us, because we felt that those look (and feel) just like any other hotel around. The rooms in the older, original parts of the hotel are smaller yes, but I think that those rooms are part of the charm and character of the hotel.

Also, I wanted to mention that the staff was for the most part, really great. The nice lady at the Front Desk really went out of her way to make us feel welcome, and it showed. The waitress who served us at breakfast in the Sheerwater made fresh Iced Tea for us when I could tell that the standard stuff came out of the soda fountain. So if you are in F&B at the Del, and you are reading this, please take my advice: Get some real Iced Tea machines for the restaurants, it makes a difference!

All in all, if you are so inclined, I highly recommend the Del experience – it’s not cheap, and once you pay for parking, resort fees and taxes, it’s even less so – but it is an experience, and in one of the most wonderful parts of these United States. I’d certainly be willing to do it again, based on this experience!

Room Tip: Full Ocean view rooms are amazing, but very, very expensive. The charm of the hotel is in the origi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind endorsement and loyalty to our iconic resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebration weekend and appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff. We will share your iced tea feedback with our culinary team and look forward to your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved the special attention that the hotel gave us for our 30th Anniversary. All of the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate your special occasion at The Del and enjoyed your visit. We hope to become an anniversary tradition and welcome you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.