We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Del is our favorite hotel in the country.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off - Limited Time
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Plano
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Del is our favorite hotel in the country.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Del Coronado Hotel is the best hotel in the country based on location, experience, and the outstanding staff at The Del. We have stayed there at least 15 times and every visit was an incredible experience. It is a beautiful setting with a staff that has a service-heart. My family highly recommends the Del as a luxury resort that is family-friendly. John and Nancy Kraft of Plano,Texas

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear John and Nancy,
Thank you for your wonderful endorsement and your ongoing loyalty to The Del. We are thrilled that visiting our resort has become a tradition in your family and look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,155
    686
    360
    238
    174
See reviews for
746
732
49
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Del this past weekend over Easter for my Wife's birthday. We've spent many an evening on the Sun Deck having a drink or a burger and I've always loved the atmosphere there. Staying at the hotel was on my wife's bucket list, so we made it happen. I'm glad we did - we stayed in a lovely room overlooking the Courtyard, and we were high enough up that you could see the water from the balcony outside our bedroom. It had recently been remodeled I thought due to the new flat screen TV and the new fixtures on the bathroom. I've read some other reviews where folks were concerned about noise levels; was absolutely not an issue for us. It's worth noting that we stayed in one of the oldest parts of the hotel, and that's what we wanted to do - the newer Ocean towers were not interesting to us, because we felt that those look (and feel) just like any other hotel around. The rooms in the older, original parts of the hotel are smaller yes, but I think that those rooms are part of the charm and character of the hotel.

Also, I wanted to mention that the staff was for the most part, really great. The nice lady at the Front Desk really went out of her way to make us feel welcome, and it showed. The waitress who served us at breakfast in the Sheerwater made fresh Iced Tea for us when I could tell that the standard stuff came out of the soda fountain. So if you are in F&B at the Del, and you are reading this, please take my advice: Get some real Iced Tea machines for the restaurants, it makes a difference!

All in all, if you are so inclined, I highly recommend the Del experience – it’s not cheap, and once you pay for parking, resort fees and taxes, it’s even less so – but it is an experience, and in one of the most wonderful parts of these United States. I’d certainly be willing to do it again, based on this experience!

Room Tip: Full Ocean view rooms are amazing, but very, very expensive. The charm of the hotel is in the origi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind endorsement and loyalty to our iconic resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebration weekend and appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff. We will share your iced tea feedback with our culinary team and look forward to your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved the special attention that the hotel gave us for our 30th Anniversary. All of the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate your special occasion at The Del and enjoyed your visit. We hope to become an anniversary tradition and welcome you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. The room was a bit small for the price. Didn´t have any bottles of water and took 2 phone calls and 2 hours to get some. The hotel is lovely, and has beautiful views from about anywhere. Great to have a drink at the deck, or a morning walk/run by the beach. Don´t forget to be by the beach at sundown, incredible sunsets. Has plenty of restaurants, and a nice ice cream store. Think that the elevator that took us to our floor was early 1900´s (beautiful). There is also parking at the rear so be sure to check with one suits you better if you are planning on taking out your car several times while visiting. Enjoyed the wood work at the lobby, and lunch outside.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a beach view if u can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Del and appreciate the historic ambiance that makes the resort so special. We hope your travels bring you back our way and would like to recommend the more spacious Ocean Towers, California Cabanas or luxury cottages and villas in Beach Village during your next visit. Thank you again for your time and consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I enjoy staying at famous hotels even if I can only afford 1 nite. This hotel is big and grand and the views are spectacular. We went at Christmas and the lights and decorations were gorgeous. The main hotel was booked but our room had an ocean view and you could hear the waves very relaxing. The onsite ice cream parlor was an unexpected delight. the kids did a surfing class and the instructors were great. I enjoy haunted locations but didn't experience any ghosts but if you want to feel history this is a great place on the west coast to do it.

Room Tip: We wanted the historic hotel but don't feel cheated if you get the other building because you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you had the opportunity to see The Del during the holiday festivities and appreciate its history. We hope to become a tradition for you and your family and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTANA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The beauty of this place is amazing. The Victorian style of the buildings makes for a story book feeling. The wonderful smell from the chocolate factory and ice cream store, add to the fantasy feel. The sand on the beach is powder soft and sparkles like gold. But it is the service, the friendly, sincere kindness of the staff that will make your vacation story book perfect!

Room Tip: As long as you are spending this kind of money, go ahead and get an ocean view room, you won't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the historic charm and ambiance of the resort. We especially appreciate the recognition of our exceptional staff and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I have been to the Hotel Del dozens of times, had many drinks on the Sun Deck and just enjoyed the grounds. The Hotel Del is an experience, a must visit when in San Diego. Even if you don't plan on staying, go for a drink on the Sun Deck or wander the grounds of this 120 year old historic hotel!

I have wanted to actually stay at the hotel for a long time. Finally, for my birthday, we booked a room.

My husband had told them it was my birthday at the time he made the reservation. When we arrived, Cindy checked us in. She immediately welcomed us and told me "Happy Birthday." Even though our room was not ready, we were given keys to the pool and were told that she would call us when the room was ready.

We enjoyed a couple of hours by the pool. The towels we were provided were actually soft, which is usually unexpected at a hotel. The water in the pool was not warm, but it was nice once we were in for a while. There were free kick boards and other goodies. We had a drink - I had a Peach Del Daiquiri and my husband had a Pina Colada. Both were very good. But be prepared to pay $13-15 for a single drink (at the pool or on the sun deck). On Sunday, my husband went in the hot tub and said it was more lukewarm. That was the one downside.

When our room was ready, we found out that we had been upgraded to a room in the Victorian section with a balcony. It was on the 4th floor and we could see the ocean when we were standing. It was a spacious balcony with two comfortable chairs. We discovered that our balcony was much larger than the rooms next to it. Our view overlooked the courtyard.

Our room was nice, despite being 120 years old! It looked modernized and was very nice looking. The bed was comfortable and there was a nice big closet. The fact that there was an in room safe was an added bonus!

While we were getting ready for dinner, a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon was delivered to our room. We had about half a glass because neither of us are big wine drinkers, and it honestly was not that good.

When we returned after dinner, we discovered that Cindy had sent a bottle of champagne (special label for the Hotel Del that is $25 in the gift shop). We drank all of the champagne and kept the bottle for a souvenir! We really thought it was a wonderful touch for Cindy to do for my birthday!

We had Easter Brunch in the Sheerwater and it was a good deal for $25. We did not have a reservation, but easily walked in at 9:00 AM. Speaking of Easter, they had a huge Easter egg hunt for kids ages 1-12 on the lawn and they all seemed to be enjoying!

Since the Sheerwater brunch did not include the desserts that the Crown Room brunch did, we opted for Moo Time ice cream before we left the hotel. We love the choices - all are good, but we went for the Black Raspberry that has chunks of chocolate in it! Yum!!!

We had such a great time that we both hope to make it an annual tradition to spend a night at the Del! But in the meantime, don't be surprised to see us having a drink on the Sun Deck when we are in Coronado!

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th or 5th floor of the Victorian section of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for the enthusiastic endorsement and we are thrilled that you chose to celebrate your birthday at The Del. As we always strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff and wil share your kind words with Cindy. We hope to become a tradition for birthday celebrations to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.