We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection achieved!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Del Beach & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Sedalia, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection achieved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I recently attended a conference at the Hotel del Coronado and was introduced to a new level in business accommodations. My room was exceptionally large and all the furnishings appeared brand new. The bathroom was also quite large with a double sink and a wonderful marble-tiled shower. The off-white room colors with the touches of blue, green, and yellow were striking in their simplicity and gave the surroundings an inescapable sense of class. My accommodations also included a lovely private patio that was screened in with many flowering plants. The maid service was superb. After hurrying to a morning meeting and leaving the room in tremendous disarray with an ironing board, bed linens, etc, strewn about the room, I returned a few hours later to discover the room in pristine shape.

The Hotel del Coronado also provided all but one of my meals during this trip. I ate at the Sheerwater Restaurant and Babcock & Story Lounge. The food was delicious in both and the service was impeccable. One of my business associates had numerous dietary restrictions and the staff was very sensitive to their needs. I was greatly impressed with the care that was shown to ensure that this individual was satisfied with their dining experiences. The hotel also catered all our business breakfasts and lunches. The food was well beyond the typical conference fare and included many fresh fruits, vegetables, and seafood that were a welcome site to winter-weary mid-westerners. It was simply delightful to sample so many examples of the famous California cuisine.

Even though this was a business trip, my experience at the Del was the best vacation I have ever had. I felt pampered and indulged the entire time. Despite being on my own, I also could not help but think this was the most romantic hotel I had ever stayed at.

Room Tip: California Cabana rooms are large enough for families. The cabana patios are secluded and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Del. As we are always striving to provide legendary service, we appreciate the recognition of our wonderful staff. We hope you have the opportunity to return for a vacation and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,134
    672
    352
    228
    171
See reviews for
720
715
49
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I had high hopes for the Del based on things I had heard prior to my trip. My hopes were quickly dashed. I stayed at the Del because I was attending a meeting at the site, but if I had to do it all over again, I likely would have stayed somewhere else. While I understand the Del is rich in history, it was massively frustrating as a guest to be constantly overrun by tourists touring the hotel when you're just trying to get to your hotel room. As if it couldn't get worse, my room was directly next to the loading area, so I was awakened at the crack of dawn daily by trucks backing up and delivering their goods.
The room was subpar at best, and considering the expense of staying there, I was a bit disappointed. The saving grace was that the staff was friendly and professional. If I visit Coronado again, I will not be staying at the Del.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room away from the loading dock if you like to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments and we appreciate the recognition of our wonderful staff. We apologize for some of the service issues you encountered and will be reviewing your feedback with the appropriate managers. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at the Del. The hotel has a rich history and has been around for ages. unfortunately it looks like the rooms haven't been refreshed since the hotel was built. Having spent $500 a night I don't expect to be standing in a tiny bath with an old green curtain shower curtain.. The service is also missing those little touches that make a hotel memorable - turn down, friendly concierge etc.

The location on Coronado is magical, pity the hotel doesn't match. Having to pay $26 per day for self park is also ridiculous.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We hope you will return and consider staying in one of the newly renovated Victorian rooms or the luxury cottages or villas at Beach Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed hear last April 2011 for our Anniversary weekend. Nice get away. The rooms in the main bldg are older, small, and have a small bathroom. It is updated and clean.
Romantic, with great staff
Can't beat being on the beach. The shops and restaurants on the premises are nice. The pool is large. They offer exercise classes, but it you're going to sign up to do a spin class. Sign up the night before. It gets full quickly.
I have never been to Coronado and the shopping quaint restaurants were a nice walk from the hotel.
Great for the kids too. The hotel is on the beach and there is an ice cream and candy store on the property

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear that you chose The Del to celebrate your special occasion. We hope to become a tradition for you and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Of course, this hotel is beautiful in the historic sense and certainly impressive but you give up some modern comforts to the experience. I only stayed for one night, and in a small room with no view, but I did enjoy exploring the hotel and the property. The pool and beach area are particularly lovely. The shops downstairs are no big deal. The old elevator with an old-time elevator operator is fun but when he was off duty I couldn't figure out how to get downstairs with my luggage except by dragging it down the stairs. The room was quaint but I have two major suggestions: a shelf near the sink in the bathroom (as there was nowhere to rest my toiletries) and a mirror over the desk instead of a picture (so there is a place to apply makeup). Glad I had the opportunity to experience the Del.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Del and appreciate the historic ambiance of this iconic resort. During your next visit, we would suggest staying in the Ocean Towers or California Cabanas which offer more spacious bedroom and bathroom areas. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I have traveled the world over. I am an antiques dealer and he an executive...we were terribly uncomfortable and disappointed in the hotel del Coronado. Evidently the hotel was famous in the early 1900's, but it leaves LOTS to be desired before it measures up to anything like Sandals Resorts or the Hilton chain of hotels. It was freezing cold for the week and NOISY beyond belief. One day and night there was a party next to us in the room and no one even tried to stop it! People were hanging off the adjoining balcony screaming like on college break. We had to complain to management - which happened to be a couple of young twenty year olds which did not care... Two mornings we awoke to beds banging against the walls and orgasmic screams - no privacy at all. Also, the food was terrible. We ate at each of the restaurants and it was the same bad, overpriced food everywhere.
Lastly, the staff was most unfriendly. They were mostly young people that ignored the guests. No one smiled. No one cared. We would not return.
Watch the Marilyn Monroe movie (Some like it Hot) and skip this place. Money best spent elsewhere!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main Hotel or the beach rooms. Try the more expensive suites on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay. We apologize for some of the service issues you encountered and will be reviewing your comments with the management team in an effort to improve in these areas. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Overall, this property is beautiful. The atmosphere, the staff, the facilities are all excellent. My only beef is that the rooms are way too small and the walls are paper thin. You can hear everything in the hallway and in the room next door. A bit overpriced as well.

Room Tip: If you can afford it...stay away from the basic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed the historic ambiance that makes The Del so special and appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff. We are sorry that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope you will return and consider staying in the more spacious Ocean Towers, California Cabanas or a luxury cottage or villa in Beach Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.