We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Motel in the Heart of Coronado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown City Inn

Save Saved
You added Crown City Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown City Inn
520 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Phoenix
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint Motel in the Heart of Coronado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked a stay at the Crown City Inn for our first stay at Coronado Island, and we were not disappointed. I was a bit skeptical at first, because the price of this place is so much lower than other hotels on Coronado. Although the motel itself is not overly fancy, it is centrally located, has a quaint feel and is all around charming. The rooms were renovated not too long ago, and were comfortable and spacious enough for my wife and I.

We were thrilled to learn the motel provides bicycles to guests, free of charge, and we took this opportunity to explore the island.

The motel even has a small restaurant, which we tried on the last night of our stay, and were thoroughly impressed.

I would definitely recommend this place to others looking for a great budget motel on Coronado Island.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed the Crown City Inn, and all we have to offer. It is so nice to be out in the beautiful Coronado weather on a bike, seeing all the quaint houses, shops, and restaurants, and of course the bay and beach. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
40
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

It was an easy walk down to the hotel Del for the Christmas show The walk home at the end of the evening was magical with all the trees lit up. At 1 quarter of the cost of the hotel Dels rooms we have plenty of money left over for food and drink

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your response. Christmas in Coronado is unlike any other with the Hotel Del Coronado and Orange Avenue lit up with lights, the San Diego boat parade, the Coronado Christmas parade, and the Holiday Open House at all the businesses. We love to be able to offer a place to stay for a reasonable price. We hope to see you again next Christmas, or sometime before that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband, baby, and I stayed at the Crown City Inn together January 2012. We requested a room close to the pool and they were happy to do it. When we arrived the staff were friendly and helped us out by moving us away from other guests, without moving us from the pool, so our crying baby wouldn't bother them. LOL. She only cried a little but still I didn't want to bother anyone.

At tea time we had yummy coffee with cream and the BEST butterscotch blondies I've ever tasted. I've tried to recreate them at home but I haven't been able to. I asked the friendly staff where they got them and they said a local makes them. How cute!

The room was really clean and the bathroom was nice. The bed was comfortable and the cleaning service was great. I have stayed in many hotels in Coronado from the best western to the hotel del Cordova (and many in between) and this has been, BY FAR, my favorite.

Our baby got sick a day before we were going to check out and we had to leave immediately. The staff were completely understanding and refunded out last day. Not only was this hotel the best I've stayed at they have also been the least expensive. This is truly a jewel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I'm so glad everything was to your liking during your stay at Crown City Inn! We all hope you'll come back soon to enjoy it again. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here Nov 16-18. Great staff, clean comfortable rooms, & updated bathroom. I agree with another reviewer, updated comforters would definitely make it more modern. We would totally stay here again! Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I'm so happy you liked the Crown City Inn. I'm also glad you had a chance to eat at the Crown Bistro during your stay. It really is a great place to eat! We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Coronado Island and San Diego. It was very clean and well maintained. Bathroom nicely updated!
The Bistro Cafe was excellent, get the waffle with strawberries..
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just stayed here on Sunday, Oct. 14th and loved this place. It's an older hotel but very well maintained and the bathrooms are remodeled. The beds could use new comforters to make it look more modern and it had a slightly musty smell as it was older, but those were the only negatives. They have cookies, tea & coffee in the lobby and even had welcome bags for the kids, full of fun toys and activities. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the free use of the beach bikes. We rode all over Coronado and went to the beach. The price was great as it was off-season, but we lucked out because the temperature was perfect! We will definetely go back here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for your great review of the Crown City Inn. I'm glad you were able to enjoy some of our extras--cookies, kid's bags, and bicycles. Thanks also for your feedback on the idea of updating our comforters. I do happen to agree with you that they need an upgrade. I hope by the next time you visit, you will see that change!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is a great find in a great location! We seldom travel without our two yorkies and have found that while a lot more hotels are allowing our dogs they are also charging an arm and a leg to bring them. I was in desperate need of a “beach break” and can't tell you how pleasantly surprised we were to find a wonderful hotel on Coronado Island that had a great restaurant attached, clean rooms, bikes to use, nice pool, tea and cookies, pet friendly and reasonable rates! The location is perfect, since traffic can be brutal on the island we loved being able to park at the hotel and walk to numerous restaurants as well as the beach. The doggie beach was a bit too far to walk but the fact that there was a beautiful dog beach just a few minutes away by car (or bike) was fantastic to begin with! The staff was great and made all of us feel very welcome and comfortable (although we did have one front desk clerk that was a bit tight on the dog policy...she said we could not leave the dogs in the room unattended to walk the twenty feet to the pool for a swim...but we could take them to the pool area with us just not in the pool…made no sense to us?!?!?) The restaurant next door is also very good and had some great food. It came in very handy after a long day of exploring the island. We are happy to say that we've found another great "special spot" for our long weekend escapes and hope to be able to spend more days next time we venture out of the desert to cooler climates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi MANDM1970:
I'm glad you and your Yorkies had a good time in Coronado, and glad you loved the Crown City Inn. Sorry you had a run-in with the "pet police," but normally, if you're eating at the Bistro or sitting by the pool, leaving your pet in the room is not a problem. We have one new person here, that may be keeping to the rules more than she needs to. I'll have the talk with her, and will make sure you have some flexibility on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Address: 520 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.