We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, clean, comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown City Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
Crown City Inn
520 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Woodland Hills
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Quaint, clean, comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here Nov 16-18. Great staff, clean comfortable rooms, & updated bathroom. I agree with another reviewer, updated comforters would definitely make it more modern. We would totally stay here again! Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I'm so happy you liked the Crown City Inn. I'm also glad you had a chance to eat at the Crown Bistro during your stay. It really is a great place to eat! We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
39
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Coronado Island and San Diego. It was very clean and well maintained. Bathroom nicely updated!
The Bistro Cafe was excellent, get the waffle with strawberries..
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just stayed here on Sunday, Oct. 14th and loved this place. It's an older hotel but very well maintained and the bathrooms are remodeled. The beds could use new comforters to make it look more modern and it had a slightly musty smell as it was older, but those were the only negatives. They have cookies, tea & coffee in the lobby and even had welcome bags for the kids, full of fun toys and activities. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the free use of the beach bikes. We rode all over Coronado and went to the beach. The price was great as it was off-season, but we lucked out because the temperature was perfect! We will definetely go back here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for your great review of the Crown City Inn. I'm glad you were able to enjoy some of our extras--cookies, kid's bags, and bicycles. Thanks also for your feedback on the idea of updating our comforters. I do happen to agree with you that they need an upgrade. I hope by the next time you visit, you will see that change!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is a great find in a great location! We seldom travel without our two yorkies and have found that while a lot more hotels are allowing our dogs they are also charging an arm and a leg to bring them. I was in desperate need of a “beach break” and can't tell you how pleasantly surprised we were to find a wonderful hotel on Coronado Island that had a great restaurant attached, clean rooms, bikes to use, nice pool, tea and cookies, pet friendly and reasonable rates! The location is perfect, since traffic can be brutal on the island we loved being able to park at the hotel and walk to numerous restaurants as well as the beach. The doggie beach was a bit too far to walk but the fact that there was a beautiful dog beach just a few minutes away by car (or bike) was fantastic to begin with! The staff was great and made all of us feel very welcome and comfortable (although we did have one front desk clerk that was a bit tight on the dog policy...she said we could not leave the dogs in the room unattended to walk the twenty feet to the pool for a swim...but we could take them to the pool area with us just not in the pool…made no sense to us?!?!?) The restaurant next door is also very good and had some great food. It came in very handy after a long day of exploring the island. We are happy to say that we've found another great "special spot" for our long weekend escapes and hope to be able to spend more days next time we venture out of the desert to cooler climates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi MANDM1970:
I'm glad you and your Yorkies had a good time in Coronado, and glad you loved the Crown City Inn. Sorry you had a run-in with the "pet police," but normally, if you're eating at the Bistro or sitting by the pool, leaving your pet in the room is not a problem. We have one new person here, that may be keeping to the rules more than she needs to. I'll have the talk with her, and will make sure you have some flexibility on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a great place. The room that we had was clean and modern and the staff bent over backwards to accomodate. Perfect location with easy access to anything in Coranodo. We brought our Yorkie puppy along with us on this trip and the the Crown City Inn made it so special and easy for us by not only providing a cute gift basket containing a squeaky toy and treats but giving us a list of pet friendly restaurants. That saved us so much time and aggrivation trying to find places that we all could enjoy without a hassle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi Gary A:
I'm so glad you and your Yorkie had a good time at the Crown City Inn and in Coronado. I hope to see you on your next trip West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our most enjoyable stay in the San Diego area so far. This is not a fancy place but they pay attention to the right details to make it pleasant. Everything works and is clean. Desk staff are very nice and we enjoyed down time each afternoon at the small but pretty saltwater pool. The location is close to the ocean and to town. Nice toiletries and towels, nice pool towels too. Cookies and iced tea are served in the afternoon and they are good quality, not cheap stuff. The Bistro restaurant is good and enjoyable to eat outside. Would definately stay again. Coronado traffic was surprisingly heavy.

Room Tip: To drown traffic noise at night, shut the window on the street side of your room. The windows are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
"Seobr"
Thanks for your review! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. My favorite time here in Coronado is September--weather is beautiful, and the summer crowds have gone.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Loads of fun get away at the CCI. We were greeted warmly at the front desk on August 30th for a one night stay. We were able to check in a little early which was nice hot coffee, tea and cookies were in the lobby. They loaned us bikes to cruise around the island for the afternoon, then upon return we were told we could keep them till 7:30 pm so we rode back down to the beach for the sunset, which was awesome. Upon return were then informed by front desk that loads of restaurants were within walking distance. Nice touch. Our room was quaint but very clean, comfortable bed, will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We like a lower level so we do not have to take our bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
"Bdbc"
Thanks for staying at the Crown City Inn. I'm glad you were happy with everything, and so glad you were able to get good use of the bikes. It's the nicest way to get around town! Hope to see you on your next visit to Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel
Crown City Hotel Coronado
Address: 520 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crown City Inn to your Saves list