We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice for a state beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Strand State Beach

Silver Strand State Beach
5000 Hwy 75, Coronado, CA 92118
619-435-5184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 30 things to do in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Camping/rv, Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most beautiful beaches in the San Diego area, the Silver Strand Beach State Park is on the southern coast of Coronado.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice for a state beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Visited Silver Strand beach 2 days over Labor Day weekend. Beach was not overcrowded, even on a holiday weekend. Had NICE and CLEAN bathroom facilities. Had employees walking the beach offering programs for the kids. Nice big parking lot.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    63
    21
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“clean beach & facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We really enjoyed this beach - it's less crowded, the washrooms & showers were the cleanest and best maintained we had seen in all of San Diego, and the water was a little warmer than elsewhere. Downside - less scenic that La Jolla (with its few palm trees) or Mission (with its board walk)...but we enjoyed Silver Strand and will definitely return again next time we are in SD

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“what happened”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Usually i enjoy going to a State beach, however when we went to the Silver strand recently I was not impressed. The beach itself was not that good. To much seaweed everywhere. The bay side just seemed dirty and run down. I would not drive out that far on the strand again. Instead I would go the the beach by the Hotel Del. Much nicer & more things to do.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice beach - Campground is a crowded parking lot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed two nights in the campground and the first night was nice. We had considerate neighbors and sharing the cramped space was OK. The second night a new family moved in with a monster toy hauler. They came in with a poor attitude and made a point to park right on the line. The worst part was that their generator exhaust pipe was pointed straight in our door. We had a beach side site, so spent little time in the trailer anyway. I would never stay here if I could not get a beach site. The beach was clean, not to crowded and the campground staff was friendly and helpful. There are major grocery stores in Coronado, so if you need supplies it is about a 15 minute drive. If you want a beach fire pit at night, claim it early in the day.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun despite the Camp Host”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Place is great except for the horrible camp hosts. No beer on the beach sucks. The camp hosts seriously need to take the stick out of their @ss. They claim your generator is on when really it is your neighbor. This place would seriously be amazing if there weren't these horrible camp hosts. Jim is the dumbest camp host here. The others aren't too bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Strand State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Silver Strand State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Strand State Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.