We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Village at The Del

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Village at The Del to your Saves list
Beach Village at The Del
1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Soak Up the Sun
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pampered perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to be upgraded to the Beach Village after we booked the Hotel Del Coronado
I was irritated when they called, but was so pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The room was beautiful with a partial ocean view. Service was great- warm and kind from the valet to the waitstaff at breakfast. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    21
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
53
39
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages in the Beach Village and it was sublime. The room was comfortable and very clean. The amenities for the Beach Village were outstanding - multiple pools and the Windsor Cottage were all great. The fire pit on the cottage deck was a great plus. Be advised that if you stay in one of the cottages facing the beach you will have constant foot traffic on the walkway right in front of your cottage. That was a big inconvenience for us and worth noting. There is not a lot of privacy in this location. The Cottage breakfast is nice but the Saturday morning service was packed the staff was completely overwhelmed. The concierge staff available in the Cottage was very helpful. Yes, it is quite expensive but the location, room and staff are worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Del Coronado is the most luxurious hotel where I have ever stayed. From the front desk to every person one meets, it is friendly and bends over backwards to see that your stay is the best.
Even all the hotel shops are refreshing in that you are greeted with a friendly greeting upon entering, the prices are the same as one would find in a nice shopping mall (not over-priced) and
good, quality merchandise of all kinds. The food, staff, service is just top notch and should be for the price. A "once in a lifetime" experience for sure! The view, the beach everything are amazing.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel (the "old" rooms) face the ocean. They are extremely spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Del is a historical treasure on Coronado Island on one of California's best beaches. The Beach Villas are to die for, fabulous views, fireplaces, great kitchen, cosy and elegant, perfectly serviced and attentive to details. Loved the seashells on the pillow nightly! So much to do! Great morning jogging or walks for miles on the beach, breakfast outdoors at the fire pit in Windsor Cottage is sublime! Don't miss Point Lobos at sunset. Smores on the beach a perfect! Great golf and tons of activities in San Diego... Don't miss high tea at The Del for a step back in time.

Room Tip: Top Floors of Beach Villas have best panorama views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent a week there the last two summers. The condos allow for a very relaxed vacation. The Windsor cottage is lovely for the morning breakfast and evening cocktail or dinner around the fire pits. Everyone is gracious beyond compare. It's a location that can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing Beach Village and sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We take great pride in delivering a genuine hospitality with well-placed amenities and services available exclusively to Beach Village guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We came to the Beach Village at the Del after checking out early from another hotel in the San Diego area that we didn't really like. We looked around online and decided to splurge on a two bedroom cottage on the beach at Beach Village. The reservation person did a great job of answering our questions about the rooms they had available. When we arrived we were thrilled to see that our room was directly on the beach and had living room with a small kitchen and one king bedroom and another with two queens and a pull-out sofa, we had plenty of room for our family. We had great meals on the restaurant that is part of beach village and spent two nights dining by a fire pit watching the sunset, we also had breakfast included with our room each morning. One night we sat on the beach by a bonfire and roasted marshmallows. The whole experience was completely relaxing and lovely. The pools are nice and there are a few of them for the people staying at beach village, so you can have some privacy or swim in the larger pool in the center. The fitness center was nice and well equipped and they have a decent selection of classes and yoga. Staying at Beach Village is pricey, but views, accommodations and staff are incomparable. Every person we spoke with who works at the Hotel Del Coronado and at Beach Village was friendly, helpful and pleasant. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The cottages on the beach are lovely, but if you want more privacy the second floor would be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are always happy to rescue guests' vacations after they depart other properties. The team does everything possible to ensure an enjoyable stay. In this case, it sounds like we delivered on our promise and now, hope we can welcome you back again soon. This time, book directly with us and forego the frustration of moving hotels on your vacation. It is your time - take every opportunity to enjoy every moment. See you next time.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Called to book a 1 bedroom suite in Beach Village over 4 day July 4th weekend. Anna quoted price, I advised I would call her back, called back, spoke with Jessica, she indicated Anna was out until later, no tomorrow, would have to ask for manager permission to book but she would call me back within an hour, 5 hours later I called them back, a third rep said Jessica was busy and manager was in a meeting so it may be tomorrow (see where this is going?) Received call from Anna, they are not allowed to book one bedroom over the 4 nights I requested as it included the 4th of July and she cannot honor her quote per her manager. I think the total would have been between $8,000-$10,000 including tax, resort fees, $47 a day parking. I don't know who the SPECIAL one bedroom people are but it seems your limited to a $15,000-$20,000 stay in a 2 or 3 bedroom if you aren't part of the SPECIAL group. I'm sure they aren't leaving those spaces empty...

Room Tip: When yo0u book your stay, get it in writing, and get it immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We sincerely regret the first impression given by our reservations team upon your attempts to book with us. We strive to make the experience as seamless as possible. The team carries a tremendous amount of pride in the operation of Beach Village, and we understand the importance of the first contact you make with us. Occasionally, we fall short of our own standards of excellence in service; and for this, I truly apologize. We hope that you will provide us with an opportunity to welcome you to Beach Village at The Del so we may prove that your experience with making a reservation is an exception, not the standard. I would like to personally assist you with your reservation and invite you to contact me at your convenience. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I will look forward to speaking with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Village at The Del? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Village at The Del

Address: 1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
#11 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive oceanfront enclave of one, two and three bedroom luxury cottages and villas within the iconic setting of the legendary Hotel del Coronado. Units feature spacious dining and living great rooms with cozy fireplaces, and gourmet kitchens. All guests receive amenities such as complimentary breakfast at the oceanfront Windsor Cottage, personal concierge service, upgraded in-room dining options and much more. With exceptional accommodations, unmatched amenities and genuine service, this island retreat reinvents the resort's timeless charm for the 21st century and takes the quintessential beach lifestyle to a new level of sophistication and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Village at The Del reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Village At The Del Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Village at The Del, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.