We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay at the Beach Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Village at The Del

Save Saved
You added Beach Village at The Del to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Village at The Del
1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
California City, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Second Stay at the Beach Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for my daughters wedding in December. We had stayed in the villas closest to the water the summer before last and this stay we opted for a one bedroom with a kitchen which landed us on the second floor with a lovely ocean view.

i always prefer the villas over the hotel because they feel newer and more up to date which I like.
Our room was very nice with 2 fireplaces which we used during our stay despite the fact we had weather in the 70's. The kitchen was well stocked and had just about everything you could need.

The bridal party all got ready in the room and it made a perfect backdrop for the video and pictures as the lighting and scenery was just breathtaking. I would suggest anyone getting married at the hotel stay at the Villas, it's just a little more special in my opinion.

As a last note, staying in December as opposed to the summer time was pretty neat as well. The main hotel is buzzing and is beautifully decorated, it's really a sight to see. I would highly recommend staying at the Beach Village but also recommend looking for special pricing deals and packages on the website as the nightly rate can be quite expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    20
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
31
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our second stay the the Beach Village. We decided to visit at Christmas to see how they handled the season. Once again the overall experience was impeccable. We almost had the place to ourselves. Our concierge (Sasha) was absolutely top notch, and there were nice touches for us as repeat guests. I would give the experience 5 stars but for how outrageously expensive everything is. We had a $42.50 six pack of diet Coke sent up via room service. That's not a typo. $42.50. It's not about affording it (you know what you're getting) as much as they seem to be looking for the boundary of what people will put up with.

This time around, the service and people were again fantastic. The room service food was not as good (both meals). The Christmas decorations were nice. This is a good time of year to go for a peaceful time....although I will reiterate as in my last review.....you could easily end up with a group of noisy kids right next to you and it would be a different experience all together.

Will we be back? Probably. It's a unique experience.

Room Tip: I would again spend the extra money for the very beach front villa as opposed to the second floor su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for returning to Beach Village and sharing your mostly positive experience. I have emailed you separately about the in-room dining charges and sincerely regret any inconveniences caused by a pricing structure out of control. We thrive when our guests share their perspective and provide a reality check to every part of our operatoin. Thank you so much for helping to improve the experience. Rest assured, we have already taken steps to adjust pricing and deliver value in everything we do. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great location in the heart of Coronado, CA. The beach was right out the door with a nice breeze each day. Condo was roomy and very clean, but a little pricey. Patio was open, but how it is situated facing the beach is less than desirable. Many people walk past the patio, being that most of them face the sidewalk, which separate the condos from the beach. The sidewalk provides access to the main patio area of the hotel. Other than that, it is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in a Villa Suite (Bedroom and Living Room/Kitchen). Décor tasteful -- clean and modern look. Furniture in good condition.

Large bedroom with comfortable king bed and ample closets. Bathroom very large, including separate tub and shower, WC; only disadvantage was that guests staying in the living room pull-out (comfortable and prepared nightly at turn down) need to traverse through the bedroom to access the bathroom.

Living room light and airy. Small but functional kitchen; although we mostly ate out, the kitchen worked nicely enough to prepare a good steak dinner at the room (Von's grocery is just a few blocks away).

Nice sized balcony with views of ocean (we were in the back row, second floor; first floor would probably not have ocean views).

Check-in was with the host/concierge at the separate entrance for the Village. She came to the car and guided us directly to our room. It was there we were asked whether we wanted morning or afternoon maid service, early or late evening turn down service. Maid and turn down service came within scheduled times and did a nice job cleaning and providing replacement toiletries. Check-out was at the Windsor Cottage, a private club house for Beach Village guests where a terrific breakfast was served each morning (inclusive). The concierges at the Cottage were always friendly and accommodating, making one feel like a guest worthy of the room rate.

Good internet access (in room and on grounds) was included in the room rate/resort fee.

The Beach Village grounds were beautiful. The architecture is "beach," but not cartoonish. There is a main pool (separate from the hotel pool), that was always quiet and well attended by friendly staff. Drinks and nice lunches are available to order. There are a number of smaller still more private pools on the Beach Village grounds. Fitness facility at the main Beach Village pool was well-equipped and clean.

Although we toured the hotel and its grounds (all fantastic to see), we found little reason to spend much time there. Beach Village has it all and is right on the beach. Clean and wide, we spent several mornings either walking along the shore or sitting reading the paper (the hotel supplies beach chairs and towels). Weather was San Diego reliable -- just about perfect. Refreshingly cool at night and early morning. Swimming-comfortable much of the day.

Although we had a car for off-Coronado touring, there was little reason for a car on island. It was easy to park on street within a block or so of Beach Village. We did so instead of paying a most unnecessary $40 per night on-site parking fee. Orange Street, with countless low-key casual restaurants and shops begins right at the foot of the hotel, making for nice walks in search of and after dinner.

Would most definitely return to Beach Village: a most satisfying stay. As I am writing, I cannot recall anything worthy of complaint. Wait, I just remembered: a too-complicated Logitech remote for the living room TV -- just frustrating enough to prompt a return to the balcony to listen to the ocean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your wonderful experience. It is great to know that we exceeded your expectations and will be returning, hopefully very soon. We do regret your remote control was difficult to operate, but it sounds like you found a better use of your time. We are looking into what can be done to simplify its operation. Outside of the remote, we are thrilled you enjoyed your Beach Village Experience and look forward to welcoming you back as our valued return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A new experience to stay at the Hotel Del in the more private Beach Villas and Cottages. The location and proximity to the beach path and beach can't be beat! What a beautiful sunset was witnessed right over Point Loma! A wonderful morning jog/walk down Ocean Avenue and into town for coffee. Didn't get to enjoy as many amenities because of our short stay, but I will be back to enjoy the mini pools and hot tub. Breakfast at Windsor Cottage was charming and delicious! Beach front dining with wonderful patio heaters to take the chill off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Beach Village at The Del. We are pleased that even during your short stay, you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to not only enjoy Beach Village's direct beach access, but also indulge in the countless amenities and services (and pools) available exclusively to Beach Village guests. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The two bedroom condos at the Beach Village at Hotel Del are incredible. They give you the freedom to have your own food and alcohol and convenience of being with friends and not making elaborate time plans. Nice gas fireplace in each condo. Master bedroom has great view of the beach. Complimentary breakfast is great- scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fruits, juices, oatmeal, cereal, pastries, breads, smoked salmon and the most incredible pesto goat cheese. Dinner at the Winsor Court ( I believe that was the name of the Beach village dining area) was good but service too slow. Excellent wins selection though. You really never have to leave the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We were thrilled to read your review of our Cottages and Villas at Beach Village at The Del! Breakfast at Windsor Cottage is one or our favorite guest amenities. Beach Village guests enjoy a lovely breakfast in our oceanfront Windsor Cottage, but also guests can plan their daily activities with one of our friendly Host Concierge. When you return, we think you will be pleased with the improvements in the dinner service at Windsor Cottage as well. Thank you again for sharing your Beach Village Experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I'm awful at reviews, but this one is especially deserved. My stay at Beach Village was in April 2012. It was my first stay at BV, though I'd been staying at Hotel del Coronado for more than 20 years. My husband and I remember when BV was under construction and watched in delight the phases and remember being offered the opportunity to purchase, not that we could afford it.
So last year while planning an annual trip to the Del, I decided to give BV a try and now can't ever imagine staying in the hotel again.
While the Del maintains beautiful grounds, which BV guests are welcome to use, the private BV grounds are much lovelier.
I stayed in a second floor ocean view villa and didn't hear a peep, only the waves of the ocean. Each night I kept the doors open for the wonderful breezes and sound of the waves.
The room itself was so luxurious, yet beach casual. I don't know where to begin and the photos won't even do it justice, but perhaps they'll help someone in making a decision.
BV staff were wonderful!
As far as dining, I didn't find the Windsor lounge to be anything spectacular, except for the friendly and efficient service. In all of my years of staying (at the Del), I usually dine out, though Sheerwater is good and the Babcock and Story lounge is nice for drinks or a quick bite.
Restaurants I'd recommend in Coronado are Boathouse (dinner), Tent City, Tartine, or Rhinoceros.
I'll stay again and hope to this winter. If you're on the fence over Hotel Del or BV, you won't regret choosing BV.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the bit extra for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Beach Village. I am thrilled your time with us made a lasting impression. On your next visit, we invite you to enjoy a refreshed and improved Windsor Cottage. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Village at The Del? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Village at The Del

Address: 1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#12 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive oceanfront enclave of one, two and three bedroom luxury cottages and villas within the iconic setting of the legendary Hotel del Coronado. Units feature spacious dining and living great rooms with cozy fireplaces, and gourmet kitchens. All guests receive amenities such as complimentary breakfast at the oceanfront Windsor Cottage, personal concierge service, upgraded in-room dining options and much more. With exceptional accommodations, unmatched amenities and genuine service, this island retreat reinvents the resort's timeless charm for the 21st century and takes the quintessential beach lifestyle to a new level of sophistication and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Beach Village at The Del reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Village At The Del Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Village at The Del, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.