We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Village at The Del

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Village at The Del to your Saves list
Beach Village at The Del
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Luxury Poolside Cabanas
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“2nd Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our second stay the the Beach Village. We decided to visit at Christmas to see how they handled the season. Once again the overall experience was impeccable. We almost had the place to ourselves. Our concierge (Sasha) was absolutely top notch, and there were nice touches for us as repeat guests. I would give the experience 5 stars but for how outrageously expensive everything is. We had a $42.50 six pack of diet Coke sent up via room service. That's not a typo. $42.50. It's not about affording it (you know what you're getting) as much as they seem to be looking for the boundary of what people will put up with.

This time around, the service and people were again fantastic. The room service food was not as good (both meals). The Christmas decorations were nice. This is a good time of year to go for a peaceful time....although I will reiterate as in my last review.....you could easily end up with a group of noisy kids right next to you and it would be a different experience all together.

Will we be back? Probably. It's a unique experience.

Room Tip: I would again spend the extra money for the very beach front villa as opposed to the second floor su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for returning to Beach Village and sharing your mostly positive experience. I have emailed you separately about the in-room dining charges and sincerely regret any inconveniences caused by a pricing structure out of control. We thrive when our guests share their perspective and provide a reality check to every part of our operatoin. Thank you so much for helping to improve the experience. Rest assured, we have already taken steps to adjust pricing and deliver value in everything we do. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    23
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
60
39
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great location in the heart of Coronado, CA. The beach was right out the door with a nice breeze each day. Condo was roomy and very clean, but a little pricey. Patio was open, but how it is situated facing the beach is less than desirable. Many people walk past the patio, being that most of them face the sidewalk, which separate the condos from the beach. The sidewalk provides access to the main patio area of the hotel. Other than that, it is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in a Villa Suite (Bedroom and Living Room/Kitchen). Décor tasteful -- clean and modern look. Furniture in good condition.

Large bedroom with comfortable king bed and ample closets. Bathroom very large, including separate tub and shower, WC; only disadvantage was that guests staying in the living room pull-out (comfortable and prepared nightly at turn down) need to traverse through the bedroom to access the bathroom.

Living room light and airy. Small but functional kitchen; although we mostly ate out, the kitchen worked nicely enough to prepare a good steak dinner at the room (Von's grocery is just a few blocks away).

Nice sized balcony with views of ocean (we were in the back row, second floor; first floor would probably not have ocean views).

Check-in was with the host/concierge at the separate entrance for the Village. She came to the car and guided us directly to our room. It was there we were asked whether we wanted morning or afternoon maid service, early or late evening turn down service. Maid and turn down service came within scheduled times and did a nice job cleaning and providing replacement toiletries. Check-out was at the Windsor Cottage, a private club house for Beach Village guests where a terrific breakfast was served each morning (inclusive). The concierges at the Cottage were always friendly and accommodating, making one feel like a guest worthy of the room rate.

Good internet access (in room and on grounds) was included in the room rate/resort fee.

The Beach Village grounds were beautiful. The architecture is "beach," but not cartoonish. There is a main pool (separate from the hotel pool), that was always quiet and well attended by friendly staff. Drinks and nice lunches are available to order. There are a number of smaller still more private pools on the Beach Village grounds. Fitness facility at the main Beach Village pool was well-equipped and clean.

Although we toured the hotel and its grounds (all fantastic to see), we found little reason to spend much time there. Beach Village has it all and is right on the beach. Clean and wide, we spent several mornings either walking along the shore or sitting reading the paper (the hotel supplies beach chairs and towels). Weather was San Diego reliable -- just about perfect. Refreshingly cool at night and early morning. Swimming-comfortable much of the day.

Although we had a car for off-Coronado touring, there was little reason for a car on island. It was easy to park on street within a block or so of Beach Village. We did so instead of paying a most unnecessary $40 per night on-site parking fee. Orange Street, with countless low-key casual restaurants and shops begins right at the foot of the hotel, making for nice walks in search of and after dinner.

Would most definitely return to Beach Village: a most satisfying stay. As I am writing, I cannot recall anything worthy of complaint. Wait, I just remembered: a too-complicated Logitech remote for the living room TV -- just frustrating enough to prompt a return to the balcony to listen to the ocean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your wonderful experience. It is great to know that we exceeded your expectations and will be returning, hopefully very soon. We do regret your remote control was difficult to operate, but it sounds like you found a better use of your time. We are looking into what can be done to simplify its operation. Outside of the remote, we are thrilled you enjoyed your Beach Village Experience and look forward to welcoming you back as our valued return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A new experience to stay at the Hotel Del in the more private Beach Villas and Cottages. The location and proximity to the beach path and beach can't be beat! What a beautiful sunset was witnessed right over Point Loma! A wonderful morning jog/walk down Ocean Avenue and into town for coffee. Didn't get to enjoy as many amenities because of our short stay, but I will be back to enjoy the mini pools and hot tub. Breakfast at Windsor Cottage was charming and delicious! Beach front dining with wonderful patio heaters to take the chill off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Beach Village at The Del. We are pleased that even during your short stay, you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to not only enjoy Beach Village's direct beach access, but also indulge in the countless amenities and services (and pools) available exclusively to Beach Village guests. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The two bedroom condos at the Beach Village at Hotel Del are incredible. They give you the freedom to have your own food and alcohol and convenience of being with friends and not making elaborate time plans. Nice gas fireplace in each condo. Master bedroom has great view of the beach. Complimentary breakfast is great- scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fruits, juices, oatmeal, cereal, pastries, breads, smoked salmon and the most incredible pesto goat cheese. Dinner at the Winsor Court ( I believe that was the name of the Beach village dining area) was good but service too slow. Excellent wins selection though. You really never have to leave the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We were thrilled to read your review of our Cottages and Villas at Beach Village at The Del! Breakfast at Windsor Cottage is one or our favorite guest amenities. Beach Village guests enjoy a lovely breakfast in our oceanfront Windsor Cottage, but also guests can plan their daily activities with one of our friendly Host Concierge. When you return, we think you will be pleased with the improvements in the dinner service at Windsor Cottage as well. Thank you again for sharing your Beach Village Experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I'm awful at reviews, but this one is especially deserved. My stay at Beach Village was in April 2012. It was my first stay at BV, though I'd been staying at Hotel del Coronado for more than 20 years. My husband and I remember when BV was under construction and watched in delight the phases and remember being offered the opportunity to purchase, not that we could afford it.
So last year while planning an annual trip to the Del, I decided to give BV a try and now can't ever imagine staying in the hotel again.
While the Del maintains beautiful grounds, which BV guests are welcome to use, the private BV grounds are much lovelier.
I stayed in a second floor ocean view villa and didn't hear a peep, only the waves of the ocean. Each night I kept the doors open for the wonderful breezes and sound of the waves.
The room itself was so luxurious, yet beach casual. I don't know where to begin and the photos won't even do it justice, but perhaps they'll help someone in making a decision.
BV staff were wonderful!
As far as dining, I didn't find the Windsor lounge to be anything spectacular, except for the friendly and efficient service. In all of my years of staying (at the Del), I usually dine out, though Sheerwater is good and the Babcock and Story lounge is nice for drinks or a quick bite.
Restaurants I'd recommend in Coronado are Boathouse (dinner), Tent City, Tartine, or Rhinoceros.
I'll stay again and hope to this winter. If you're on the fence over Hotel Del or BV, you won't regret choosing BV.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the bit extra for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Beach Village. I am thrilled your time with us made a lasting impression. On your next visit, we invite you to enjoy a refreshed and improved Windsor Cottage. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

First thing at check in, they said they couldnt find our reservation. turned out our reservation was never put in their system after booking on their own website. Dont ever order anything from the late night menu unless you want to puke. We paid $800 a night for 3 nights and did not even have hot water in the room. called about a billion times no one did anything to resolve the issue. we left early. will never go back to this place. NEVER GO THERE.

Room Tip: all the rooms on beach village has their own water heater according to their staff, and they are abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I truly regret the difficulties you experienced during your recent stay. The team works tirelessly to deliver the exceptional Beach Village Experience we are known to provide. We completely fell short of our own high standards, but more importantly, we failed to exceed your expectations. We take tremendous pride in our guest service experience and deeply apologize if you left feeling anything but completely taken care of. While mechanical failures happen from time to time, it's how the team makes the extra effort to maintain your wonderful experience. I sincerely hope you will return my email and set up a time so that I can learn all I can and work to prevent another experience like yours. Please contact me directly whenever most convenient to you. Again, I apologize for your disappointment and sincerely hope that I may have the opportunity to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Village at The Del? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Village at The Del

Address: 1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Village at The Del 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive oceanfront enclave of one, two and three bedroom luxury cottages and villas within the iconic setting of the legendary Hotel del Coronado. Units feature spacious dining and living great rooms with cozy fireplaces, and gourmet kitchens. All guests receive amenities such as complimentary breakfast at the oceanfront Windsor Cottage, personal concierge service, upgraded in-room dining options and much more. With exceptional accommodations, unmatched amenities and genuine service, this island retreat reinvents the resort's timeless charm for the 21st century and takes the quintessential beach lifestyle to a new level of sophistication and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beach Village at The Del reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Village At The Del Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Village at The Del, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.