We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Condos at Beach Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Village at The Del

Save Saved
You added Beach Village at The Del to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beach Village at The Del
1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Condos at Beach Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The two bedroom condos at the Beach Village at Hotel Del are incredible. They give you the freedom to have your own food and alcohol and convenience of being with friends and not making elaborate time plans. Nice gas fireplace in each condo. Master bedroom has great view of the beach. Complimentary breakfast is great- scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fruits, juices, oatmeal, cereal, pastries, breads, smoked salmon and the most incredible pesto goat cheese. Dinner at the Winsor Court ( I believe that was the name of the Beach village dining area) was good but service too slow. Excellent wins selection though. You really never have to leave the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We were thrilled to read your review of our Cottages and Villas at Beach Village at The Del! Breakfast at Windsor Cottage is one or our favorite guest amenities. Beach Village guests enjoy a lovely breakfast in our oceanfront Windsor Cottage, but also guests can plan their daily activities with one of our friendly Host Concierge. When you return, we think you will be pleased with the improvements in the dinner service at Windsor Cottage as well. Thank you again for sharing your Beach Village Experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
28
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I'm awful at reviews, but this one is especially deserved. My stay at Beach Village was in April 2012. It was my first stay at BV, though I'd been staying at Hotel del Coronado for more than 20 years. My husband and I remember when BV was under construction and watched in delight the phases and remember being offered the opportunity to purchase, not that we could afford it.
So last year while planning an annual trip to the Del, I decided to give BV a try and now can't ever imagine staying in the hotel again.
While the Del maintains beautiful grounds, which BV guests are welcome to use, the private BV grounds are much lovelier.
I stayed in a second floor ocean view villa and didn't hear a peep, only the waves of the ocean. Each night I kept the doors open for the wonderful breezes and sound of the waves.
The room itself was so luxurious, yet beach casual. I don't know where to begin and the photos won't even do it justice, but perhaps they'll help someone in making a decision.
BV staff were wonderful!
As far as dining, I didn't find the Windsor lounge to be anything spectacular, except for the friendly and efficient service. In all of my years of staying (at the Del), I usually dine out, though Sheerwater is good and the Babcock and Story lounge is nice for drinks or a quick bite.
Restaurants I'd recommend in Coronado are Boathouse (dinner), Tent City, Tartine, or Rhinoceros.
I'll stay again and hope to this winter. If you're on the fence over Hotel Del or BV, you won't regret choosing BV.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the bit extra for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Beach Village. I am thrilled your time with us made a lasting impression. On your next visit, we invite you to enjoy a refreshed and improved Windsor Cottage. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

First thing at check in, they said they couldnt find our reservation. turned out our reservation was never put in their system after booking on their own website. Dont ever order anything from the late night menu unless you want to puke. We paid $800 a night for 3 nights and did not even have hot water in the room. called about a billion times no one did anything to resolve the issue. we left early. will never go back to this place. NEVER GO THERE.

Room Tip: all the rooms on beach village has their own water heater according to their staff, and they are abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I truly regret the difficulties you experienced during your recent stay. The team works tirelessly to deliver the exceptional Beach Village Experience we are known to provide. We completely fell short of our own high standards, but more importantly, we failed to exceed your expectations. We take tremendous pride in our guest service experience and deeply apologize if you left feeling anything but completely taken care of. While mechanical failures happen from time to time, it's how the team makes the extra effort to maintain your wonderful experience. I sincerely hope you will return my email and set up a time so that I can learn all I can and work to prevent another experience like yours. Please contact me directly whenever most convenient to you. Again, I apologize for your disappointment and sincerely hope that I may have the opportunity to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This resort is amazing! spectacular service the really makes you feel like a V.I.P. I would definetly stay here again but at beach village. Its a lot newer then the hotel which means better accommodations with out that old building smell. The grounds are very well maintained and the beach is beautiful. The service is very friendly and very accommodating. Coronado itself is a very nice place to be to. Trust me spend the money and stay here you wont regret it. The spa is also one of the best I've ever been to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family spent four nights here just after Labor Day. This is my second time staying at this hotel. We rented a 1 bdrm, full oceanfront cottage suite. Given a few of the mixed reviews on this website, I was a little nervous to spend this much money on a hotel. Fortunately, everything went very smooth and we were sad to leave. Our unit was on the ground floor, so it had a nice fire pit on the patio (we paid $100 extra per night to guarantee this). Some reviewers commented that the furniture was worn or uncomfortable; this was not the case in our unit; everything was in good shape and comfortable. One of our kids slept on the pullout couch and we requested a toddler bed for our younger child. We found the kitchen to be well appointed with everything we needed to cook most meals. In addition to the appliances listed in the room description, it also had a microwave. Breakfast was included and while the food was pretty good, it would have been nice if they had more variety from day to day. Housekeeping did a very good job; they serviced the room twice a day and made sure everything was cleaned up (which was great when it came to dirty dishes, etc.). The concierge staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful. My biggest complaint was that the level of knowledge about the resort and resort services from the concierge varied quite a bit from person to person. Being a 5 star resort, you expect a little bit more. Overall, it was a nice vacation and we are likely to return.

Room Tip: Oceanfront cottage is worth the extra cost. Call reservations to reserve a ground floor unit with f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Very good location and excellent service. Average rooms and suites. Partial ocean view is still very good. Mediocre, in quality and variety, continental breakfast.
Ground floor rooms are noisy when guests occupy the upper units. Hot tubs and pools close at 8pm.
Overall quality is not proportional to the rates.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stunning location . A 2 bedroom villa overlooking the ocean with a hot tub on the balcony,!! Perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by. The villa was huge with amazing bathrooms And a large kitchen . The cleaning service was excellent there was a shell left on the pillows each night which the kids loved . There were a number of private pools which we were often in on our own even in August . The service was second to none . The village was exclusive, the hotel itself was impressive but very busy. The local area is a wonderful family resort . There is some aeroplane noise from the local naval base but this just added to the excitement for my 2 boys who got out of the pool every time a jet flew past.. Would love to go back !,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Village at The Del? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Village at The Del

Also Known As:
Beach Village At The Del Hotel
Beach Village At The Del Hotel Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive oceanfront enclave of one, two and three bedroom luxury cottages and villas within the iconic setting of the legendary Hotel del Coronado. Units feature spacious dining and living great rooms with cozy fireplaces, and gourmet kitchens. All guests receive amenities such as complimentary breakfast at the oceanfront Windsor Cottage, personal concierge service, upgraded in-room dining options and much more. With exceptional accommodations, unmatched amenities and genuine service, this island retreat reinvents the resort's timeless charm for the 21st century and takes the quintessential beach lifestyle to a new level of sophistication and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Village at The Del reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Village at The Del, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.