We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Premium Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Village at The Del

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Village at The Del to your Saves list
Beach Village at The Del
1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Soak Up the Sun
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Premium Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I decided to take my wife to the Hotel Del for her birthday, which fell right after our 31st anniversary. Through some divine intervention, we were able to book the Beach Village at The Del. Staying at The Del was sort of a bucket list item for me and I surprised my wife with the trip as she did not know where we were going or staying when we left. When she found out, she was ecstatic.

No matter our level of anticipation, the experience itself far exceeded anything we could have imagined. I travel extensively in my business and stay in fine hotels all over the world. What I can say about The Villages and The Del is simply this: I have NEVER experienced the level of courtesy, hospitality and professionalism in a hotel/bar/restaurant staff as we did at The Del. The experience as to how we were treated as guests was incomparable. Everyone was friendly, diligent in responding to requests and thoroughly interested in our comfort and enjoyment as guests. The level of service is unparalleled by a factor of the "enth" degree.

The lodging, shopping, drinking and dining experience is unlike anything I have ever seen. I have never been anywhere where such a great group of folks work. If you ever have the chance to stay there, don't just take it, jump on it! You won't regret it. I can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Got one on the beach. While the privacy is less than interior rooms, sitting on the patio watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your time at Beach Village. We strive to create memorable experiences that mirror yours for all of our visitors. We particularly love when guests choose Beach Village to celebrate special occasions because it gives us the opportunity to celebrate with you. We look forward to welcoming you back to share many more birthdays, anniversaries and holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    21
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
53
39
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had stayed at the Beach Villas here at the Hotel Del Coronado! Just loved the private villa at the coast! Easy access to the beach walk, private pool or jacuzzi. The view so spectacular and the morning brunch at the private entrance with no waiting. It was a wonderful pampered experience for my fiance' and I. We will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
It was a pleasure having you with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beach Village, We've stayed at the Beach Village several times now and continue to return. The property and amenities are very nice - mostly. If you get a room your not happy with they will do everything they can to move you. Some of the rooms - third floor are tired - carpet and furniture. The second floor is our favorite - the furniture seems a little newer and the balcony has an over hang to shield you a bit from the sun. The breakfast is very nice and filling - over all the staff is very accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for returning to Beach Village. The Beach Village team works tirelessly to maintain firstclass accommodations and genuine services that appeal to our influential travelers. We commit to this standard regardless of the property's age. By mid-fall 2013, all guest rooms and suites will be refreshed wiping away any sign of the harsh oceanfront climate. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in the Beach Villas at the Del for three days in October of 2012. It was one of my bucket list hotels. I was so excited as we walked through the lobby and shops and visited the pool and terrace area. My excitement flattened as we walked into our room. How ordinary. And to think we paid such a high price.

The view was spectacular. The amenities were awesome. The room was commonplace. The food was disappointing. Go somewhere else to eat. Stay somewhere else to sleep. The view from the beach is free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your perspective with the TripAdvisor community. Although we believe our oceanfront cottages and villas provide a quaint mix of beachy comfort with high-end finishes and features, we concede that travelers' opinions can vary. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to share the Beach Village Experience and hope you were able to capture serveral special memorable moments. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We rented one of the villas. it was a 3 bedroom villa and very luxurious. I went with family and we had the best time of our lives. Hung out in the room. The room came equipped with two balconies over seeing the entire ocean. Great place for families and couples. Pools were clean and great part was it wasnt too crowded. Restuarants around the area are expensive, especially if you eat on the resort. the only cheap fast food is a dominos pizza. Make sure to make a reservation at the restuarants because they do get filled up and it is almost impossible to get in without one. Especially on a holiday weekend. They even have an adult only pool which was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My sister and I booked the beach cottages as quick girls get away. We loved it! The beach cottages are 5+ star quality with truly uncompromised luxury. The concierge treatment and the exclusive buffet breakfast at the Windsor Club is wonderful beachside treat! The beds are super comfortable. The spa and salon are fantastic - the girls who worked there made our "Some Like it Hot" package really fun. I just love the Del. This is probably my fifth time staying and it is incredible every time. Sometimes we book a suite in the main building of the Del but booking one of the beach side Beach Villages is my favorite!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We rented a 2 bedroom loft unit with patio "hot tub" and the suite had the following issues: couch cushions were dirty and stained, living room carpet was stained, living room coffee table had "mucus" on it, hardwood floors were badly scratched and worn, kitchen glass was badly scratched, hallway paint was worn and marked.

We love the location of the Dell, but for the money would strongly recommend travellers save the money and stay at 1906, Marriott, Glorietta Bay Inn or Hyatt downtown for considerably less money and walk across to beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take great pride in delivering first-class guest accommodations and deeply regret you found your villa to be substandard. After learning of your dissatisfaction, the Beach Village team made several attempts to resolve the identified issues. We greatly appreciated the opportunity to work through your concerns while providing appropriate reparations for your inconvenience. Our sole intent was to enhance your experience so that your family could fully enjoy your nine-night stay. We were as disappointed as you that no resolution was satisfactory, and your family departed after the first night. We hope you enjoyed your remaining time in the San Diego area. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. Please contact me if I can further assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Village at The Del? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Village at The Del

Address: 1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
#11 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive oceanfront enclave of one, two and three bedroom luxury cottages and villas within the iconic setting of the legendary Hotel del Coronado. Units feature spacious dining and living great rooms with cozy fireplaces, and gourmet kitchens. All guests receive amenities such as complimentary breakfast at the oceanfront Windsor Cottage, personal concierge service, upgraded in-room dining options and much more. With exceptional accommodations, unmatched amenities and genuine service, this island retreat reinvents the resort's timeless charm for the 21st century and takes the quintessential beach lifestyle to a new level of sophistication and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Village at The Del reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Village At The Del Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Village at The Del, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.