We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Village at The Del

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Village at The Del to your Saves list
Beach Village at The Del
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Private Summer Escape
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Coronado
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Beach Villas at The Del, Coronado in July 2012 for 4 days.
We're going back in July 2013.

not one for going back to the same hotel - simply because its never quite as good as the 1st time.
that said, we really enjoyed the place, the whole trip was excellent. Staff were attentive and very friendly - they couldn't do more for you if they tried!

Room Tip: we took a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment. great views and amazing sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    24
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
66
41
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Beach Village at the Del is the more upscale, modern and luxurious section of the Hotel del Coronado. I booked at the Beach Village after looking online at the rather ordinary and small rooms and suites in the main historic building. This is to be forgiven as most historic hotels have very small rooms and suites.

We had a ground floor Beach Village "cottage" directly on the beachfront (separated by a walking path and fence) for approximately $1,500 per night. I have no problem spending $1,500 per night if the room is flawless and has the commiserate service to create value for money spent. Unfortunately in the case of the Beach Village it simply didn't deliver.

The good to bad:

1.) Location is superb if you're looking for an urban beach holiday. Excellent beachfront location in a very pleasant part of San Diego. As a tourist it was wonderful but I wouldn't choose it for business unless the meeting was at the Del.

2.) Our beachfront cottage was bright and sunny but not spacious. The small bedroom was separated from the living room by sliding pocket doors. The living room / dining room were together and very cramped. The sofa and furniture were truly horrible; there wasn't a comfortable chair to sit on in the entire cottage! For $1,500 per night I expect good quality and comfortable furniture!

The only decent chairs were the chaise lounges on the patio. The patio was wonderful with a fire pit. However the ground floor beachfront cottages are not private. Thousands of pedestrians are passing by on the walking path at all hours and many were gawkers. There was NO privacy.

The cottage did not have a work desk which was very irritating. Overall the cottage is far TOO SMALL and not well appointed enough to justify the $1,500 nightly price tag.

3.) Housekeeping was mediocre. The room was very dusty but after making a call they quickly rectified the problems and gave the room a deep clean. However I expect the room to be impeccably cleaned prior to my check-in, not afterwards.

4.) Pool area is separate at the Beach Village. It was pleasant but nothing exceptional. However it was much more peaceful and less crowded than the main Hotel Del pool. Drinks service was quick with friendly servers.

5.) Valet and bell service at the Beach Village were 5 star top quality. Quick, efficient and very friendly.

6.) Dining was horrible. We had a very poor dinner at the historic cottage which also serves as the reception for the Beach Village. Mediocre food and slow service. Understaffing was evident.

7.) The breakfast buffet at the main Hotel Del was a joke. Very long waits and guests being given PAGERS for a breakfast buffet!! And all of this while entire sections of the buffet dining room were closed off due to inadequate staffing levels. When asked why empty tables weren't being seated the hostess blatantly lied and said "there are reservations for those tables".

Excuse me? Reservations for a breakfast buffet? I was there for two hours and never noticed the supposed reservations showing up and occupying those tables. Nor did I see staff to attend the section.

In summary I would never return to the Beach Village at the Del nor the Hotel Del Coronado. There are better places to splurge.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Ideal for a romantic getaway or to relax and unwind on your own. Most memorable moment: morning yoga on the beach. The beach villas are pricey but wel worth the money. The grounds a re pristine and the food is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

pro
- beautiful location right on the beach (we had a cottage guestroom in the first row)
- luxurious guestroom
- big balcony with comfy chairs
- several nicely designed pools right on the beach
- friendly guys at the valet parking (we found they offered the best staff service and were the most friendly)

cons
-service inconsistent (forgot to call uns when room was ready, we waited for 2 hours)
- breakfast is buffet and casual style, but we felt like in a low key self service restaurant (plastic mug for tea).
- windsor cottage is a rather shabby building, chairs are worn out and dirty from the birds. Birds are a big problem (many are around during breakfast)
- staff were having fun together rather than serve you for breakfast, we did not feel welcome
- breakfast selection was ok, but nothing special (espresso costs extra, coffee from the big can was awful)
- dinner at sheerwater (hotel del) was the worst dinner we had during our 3 weeks in the states. The food, the wine, the service, everything was disappointing.
- public space at the beach bar at the del again was low key with sparkling wine in plastic cup, food is self service and delivered on a plastic tray
- room service was inconsistent, sometimes items not replaced, sometimes not cleaned...
- no real privacy on the room balcony (only separated by a small, low wooden "door"

Considering the price for the room, the service, place, food etc. should be top notch. This place is not worth the price at all.
This is a hotel that wants to be 5 stars, but misses for food, service and quality. Would come here for a day trip but not to stay here again.

Room Tip: front row on the beach, corner room (more privacy), upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Del many times over the years, but never the Beach Village. We will only stay there from now on, from the moment we arrived, we were treated with such attentiveness! Maria came to get us, the valet parked our car, she showed us around, our room was a junior suite right on the ocean, and we never left the property for 5 days. It was also USD parent weekend, and our son came to stay with us overnight. Room service will remember us as the white cheddar burger family, but for kids who eat cafeteria food all month, the resort and it's amenities were great for him too! The Windsor cottage breakfast staff is wonderful, the are so friendly, and the food is great. We do s'mores on the beach and sheer water, moo time has
excellent gelato. Pricey, expect a large bill at check out, but so worth it compared to other pricey resorts we have been to, you get more than what you paid for.

Room Tip: Ocean front junior suite was roomy, we had 1209
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
259 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Every time we come to San Diego we always stay in Coronado because of the beach. Staying at the beach villas you can't do better for location. The views are magnificent. The villas are beautiful and well equipped but some funny design faults. We had the middle suite with a full kitchen but the closet space is no bigger than a small coat closet. No place to store luggage after you unpack so you have to see it your whole stay. A huge safe takes space in the closet so your dresses cannot hang properly. The rooms are very expensive but I did not get what I ordered or was promised. I asked for a downstairs suite with the fire pit lit each night but when I got there I was put on the upstairs and was told I did not pay for the fire pit. They went to check the notes in my reservation and saw that I had ordered this but they said they could not accommodate me as they were full. They offered to give us a fire on the beach for one night of our stay. I did not think this was good enough. They should of offered the fire pit for free on our next stay or given us some free services or a discount off the room.

Please do not get me wrong. This is a beautiful place. However, when you pay $1400.00 a night for a room you expect to get what you ordered. Checking in just left a bad taste in my mouth.

Making reservations are a bit screwed up because I tried to also book 6 rooms in January and I was told they were completely sold out. Stephanie from concierge called me to see if I would like to make some reservations for dinner and I asked her to check for January to see if any rooms had opened up and they were completely wide open. Stephanie was able to get a entire villa for us and also arranged for a private chef for one night to do a clambake on the beach for us. Stephanie was fantastic but I learned to book directly with Beach Villas and not the hotel.

You cannot beat the location and view but disappointed in service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My best friend and I had a girl's getaway here. Coronado is our hometown and we KNOW the Hotel Del in and out. The Beach Village is the most wonderful place. We had a 3 BR condo with kitchen and everything you can imagine. On our giant patio were 2 soaking tubs and a fire pit. We looked right out onto the beach and could watch all the action on the boardwalk and beach. Great sunsets and sunrises of course. The service and amenities are world class. Breakfast was in the cottage next door each morning with many yummy choices. Eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, breakfast rolls, toast, bagels etc. Coffee and juices too of course. We relaxed, ordered room service, had some spa services, relaxed some more, shopped. The Beach Village is by far THE nicest place in The Hotel Del. You pay for it, but some things are just worth it!

Room Tip: At The Beach Village there is no bad location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 18 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 18 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Village at The Del? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Village at The Del

Address: 1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#10 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Village at The Del 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive oceanfront enclave of one, two and three bedroom luxury cottages and villas within the iconic setting of the legendary Hotel del Coronado. Units feature spacious dining and living great rooms with cozy fireplaces, and gourmet kitchens. All guests receive amenities such as complimentary breakfast at the oceanfront Windsor Cottage, personal concierge service, upgraded in-room dining options and much more. With exceptional accommodations, unmatched amenities and genuine service, this island retreat reinvents the resort's timeless charm for the 21st century and takes the quintessential beach lifestyle to a new level of sophistication and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Village at The Del reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Village At The Del Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Village at The Del, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.