We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Village at The Del

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Village at The Del to your Saves list
Beach Village at The Del
1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the Beach Village at the Del on a cross-country trip in November 2010. We had originally made reservations to stay in the old lodge and I was really excited about staying in the "old part" of the hotel, so I was a little uncertain when we were told that we'd been "upgraded" and were asked to stand off to the side and wait for our own personal guide to show us to our room. As we wound through the property, away from the main lodge, we got a great tour of all of the facilities at the resort.
Our villa was amazing! It was a 2 story unit with a hot tub off the bedroom on the second floor balcony. We had a full ocean view from that balcony as well. It was gorgeous! We were also happy to have a full kitchen and living/dining area since we'd been staying in various hotel rooms across the country and missed the space of a real house. Everything in the villa was top-notch - the linens, bath products, kitchen appliances, etc. It was lovely. The only part that caught us off-guard was that the Del had added a $200 surcharge to our room fee. I caught it and pointed out that they had decided to upgrade us, it was not our choice to move from the main building to the beach village, and they removed the charge immediately. I'm not exactly sure what that was about, but I was glad that it was taken care of.
We had a lovely 3 day stay at the Beach Village. We walked into town and enjoyed many of the restaurants and shops. We walked along the beach and used the fitness center in the mornings to workout. The staff was so helpful and friendly in all areas of the resort. We loved the shops in the hotel and the bar there as well. It was a great stay. We will return next time we are in that area and will most likely choose the Beach Village now that we have been spoiled with that level of accommodation!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your upgraded accommodations in our Villa Coast Suite. Thank you for your patience when you first learned of the "upgrade" - it appears it was worth the short time delay. "The Del" does everything possible to uphold our commitment to confirmed reservations; however when a chance sell out happens, Beach Village presents a pretty fair consolation. I am thrilled you will be coming back someday, hopefully soon. I regret our billing system erroneously charged your folio, but thank you for bringing it to our attention. Also, thank you for your kind words about the hard working and dedicated staff on property. I will be sure they read your review. We all appreciate you sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    21
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
53
38
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the beach village at the Del in the Horizon Cottage. When we arrived, the conciere escorted us to our room and checked us in. No wait at the check in desk and this was a nice touch. Our room was beautiful with a direct view of the Pacific Ocean. The master bathroom was spacious and the master bed very comfortable. We also has a hot tub in the deck and 2 fireplaces! The room had a full kitchen and we stocked it with a trip to the local grocery. They have very nice touches here like asking when you want the room cleaned and what time is appropriate for turndown. We were never once disturbed by the staff. The room was very clean. The village has a special club area called the cottage where drinks are
served near open firepits and on the beach. Karen was our friendly server who remembered our names and preferred drinks from the get go. Gabe the conciere did a fantastic job helping us with arrangements and Don the shuttle driver was great! Coronado itself is a beautiful, clean little berg. The whole town is alive with runners, surfers, beachgoers, etc. Try the breakfast at the Rhinocerous Cafe or the Mexican food at Miguels. During the day I would highly recommend the sailing/whale watching excursion with Mike at Sail San Diego (Gabe can arrange). Also a hike in Torrey Pines is a must! Very beautiful and appropriate for all ages. Finally drinks on the upper deck of George's in La Jolla is a great way to spend an afternoon. Very few negatives on this trip - but as you can imagine it's not cheap. My wife and I highly recommend the Del and San Diego!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Beach Village is a tremendous place to stay. The staff is always very friendly and attentive. You can ask the staff anything and they can always get you tickets to practically anything in San Diego so no having to wait in the ticket lines. We stayed in a lower level Cottage with the fire pit and it was perfect. Even though it was winter it was unseasonably warm making it easy to sit outside at night with the fire going and just enjoy the sunset. You are literally right on the beach, you step out the gate and two feet away is the sand. The location could not be any better either, there are tons of little shops and restaurants serving anything you want. Coronado is a great place to be near San Diego but be more laid back. The room service menu is amazing too, plenty of selection and 24 hours This is truly our go to place in San Diego.

Room Tip: Personally we prefer a lower level cottage with the fire pit. You are very close to a path though s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing Beach Village. January's weather was certainly incredible and to enjoy it at a beachfront firepit must have been magical. As you mentioned, our ocean front cottages are truly steps from the sand and it is great you enjoyed the location. Many guests also enjoy the privacy provided by our 1 & 2-bedroom Villa product where the ocean views are truly spectacular. Our staff takes great pride welcoming our guests as we would our own family. I appreciate your comments about the team, and I will make sure we share your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent a week at the Beach Village in mid-December as part of an extended business trip to San Diego. Our six year old daughter was in heaven. A heated pool right outside of our room, great views of the ocean from our living room and balcony, ice skating in front of the Del Coronado Hotel. All of the history and beauty of the famous Del Coronado Hotel combinned with a private refuge in the Beach Club from crowds of sight seeers. Sitting in front of the gas fire pits at the Windsor Lodge and watching the sun go down was delightful. The staff were wonderful and took great care of us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Your comments perfectly describe our approach to every guest experience and we are thrilled your experience was "first class." Please think of us when your travels bring you back to the San Diego area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

Beach villas are incredible. Perfect for relaxation and families. I loved the choice between pools, the cute balcony and the switch operated bedroom fireplace. Housekeeping and turn down were timely, never intrusive. Would love to go back and bring the extended family!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

Fantastic location, great staff, superb room...faultless.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
May we return a Wow! and thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed what we consider as the "perfect Beach Village experience!" We take great pride in delivering exceptional accommodations in our worldclass location on Coronado Beach. To capture your heart, we layer in a casual luxury and genuine services from a staff that works day and night to ensure it all happens effortlessly. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to repeat this experience time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

My family stayed here for a couple of days to celebrate our son's birthday. First huge perk for a family with small children, NO CHECKING IN :) We were immediately greeted and shown to our room. The hotel brought beach buckets for our toddlers so they could start their adventure right away. We were in the smallest room they offer but it was still big enough for a family of four. I'm very particular about my linens and always bring my own sheet and pillow. I didn't need them at this hotel. The sheets were very soft and the pillows were fluffy. The bathroom was huge and gorgeous. Our balcony had a view of the main pool and a partial ocean view. The view and location are worth the price of admission. The free breakfast and dinner was nice. The fresh cinnamon rolls were tasty. We took our food back to our room and ate on our balcony.
A few small complaints are necessary. The room needed to be vacuumed. I don't mean a quick once over, I mean move some furniture and use the edge tool. I found long blond hairs all over the carpet next to the balcony door.
Another problem, no potatoes at the free breakfast buffet, try explaining that to a two year old.
Overall, the experience was wonderful. The most important thing was that my kids had a great time on the beach and we will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Beach Village at The Del, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent Beach Village experience. Our accommodations and location make Beach Village ideal for families. We take great pride in catering to our Beach Village Kids and making The Del a magical place year after year. It was great to hear how you and your family enjoyed many of our amenities and services. On your next visit, I assure you that you will not experience the same housekeeping concerns. We treat all guest feedback as a gift, and thank you for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming your entire family back next year!

Insider TIP: Be sure to mention your desire for breakfast potatoes at Windsor Cottage and we will ensure that potatoes are an option for your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Village at The Del? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Village at The Del

Address: 1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive oceanfront enclave of one, two and three bedroom luxury cottages and villas within the iconic setting of the legendary Hotel del Coronado. Units feature spacious dining and living great rooms with cozy fireplaces, and gourmet kitchens. All guests receive amenities such as complimentary breakfast at the oceanfront Windsor Cottage, personal concierge service, upgraded in-room dining options and much more. With exceptional accommodations, unmatched amenities and genuine service, this island retreat reinvents the resort's timeless charm for the 21st century and takes the quintessential beach lifestyle to a new level of sophistication and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Village at The Del reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Village At The Del Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Village at The Del, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.