We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint smaller place to stay with great beach and restaurant access along Orange Avenue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
El Cordova Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint smaller place to stay with great beach and restaurant access along Orange Avenue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nites after the Memorial weekend and had a great time due to the location that allowed us to go to the beach and nearby restaurants without needing to drive.

Our room was upstairs and a 2 bedroom (bathroom with the master room, and there were 2 beds in the second room along with a 2nd bathroom. In addition there was a kitchen and small living area.

Note that there is no parking on the property, but we were able to do so on the surface streets nearby with some good guidance from the staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the busy and lively Mexican restaurant (which is very good)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
It is always fantastic for us to hear about a guest taking advantage of our ideal location! Thank you for your compliments of our staff and grounds. It was our pleasure to host your family during your summer vacation. We look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    143
    46
    16
    20
See reviews for
130
117
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Can't bet the location! Right across the street from 'the Del' and easy walking distance to beautiful beaches. Beautiful Spanish courtyard. We were able to check in early and it was much appreciated after a 6 hour drive from Arizona. From the front check in clerk, to maintenance personnel and maid service we were always greeted nicely. We were put in room 119, which is in the back area away from the courtyard and pool area. This room location was very quiet as we heard no noise from the pool area or the outside dining area at Miguel's restaurant that is in the common courtyard area. Having no on site parking was a bit odd but there are plenty of meters around the hotel and places to park in the residential areas. We will stay at El Cordova the next time we plan a vacation to Coronado Island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of El Cordova Hotel! We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of our grounds, our location near the local beaches, and enjoy a relaxing vacation. Thank you for highlighting some of the parking options we have available to our guests. We hope that between metered, residential, and private parking all of our guests will be able to enjoy easy accessibility to our hotel. We would love the opportunity to host your family in the future. Please reach out to us for the best available rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I cannot say enough about the price, quality and location of the hotel. We had a wonderful stay in a very charming suite. The Del is right across the street with excellent beach access. Many great restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Breakfast is essentially cold cereal, donuts and pastries, but they give you a coupon for a discount at other breakfast eateries in the area. Parking is somewhat difficult because you must find your own space on the street. Because an alley to several restaurants is right behind the hotel, the mornings can be somewhat noisy. We did not hear any nightly noise from the restaurants and bars in close proximity to hotel. The positives far outweigh any negatives and we plan to stay here each time we visit Coronado, which is about twice a year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level are larger and more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of El Cordova Hotel! Coronado Island parking is limited; however our guest services staff is more than happy to direct our guests to the best available options. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at El Cordova Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a room that did not have much noise from the places below (we were upstairs in a two room suite with a small kitchen, 2 bedrooms, and a living space. Love the proximity to the ocean and the shops along Orange. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask about location relative to the Mexican restaurant as it could be noisy later in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanDonison, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. The beach being just a short walk away is quite a luxury here in Coronado that's definitely hard to beat and our centralized location along Orange Avenue is very convenient for all the great local shops and dining.

We look forward to your next stay with us here in the Crown City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Here's the good:

The El Cordova has some charm in it's design and the early 20th Century building it occupies. There are several restaurants in or adjacent to the property, and most conveniently, the Del Coronado (and it's beach access) is directly across the street.

Here's the not-so-good:

Miguel's (Mexican Cuisine) which is located on the property, is average at best. More importantly, you'll read several critical reviews of the rooms that are next to, or above the restaurant. I can see why people complained and I would recommend that you verify which room you'll be in before you arrive.

The continental breakfast could use some work as well. The spread is a mix of out of the box doughnuts, pastries, cereal and (sometimes) apples & bananas. I would not recommend paying any extra for this, you'll be better off getting some breakfast foods at the VONS down the street and keeping it in your room if you want to save some money.

Although some have taken great issue with the lack of parking, I'll admit that its inconvenient, but not a deal killer. Just be aware that you'll have to park temporarily in front of the hotel and then move your car on to one of the neighborhood streets next to the property. We always found a place to park and you won't have to pay if you're two blocks over (everything next to the property is metered).

Here's the bad:

Several hours after checking out and while still on Coronado, we realized that my daughter's iPad had been left on the bed in our room. We contacted the hotel immediately and was told that nothing had been turned in by housekeeping. We went back to the hotel where the girl working the desk was very helpful and took me back to the room, which had been cleaned but NOT occupied by another guest. We double checked the room and verified that the iPad had been removed and that the room was secure prior to and after house keeping cleaned it.

The following day I had a less than helpful contact with another employee, when I called to double check and speak with a manager. I eventually received a call from the General Manager who genuinely seemed concerned and had done some research on his part (prior to his call) to verify if the device was still on the property and who had cleaned the room. I appreciated the effort, but kind words are little conciliation after having a $400 iPad stolen by someone who works at the hotel you just stayed in.

Ultimately, we left the El Cordova with an apology and a bad taste in our mouths (so to speak) about our experience. As of this review, the person who committed the theft is probably still employed there. This is a perfect example of one person who represents the hotel, changing what would've been a mostly positive four star rating, to three with concerns ( and a warning) about the security of belongings to other guests. To be clear, I kept the average rating (in spite of our experience) because of the other employees and the General Manager who assisted us.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above or next to the restaurant. If your room faces the alley, keep your windows closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Overall a great value for Coronado Island. Older and has fairly bad sound proofing, but overall a nice place. Room was clean, service was great, location is almost perfect. Breakfast was included but fairly limited. The Mexican restaurant in the hotel was great though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanDonison, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I'm glad to hear you found the charm in our hotel. We are an older building but keeping it updated and fresh is always a top priority of ours.

We hope to see you again should you decide to visit us or Miguel's Cocina in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Lots of places to visit very close by - great restaurants on site and within walking distance. Room was very clean and near the courtyard, and they are remodeling other rooms to improve them. We ate several times in two of the connecting restaurants and had good meals each time. We will go there again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanDonison, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. When you visit us next year we hope you'll stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cordova Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.