We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How have we missed this all these years?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Coronado
San Diego, California
1 review
“How have we missed this all these years?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for my 50th birthday in one of the one bedroom suites with a kitchen and balcony the overlooked the inside patio. We loved the decor and the apartment feel to the room. The location is unbeatable and the ambiance romantic. We felt like we were in old world Europe. We will definitely be back and potentially to use the grand salon for a formal event.

As others have stated there are two drawbacks- one is the lack of daytime parking (metered between 8am and 6pm. The other was the noise- we were right above the kitchen and pantry of the restaurant downstairs, and early the next morning they were steam cleaning the floors well before 8am. That said, its not any noisier than hotels in Europe in a commercial district and we were not put off and will definitely return and stay in the same room.

The staff and manager were absolutely wonderful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are likely quieter and more accessible as the upper flors don't have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    129
    45
    15
    20
See reviews for
121
99
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel and its quaintness. It was nice to stay somewhere that was different from a regular hotel. The only down side was the available parking, it was either meter or in a neighborhood & having to move the car by 8am

Room Tip: Try to get the one bedroom suite it has more room plus a small kitchen and fridge. Ask for loer leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is right across the street from Hotel Del Coronado and a few minutes walk from the beach. There are restaurants and little shops all around the hotel and it's within walking distance of almost anything you need. The rooms are cute and comfortable, have the charm of a bed and breakfast. The little courtyard was adorable. It has the feel of a little village. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Coronado without spending a lot of money. Would definitely definitely go back!

Room Tip: I was in room 115, which was near the back exit to the main street and very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

While the location is perfect and the exterior charming the rooms are like a cheap motel. Decor is pretty bad and quality is poor. Old yucky smell in the room as well. The maids were very loud at 8am in the morning.....talking and banging. Trash and vacuum were just sitting by our door.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street are very loud. It is a busy intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I would first like to apologize for the described experience during your stay. We take great pride in our rooms and décor so that we may deliver an authentic Spanish experience for our guests. We are also always upgrading and renovating the rooms to continue our theme. I agree that there should not be trash left in front of any guest room. I will redouble my efforts and work with the Housekeeping Department to ensure that all rooms are thoroughly cleaned and deliver a fresh feeling to all guests.

The guest experience is very important to us. We will use your feedback in order to improve our operations and services. I hope that you will think of us again should you choose to stay in Coronado in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a very nice stay! The room was perfectly accommodating and very comfortable. We like the feel of the hotel with it's businesses and restaurants intermingled. We were a little worried that the noise (joyful sounds) from the Mexican restaurant were going to be a problem; but it didn't effect us in the least. Overall it was a great experience and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I had a single room with a queen bed. The air conditioner worked well. The room seemed a little small, and there weren't many places to hang up clothes or towels to dry. Also, it was hard to get the shower temperature to stop fluctuating. So much for the downside. On the upside, the staff was VERY friendly and helpful. They have a very nice breakfast outside starting around 7 AM, and there is also a coffee maker in the room. Also an ironing board and iron in the room as well as a flat screen TV. We enjoyed the decor, with nice colors and painted ceramic tiles in the bathroom with a nice southern flair. Check in and check out was flawless. They even printed out our plane tickets for us. The attached restaurant, Michaels?, had excellent Mexican food, and there were many other restaurants in the area also. Overall, I would strongly recommend this hotel for your trip. The minuses, as above, were not that significant. We loved our trip to Coronado Island. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: I don't know. They have a nice pool there, and a hot tub outside as well. We didn't use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We loved staying at El Cordova! It was a nice change of pace from the sterile environment of chain hotels. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They were great with giving travel plans or just visiting with us. The location is perfect being right across the street from the beach. We rented beach chairs from Little Sam's which is on the El Cordova property and carried them to the beach and just relaxed. We also experienced an air show from the Naval Air Station as they practiced their touch and goes daily. What a deal! Then there's Miguels. 20 steps out our door to awesome Maragaritas and chips and salsa. Great food and great people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
#10 Business Hotel in Coronado
#11 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cordova Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.