We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toes in the Sand!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
El Cordova Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
“Toes in the Sand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We loved staying at El Cordova! It was a nice change of pace from the sterile environment of chain hotels. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They were great with giving travel plans or just visiting with us. The location is perfect being right across the street from the beach. We rented beach chairs from Little Sam's which is on the El Cordova property and carried them to the beach and just relaxed. We also experienced an air show from the Naval Air Station as they practiced their touch and goes daily. What a deal! Then there's Miguels. 20 steps out our door to awesome Maragaritas and chips and salsa. Great food and great people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    145
    47
    16
    20
See reviews for
132
119
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I enjoyed our stay at El Cordova very much! I couldn't have asked for better service - from the employees who checked us in at the front desk, to the fun & knowledgeable gentleman at the complimentary breakfast, the housekeepers, the employees at Miguels, etc!! Everyone was friendly, kind, and helpful! Loved having the voucher for $4.00 off the crepes next door - they are the best crepes ever!! Went to Miguel's each evening for chips, salsa, and excellent white cheese sauce and the shaken margaritas..The hotel is in a perfect location - can walk to the beach, shopping, many restaurants, etc. We had reserved 5 rooms and we were all happy with our stay. Enjoyed having the kitchen and refrigerator for snacks and drinks. The beds were very comfortable and we all got a good nights sleep each evening. The only con was the parking but the pros outweighed this one con. I would definately stay here again!! Thanks to all of your staff for our wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights 9/23-9/25/2013. We loved the place, it's not our modern hotels, but it has many pros that outweigh the cons. As we checked in we had a plumbing problem in our room, but the staff immediately changed us o another room, which was very large spacious, and great Spanish style decor. The pool/ hot tub were nice. Breakfast was served in the courtyard , which was very relaxing, area is surrounded by beautiful flowering shrubs, beautiful rustic tile, and the staff serving the breakfast was magnificent, very friendly and courteous, his name was Bass, my round of applause to Bass, thanks for your great service.

The hotel is walking distance to the beach, and is surrounded by many little shops for your shopping convenience. There is a restaurant located within the hotel, restaurant is Miguel's Cocina, food was awesome, authentic Mexican food, and staff was wonderful.

The staff was wonderful, I want to thank Cristina, front desk staff, she was awesome, helpful, went out of her way to help. Management please reward these employees they make your places joy to stay and return again. Will come back and stay there next time.

The only problem there is the parking, you have to park in the street, or use the parking meters which you have to feed them or you will get a parking ticket, which we did, where I come from we feed the meter enough for all day, there it's only max 2 hours, however the pros outweighed the cons, enjoyed our stay!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a great time and that you were able to enjoy all of the shops and restaurants. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the entire staff.

I also wanted you to know that we are aggressively working to secure a new deal with the parking garage across the street. We understand that during peak times, parking can sometimes be challenging. I hope to have an agreement in place in the near future.

Once again thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I enjoyed my stay this September. My flight brought me in earlier than expected and they were awesome at letting me store my stuff while they had someone quickly clean the room allowing for an early check in. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The Hotel has a great view and just a short walk away from the beach and the Hotel Del Coronado. When I return to Coronado I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay at El Cordova. Great location. Miguel's restaurant was excellent. Had to take home their recipes for margaritas and cheese dip. Fabrizon's for cappuccino and croissants was also excellent. Hot tub was actually hot and jets were powerful, pool was clean and refreshing. Continental breakfast at hotel was also enjoyable with a super friendly and accommodating caterer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

El Cordova made for an enjoyable place to hang our hats for a wedding at the Hotel Del Coronado, which is directly across the street.

We had a suite, and the rooms were surprisingly big. The kitchenette had everything we needed, and there were tons of closets and dresser space which would be wonderful for someone staying a longer time in the area.

The building is really cool looking -- obviously quite old and therefore we accepted some of the differences that come with a more "historic" building. There were a few steps even to get into first floor rooms, which made it just a bit tricky getting the stroller in, but we managed... also, the plumbing may need some upgrading (shower temp varied a bit). But the place seems well-built, and funky Spanish tile is everywhere.

The pool, right in the courtyard, just outside our room, was deep and just the right temp to cool off. The hot tub was nice & warm with powerful jets, a good way to release the tension and help me unwind.

We loved the very close access to the beach, as well as all the cool shops and restaurants that this part of Coronado has to offer. We really enjoyed the Mexican restaurant (Miguel's) that is right inside the hotel complex, too -- and ate there twice over the long weekend. Great margaritas, very good food, and friendly service.

Would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay close to the action but not completely break the bank.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very cute and quaint property. The rooms were nice and great location. The biggest downfall was no parking available on site. Another improvement i would suggest is to improve the continental breakfast....more choices and get rid of the costco fo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cordova Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.