We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Rooms are a little outdated but VERY clean. Small bathroom. Cute funky little hotel in a great location. The Casa Grande Suite is amazing! The courtyard is very nice for gathering together with family & friends.

Room Tip: away from the restaurant and courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    129
    45
    15
    20
See reviews for
121
101
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We got married last week on the beach and staying here was awesome. Loved how it is just like an old spanish compound. The flowers were beautiful and the breakfast in the morning was great. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The room was neatly tucked in the corner of the property, quiet and clean. Staff was accommodating, and we can't to come back. The property is also near all of our favorite restaurant spots, and it is an easy walk to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denair, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Coronado and San Diego. We stayed there for a week from May 25 through June 1st. Check in was easy. The girl who checked us in showed us where to go because the layout can be intimidating at first.
Room was nice and clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Two adults and two kids (3 and 6). They had everything we needed to sit down and eat in the room.
We ate breakfast in the courtyard about 5 of the days. They had a selections of a few different cereals, pastries, doughnuts, tiny eclairs, croissants, milk, orange juice, and the guy working the courtyard. I believe his name was Bass. He was an awesome guy that really livened up the morning. The kids loved eating outside with the birds next to the fountain. They also have free tea and coffee in the lobby 24 hours for guests.
Yes, they were doing some construction/ renovation. It didn't bother us. We were gone most of the time anyway at Sea World or the beach. When we were there we hung out in the pool for a day. The kids really enjoyed it. They were a little too scared to get in the water at the beach because they thought they were going to be eaten by a shark. Hot tub was nice too.
The location was great! Walking distance to all the restaurants and stores.
Overall, we will definitely be back to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am really glad to know that you spent your first trip to San Diego with us. As you have seen, we offer a unique experience to guests visiting Coronado. Also, many of our guests seem to love our new breakfast layout. Plus, we are looking to expand the breakfast options soon.

I would like to apologize for the renovation at Miguel’s. I have spoken with their ownership and the project is expected to be completed by next week. So next time that you visit us, I recommend trying their famous chips and salsa (and maybe a margarita). The new Miguel’s will be better than ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I recently stayed for a long weekend while visiting my son, stationed on Coronado. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. I appreciated having the small coffee maker in the room and was delighted that the windows opened! The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful and the couple who caters the continental breakfast were charming, friendly and efficient. My only suggestions would be: put a full length mirror in the room and offer a protein (maybe hard boiled eggs?) at the breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The El Cardova is a nice place to stay in Coronado- it's nothing fancy, the beds are OK, nowhere near as nice as the surrounding hotels in the area, but it's a nice value for what you're paying for. But honestly- what (who) really stood out was Bass, the guy tending the breakfast buffet- he was OVER THE TOP nice, and so pleasant- he made me smile, which was hard to do since I was hurting from a wedding the night before. Thanks Bass for such a welcoming morning breakfast!

Room Tip: If you're just staying for the night and need a place to sleep- the economy rooms are night alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I paid more for this hotel than I have ever paid for any hotel in my life. I wanted to be close to Silver Strand beach, so I took the plunge.

The outside appearance of this hotel is very charming, and many of the rooms overlook a little courtyard area with small shops. The architecture and flowers made me feel like I was in Italy or Spain - very nice.

The hotel was only about 7 minutes from the beach, which was great. Sadly, it was too cold to swim when we were there in May, but we did collect some shells.

We stayed in a two-bedroom suite, which was very spacious. In addition to the two bedrooms, there was a living room, a kitchen, and (of course) a bathroom. It gave our family some room to spread out, which was great.

In the morning, we were awakened by A LOT of traffic noise, noise from people in the courtyard, and construction noise. That was quite disappointing. I would think that for all the money we paid, they could insulate their rooms from outside noise quite a bit better.

Other negatives: No mirror in the bedroom, no exhaust fan in the bathroom, bath/shower knobs were of a very strange configuration (again, I'm sure they could afford to fix these).

The rooms in this hotel are not all in one building. Upon our arrival, the man at the desk told us to go down the hall, outside and up some steps to get to our room. We walked out and thought, "HUH?" We were out in what looked like an alley, and we had no idea which buildings belonged to the hotel. It was a very confusing layout, and guests really should be shown to their rooms (especially in light of the high cost of the rooms)!

Breakfast was free and served in an outdoor courtyard. It was so pleasant to eat among all the flowers, including a giant bird-of-paradise flower near our table. The gentleman in charge of the breakfast area, Bass, was extremely friendly and did a great job.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
#10 Business Hotel in Coronado
#12 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cordova Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.