We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
El Cordova Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I recently stayed for a long weekend while visiting my son, stationed on Coronado. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. I appreciated having the small coffee maker in the room and was delighted that the windows opened! The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful and the couple who caters the continental breakfast were charming, friendly and efficient. My only suggestions would be: put a full length mirror in the room and offer a protein (maybe hard boiled eggs?) at the breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    145
    47
    16
    20
See reviews for
132
119
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The El Cardova is a nice place to stay in Coronado- it's nothing fancy, the beds are OK, nowhere near as nice as the surrounding hotels in the area, but it's a nice value for what you're paying for. But honestly- what (who) really stood out was Bass, the guy tending the breakfast buffet- he was OVER THE TOP nice, and so pleasant- he made me smile, which was hard to do since I was hurting from a wedding the night before. Thanks Bass for such a welcoming morning breakfast!

Room Tip: If you're just staying for the night and need a place to sleep- the economy rooms are night alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I paid more for this hotel than I have ever paid for any hotel in my life. I wanted to be close to Silver Strand beach, so I took the plunge.

The outside appearance of this hotel is very charming, and many of the rooms overlook a little courtyard area with small shops. The architecture and flowers made me feel like I was in Italy or Spain - very nice.

The hotel was only about 7 minutes from the beach, which was great. Sadly, it was too cold to swim when we were there in May, but we did collect some shells.

We stayed in a two-bedroom suite, which was very spacious. In addition to the two bedrooms, there was a living room, a kitchen, and (of course) a bathroom. It gave our family some room to spread out, which was great.

In the morning, we were awakened by A LOT of traffic noise, noise from people in the courtyard, and construction noise. That was quite disappointing. I would think that for all the money we paid, they could insulate their rooms from outside noise quite a bit better.

Other negatives: No mirror in the bedroom, no exhaust fan in the bathroom, bath/shower knobs were of a very strange configuration (again, I'm sure they could afford to fix these).

The rooms in this hotel are not all in one building. Upon our arrival, the man at the desk told us to go down the hall, outside and up some steps to get to our room. We walked out and thought, "HUH?" We were out in what looked like an alley, and we had no idea which buildings belonged to the hotel. It was a very confusing layout, and guests really should be shown to their rooms (especially in light of the high cost of the rooms)!

Breakfast was free and served in an outdoor courtyard. It was so pleasant to eat among all the flowers, including a giant bird-of-paradise flower near our table. The gentleman in charge of the breakfast area, Bass, was extremely friendly and did a great job.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unique place to stay.This place seems to be more fitting for couples looking for a nice get away that offers a great location and unique places to explore. Very friendly staff especially the gentleman serving breakfast. If you do not want what they serve the breakfast coupon can be used as a discount for crepes are a adjacent restaurant. Felt welcomed and recommend this place to friends visiting Coronado :).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

History and location, location location. We stay here every Coronado visit - We savor the personality of the historic building, love the courtyard, very good restaurants, cute and practical shops, small pool and perfect Jacuzzi and take full advantage of the fantastic beach 2 short blocks away - actually takes less time to get to the beach from El Cordova than from some parts of the Del :-) Of course we spend time enjoying the Del for lunch and sunset - again: location location.

Room Tip: re: upstairs rooms while charming require climbing steep steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just stayed 4 nights with 2 kids in a 2 bedroom suite for Mother's day and my son's birthday and we had a great time. The property is older, but I think that actually added to the fun of our trip, I mean how many times have you seen a walk through closet. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and there is even a decent kitchen. That part is a bonus for us with 2 kids. Bass always took care of us for the INCLUDED continental breakfast. And finally the location is perfect, and your not spending Del kind of money. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Hotel has discounts for the San Diego Zoo and Sea World
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights in a one-bedroom suite at El Cordova for our anniversary. We enjoy staying in hotels with historic charm and while we enjoyed the courtyard and architecture of the hotel, we found the room to be lackluster with lower end finishes and not much left resembling historic details. The room was clean and functional with the exception of a somewhat awkward and small bathroom. I normally don’t mind a small bathroom, but the lack of exhaust fan and the fact that the door opened so that it blocked the vanity meant we had some steam issues while getting ready in the mornings.

I would highly recommend this location for a family trip, as the basic kitchen would make it possible to save money on meals. Having a bedroom plus sleeper sofa and two TVs would also add to family harmony I expect. The location was the biggest plus as it is across the street from the Del and beach.

The onsite restaurant Miguel’s was good if fairly standard Mexican fare. Our splurge meal was The Brigantine next door, which was excellent. The breakfast options are a slim looking complimentary continental breakfast in the courtyard or, our choice, to go to the creperie where we received $4 towards breakfast. We were satisfied with that option, as we prefer a hot meal in the morning.

The young lady at the front desk who helped us throughout our stay was very pleasant. However, she was clearly alone and twice we stood at the desk for 15 minutes while she was apparently on break with no one to cover for her. Another minor complaint is that the pool area and laundry area (where the ice machine is) close at 9 pm, which was a bit inconvenient for us.

Finally, the biggest issue for us was parking. We had to park a few blocks away every time, which is not a big deal in itself, but driving around hunting for parking is just annoying. I would have gladly paid a daily parking fee just so as not to hunt for parking and worry about feeding a meter. The parking garage might have been a better option if you were leaving your car all day but we came and went so it did not work for us.

Bottom line: For what we paid (650 for four nights including taxes and fees) I felt that it was a good value and I would highly recommend for a family trip or anyone who wants to save money by eating some meals in. Updating the rooms by adding some historically accurate details back and improving finishes, and/or improving the parking situation would make this a 4/5 rating for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cordova Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.