We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 hotels in Coronado
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unique place to stay.This place seems to be more fitting for couples looking for a nice get away that offers a great location and unique places to explore. Very friendly staff especially the gentleman serving breakfast. If you do not want what they serve the breakfast coupon can be used as a discount for crepes are a adjacent restaurant. Felt welcomed and recommend this place to friends visiting Coronado :).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    132
    45
    16
    20
See reviews for
126
103
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

History and location, location location. We stay here every Coronado visit - We savor the personality of the historic building, love the courtyard, very good restaurants, cute and practical shops, small pool and perfect Jacuzzi and take full advantage of the fantastic beach 2 short blocks away - actually takes less time to get to the beach from El Cordova than from some parts of the Del :-) Of course we spend time enjoying the Del for lunch and sunset - again: location location.

Room Tip: re: upstairs rooms while charming require climbing steep steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just stayed 4 nights with 2 kids in a 2 bedroom suite for Mother's day and my son's birthday and we had a great time. The property is older, but I think that actually added to the fun of our trip, I mean how many times have you seen a walk through closet. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and there is even a decent kitchen. That part is a bonus for us with 2 kids. Bass always took care of us for the INCLUDED continental breakfast. And finally the location is perfect, and your not spending Del kind of money. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Hotel has discounts for the San Diego Zoo and Sea World
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights in a one-bedroom suite at El Cordova for our anniversary. We enjoy staying in hotels with historic charm and while we enjoyed the courtyard and architecture of the hotel, we found the room to be lackluster with lower end finishes and not much left resembling historic details. The room was clean and functional with the exception of a somewhat awkward and small bathroom. I normally don’t mind a small bathroom, but the lack of exhaust fan and the fact that the door opened so that it blocked the vanity meant we had some steam issues while getting ready in the mornings.

I would highly recommend this location for a family trip, as the basic kitchen would make it possible to save money on meals. Having a bedroom plus sleeper sofa and two TVs would also add to family harmony I expect. The location was the biggest plus as it is across the street from the Del and beach.

The onsite restaurant Miguel’s was good if fairly standard Mexican fare. Our splurge meal was The Brigantine next door, which was excellent. The breakfast options are a slim looking complimentary continental breakfast in the courtyard or, our choice, to go to the creperie where we received $4 towards breakfast. We were satisfied with that option, as we prefer a hot meal in the morning.

The young lady at the front desk who helped us throughout our stay was very pleasant. However, she was clearly alone and twice we stood at the desk for 15 minutes while she was apparently on break with no one to cover for her. Another minor complaint is that the pool area and laundry area (where the ice machine is) close at 9 pm, which was a bit inconvenient for us.

Finally, the biggest issue for us was parking. We had to park a few blocks away every time, which is not a big deal in itself, but driving around hunting for parking is just annoying. I would have gladly paid a daily parking fee just so as not to hunt for parking and worry about feeding a meter. The parking garage might have been a better option if you were leaving your car all day but we came and went so it did not work for us.

Bottom line: For what we paid (650 for four nights including taxes and fees) I felt that it was a good value and I would highly recommend for a family trip or anyone who wants to save money by eating some meals in. Updating the rooms by adding some historically accurate details back and improving finishes, and/or improving the parking situation would make this a 4/5 rating for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Right from the moment we arrived we were impressed with the El Cordova. As requested, we were given a one-bedroom suite on the ground floor right next to the pool. Thanks, Mica--the kids (ages 4 1/2 and 2) loved the pool and hot tub.

The continental breakfast was a pleasant surprise as we didn't realize it was included with our reservation. It was mediocre at best for the first four days but what a treat awaited us on day five. A new caterer had taken over and what a change! Bass and his wife Anna presented us with a beautiful selection of pastries, fruit, cereal and coffee. Over the remaining part of our stay we became good friends with Bass and his wonderful family. In fact their lovely daughter, Emily spent some time with us on the morning before we had to leave. Again, Bass, my sincere appreciation for your kindness and friendship.

Room Tip: Being close to the pool and hot tub is a good thing, especially if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our most recent stay at the El Cordova was our second and won't be our last, for sure! This visit was for our wedding. We got married on Coronado City Beach and stayed in the Casa Grande Suite, where we also had our reception. Most of our guests also stayed at the El Cordova and everyone just loved it! The staff is friendly and on top of things, the rooms are charming and spacious. The Casa Grande Suite is absolutely amazing! It was perfect for us and our 21 guests to have our reception. Everyone was thoroughly impressed with the suite and we love, love, love the bathroom! It's also so nice to have the kitchen and such a huge living area with great windows looking over the hotel entry and out to the Del. The balcony off of the bathroom is great, too!

I have to give a big shout out to Paula and Micah who pleasantly worked with us through 8 months of planning! They were amazing and helped our guests as well. Also a big shout out to Miguel's Cantina for catering our reception. Their food is excellent and our servers were top-notch! Thanks, everyone!

Our guests commented that our wedding was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to...the hotel, the beach, Coronado itself being a HUGE part of that, obviously! We are making the El Cordova our 'go-to' hotel in Coronado and plan on coming back for anniversaries and any other occasion we can manage. We absolutely love it!

Room Tip: The Casa Grande Suite is amazing!! Two king bedrooms and a huge living area, full kitchen, dining ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our first anniversary at El Cordova April 19-22. We had a later check-in on Friday night and it went smoothly and quickly. The grounds of El Cordova are located in the middle of everywhere and everything you want to experience on Coronado Island. El Cordova is a cute boutique hotel and has a great relaxed atmosphere. They have a Mexican restaurant(Miguelito's) on location and at night is a fun place to get a drink and listen to music. Our room (1bedroom suite) was spacious and was like a time share. It consisted of a separate dining room, kitchen(apt.size fridge,stove), and living room. The bedroom has a large walk in closet and plenty of storage. Most importantly for me everything was super clean all of the time and the staff was attentive and friendly. The hotel is located across the street from the beach and the Hotel Del Coronado. Parking is easy. If you park at a meter it is .25cents for an hour(unheard of in Southern California.) and free after 6p.m.. If you can find parking on a residential street it's free all day. The El Cordova is quaint, full of charm and different from your typical large chain hotels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we are looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet when you sleep, then I suggest asking for a ground floor room or a seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#13 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cordova Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.