We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Wonderful accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
El Cordova Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent location, Wonderful accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My room was extreme clean and was comfortably furnished. The hotel is very unique in that there is a beautiful courtyard with a heated pool an spa and an outstanding Mexican Restaurant and other shops. So convenient for everything. A short 2 block walk to the beach or Hotel del Coronado. I had two concerns, my room was on the second floor and there was no elevator. The steps are steep so I had to ask for help with my luggage as did my friends who were in the room next door. I found out the day before my arrival about the steps an asked the hotel if they could upgrade us to a first floor room, even a handicap room would be fine. They said they could not do that, even though we noticed many unoccupied rooms. That would have been greatly appreciated. Otherwise the stay was perfect. I can't wait to return. Coronado is a very special place and the El Cordova is an excellent choice for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if steps are a concern, in back, if possible. (Very quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    173
    53
    23
    21
See reviews for
165
146
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Palms
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The El Cordova is an intimate boutique hotel with little retail shops through-out and great restaurants for every pallette, from seafood to crepes for breakfast and spicier foods, in between.
Underground parking is obtainable and affordable across the street from the hotel, but there is free street parking in the residential section nearby. The standard room I booked was a bit small for two, but I will book a larger delux room on my next visit. Great shopping and dining across the street at the resort hotel.

Room Tip: Book a delux room or a suite if you have two or more in your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel has a lot of charm. The rooms were small and the bathroom was about 20 sq. feet, but it was clean and fit our needs. The price is great for the location, just across the street from the beach. The free breakfast was great, with fresh made tomato, spinach, and mushroom crepes. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The hot tub was great, and my son loved the pool. I would have rated 5 stars, but the bathroom was tiny, and there was no light above the shower, making things overall a little dark. I would definitly recommend to a friend. However, I don't think the room could hold more than two people.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have heavy luggage, as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Quaint, Great Hotel, Great location, good service, clean and all at a Great Price. My Wife and I enjoyed our stay for our Anniversary, Birthday and Valentines day. The El Cordova was just perfect place with a great location. Thank you Nathan............ for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Currently staying here in a 1 bedroom suite. Wow, what a pleasant surprise. We have a large bedroom, living room, dining room and full kitchen (rm 82). A steal for the price. Perfect location across from The Del and right on Orange st. El Cordova was the original home, more like mansion, of the owners of The Del. the staff is very friendly, Jay and Rafael were great! I loved it so much I just booked a 5nt stay in April. I'm not sure why this hotel isn't rend higher on TA but you will not be disappointed. Great little restaurants within the hotel complex too. Miguel's, Brigantine and a great little French crepe place 3 doors down. Loved it!

Room Tip: If you can splurge, go for grand suite, if not the 1 bed suite 82 has a balcony overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Quaint, clean rooms with easy access to sites, shopping, beach, etc. My friend and I have been taking vacations together since 1987 and this one will be one of my favorites:) Great bargain for Coronado! We will be back and recommend to friends/family!

Room Tip: Our room was on the main street, Orange, which is the only way through town and a little noisy. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great location, good service, and clean rooms. The place is old, but quaint and comfortable, and reasonably priced for the area. The staff is excellent. Biggest problem is the lack of parking. Had a bit of trouble regulating the water temperature in the shower, old pipes I guess. All in all, a very good experience.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
0.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 18 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Beach Village at The Del
Beach Village at The Del
#13 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.