We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location to the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Thousand Palms
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous location to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The El Cordova is an intimate boutique hotel with little retail shops through-out and great restaurants for every pallette, from seafood to crepes for breakfast and spicier foods, in between.
Underground parking is obtainable and affordable across the street from the hotel, but there is free street parking in the residential section nearby. The standard room I booked was a bit small for two, but I will book a larger delux room on my next visit. Great shopping and dining across the street at the resort hotel.

Room Tip: Book a delux room or a suite if you have two or more in your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    129
    45
    15
    20
See reviews for
121
99
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel has a lot of charm. The rooms were small and the bathroom was about 20 sq. feet, but it was clean and fit our needs. The price is great for the location, just across the street from the beach. The free breakfast was great, with fresh made tomato, spinach, and mushroom crepes. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The hot tub was great, and my son loved the pool. I would have rated 5 stars, but the bathroom was tiny, and there was no light above the shower, making things overall a little dark. I would definitly recommend to a friend. However, I don't think the room could hold more than two people.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have heavy luggage, as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Quaint, Great Hotel, Great location, good service, clean and all at a Great Price. My Wife and I enjoyed our stay for our Anniversary, Birthday and Valentines day. The El Cordova was just perfect place with a great location. Thank you Nathan............ for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Currently staying here in a 1 bedroom suite. Wow, what a pleasant surprise. We have a large bedroom, living room, dining room and full kitchen (rm 82). A steal for the price. Perfect location across from The Del and right on Orange st. El Cordova was the original home, more like mansion, of the owners of The Del. the staff is very friendly, Jay and Rafael were great! I loved it so much I just booked a 5nt stay in April. I'm not sure why this hotel isn't rend higher on TA but you will not be disappointed. Great little restaurants within the hotel complex too. Miguel's, Brigantine and a great little French crepe place 3 doors down. Loved it!

Room Tip: If you can splurge, go for grand suite, if not the 1 bed suite 82 has a balcony overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Quaint, clean rooms with easy access to sites, shopping, beach, etc. My friend and I have been taking vacations together since 1987 and this one will be one of my favorites:) Great bargain for Coronado! We will be back and recommend to friends/family!

Room Tip: Our room was on the main street, Orange, which is the only way through town and a little noisy. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great location, good service, and clean rooms. The place is old, but quaint and comfortable, and reasonably priced for the area. The staff is excellent. Biggest problem is the lack of parking. Had a bit of trouble regulating the water temperature in the shower, old pipes I guess. All in all, a very good experience.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Everything was good. Prices are way too high for the accommadations. Everything is old but comfortable.If you have any problem with stairs make sure you get downstairs as stairs are steep and small. Staff is great but if they give you a voucher for free continental breakfast beware as restuarant waitress is VERY unfriendly and seems like she does not want you there. She treated people ordering off the menu a whole lot better. All-in-all a nice experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay downstairs away from mexican restuauant...VERY noisy till late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay. I would like to apologize for your experience at the French creperie. I have forwarded your comments to the owner of the company and he has assured me that the issue will be addressed. The entire team at El Cordova wants to ensure that you have a positive and relaxing experience with all businesses on property.

Feel free to take advantage of the many promotions we offer during the off season. We offer very competitive rates for Coronado. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
#10 Business Hotel in Coronado
#11 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cordova Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.