We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but plumbing and heating leaves something to be desired.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
El Cordova Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, but plumbing and heating leaves something to be desired.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The couple of recent reviews have had a similar experience to me. We stayed in a suite, room 59, and yes, the plumbing leaves something to be desired, namely good pressure and good hot cold mixture. The shower was alternating between scalding hot or "refreshingly cool" which is not what I was going for at the end of December. The electrical outlet in the bathroom didn't work and yes, I tried resetting the GFI. I spent our first night in the room fully dressed and I wore my coat to bed over all my clothes. It was very cold in the bedroom even though we set the heater in the room to 80 degrees. The temperature in the room never made it past 65. In the morning my husband went to the front desk and requested a space heater, which helped a lot. The hotel is picturesque, has nice amenities and the location is hard to beat. There are many restaurants and shops nearby and the beach a short walk way. It's worth staying here so long as you have realistic expectations. The breakfast place has amazing crapes and they are open for lunch too.

Room Tip: Choose room away from the main walk way and if you don't mind having to be upstairs, choose an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    136
    45
    16
    20
See reviews for
128
108
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My friends and I didn't want to travel far but wanted to feel like we were on vacation so we decided to stay at El Cordova Hotel in Coronado. And I'm so glad we did!! Before we even booked a night there, we decided to check it out first. Right when we stepped foot onto the hotel, one of the staff members Maria, graciously offered to give us a tour of the property. She told us the history of the hotel while showcasing a few of the rooms in which we decided to go for the best one they had (in my opinion). When we checked in the following weekend, we felt so welcomed! Christine at the front desk was very accommodating. She recommended a place for us to go out to dinner within walking distance to the hotel that was simply delicious! I can only say great things about this place and I can’t wait until we stay here again! Thank you El Cordova!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker, co
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in a small standard room (118) which was in the back of the building and quiet, except for neighbors who kept slamming their doors late in the evening (not the hotel's fault!) The staff were pleasant and helpful. Yes, the room was small as was the bathroom, so if you are a super-sized American, you might want a larger room. Pros: across from Hotel Del Coronado--easy walk to the best beach in San Diego. Cute street location. Charming old style. Coffee in room and coffee, tea and water in lobby. Continental breakfast included at creperie 2 doors down. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Good Mexican restaurant on site. Staff happy to print boarding passes for us. Pass for $8.00 a day underground parking across the street. Very inexpensive (about $100 AAA winter rate.) Have to laugh at all the complaints. Seriously, are people expecting a penthouse for this price! Also, it's and older hotel and the room was not fancy, but all we did was sleep and shower in the room. Simple improvements to make the room more comfortable would be bettter pilllows, fitted bottom sheets, a shelf in the bathroom, and a small waste basket in the bedroom. I've stayed at decent hotels in Europe that were about this size with similar showers, so the size was no problem. For the price, you cannot beat the location and the amenties. If it were warmer, we would have taken advantage of the pretty pool and hot tub. Recommendation: be realistic and compare the prices and see if you want to pay several hundred bucks more for a larger room and shower at the other hotels, or save the money and have a super dinner or lunch somewhere. BTW, we had lunch at the Del right on the beach at the cafe. $40 for a veggie burger, chili and one coke! But the location and view were worth it, and we could afford it with what we saved by staying at the Hotel El Cordova!

Room Tip: Just ask the staff for a quiet room; many are laid out near the restaurant so you probably don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found value in our Standard rooms. I also appreciate the feedback concerning the amenities of the room. We are always looking to improve the property and listen to all guest comments. We look forward to serving you again should you return to the San Diego area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had an excellent time at the El Cordova Hotel. The facilities and staff were beyond our expectations and the location was ideal. Our room (37) was quiet and had an fine layout for an extended stay. The breakfast was very good and the choice of a free continental breakfast or a discounted full breakfast was welcome. We would recommend the El Cordova Hotel without reservation (pun was intended).

Room Tip: We were in room 37 and enjoyed all the available facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cute boutique hotel across the street from Hotel Del Coronado. Cute shops and restaurants. The staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel itself needs someone with decorator skills to make the rooms more homey and comfortable. The lighting is poor (only wall-mounted lighting), We had a very small kitchen (mentioned several times in prior reviews), The is a great hotel if your plans take you out and about, but if you intend to stay put at least part of the time, or so much cooking, find another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was not sure what to expect when I arrived at the hotel. I was very surprised that it was such a nice property. The employees at the desk were all very pleasant and helpful. The free WI FI was nice to have as was the coffee in the room. The room was very nice, with a small desk that could have used a light on it. The bed was very comfortable; the clock radio was somewhat hard to figure out and was not very bright. The closet was large, but could have used a few more hangers. The ice machine was in the laundry near the pool. The courtyard of the building contained a Mexican restaurant and the first floor of the building on the street sides had shops and restaurants. The noise was not a bother. The hotel is very convenient to many restaurants and the becah; it is across the street form the del Coronado Hotel. The hotel has an arrangement with a fitness center less tha a block away for a daily charge of $8.00. My stay was very nice and I will be staying here in the future when I am in Coronado. I have stayed at four hotels in this area and I find that I enjoyed my stay here the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker, co
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights with our two small children and had a great time at a place that resembles a Mexican hacienda/resort.

We had a beautiful, recently renovated 2 bedroom with a kitchen, new wood flooring, comfy beds, decorative furniture and fixtures, 3 flat screen TV's, and a good, sofa sleeper. The unit was on the far end away from Miguel's, the central courtyard restaurant, with view of the Del, the amazingly grand old hotel of Coronado.

There are 4 restaurants; Miguel's, MIguelito's, a French creperie(where we had the included continental breakfast- made up of sweet breads, juice, cereal, oatmeal and crepe samples- and the Brigantine(steak and seafood). The kid's really liked the Mexican food.

There are shops dispersed in the floral, green alley ways; a clean, heated pool and a hot, hotub fenced off in the center as well as a bbq area with three grills(I used this numerously- the front desk will light it for you.) There are various fountains, and the rooms are spread out around the central courtyard. Staircases, some steep, lead up to rooms, others are around the pool and Miguel's, ours was in a building with a private entrance that locks at night.

The kids loved the place. Full of romantic ambiance and character, they enjoyed going to the shops and restaurants and especially swimming- the week we were there, we had the pool to ourselves. We met most of the staff during our extended stay and without fail, they were helpful and friendly. Once, our shower plugged up and within 10 minutes, they were there and remedied the problem.

The Del and the gorgeous, long Strand beach is across the street. One can walk along Orange Blvd. and visits shops, numerous restaurants, a small museum, a yummy gelato store, a Vons(Safeway) is 15 minute walk away plus RiteAid, and a great candy store; moreover, you can take a short drive to the ferry and the bay for more shops and an Albertson's.

Activities: we took the ferry across the bay to the USS MIdway, Seaport Village; drove to Balboa Park for zoo(must see Pandas) and the museums(science, natural history, Museum of Man and others; drove for a day to Disneyland(go early and during the week if possible), Legoland, SeaWorld if you want(we skipped it).

We saw "Around the World in 80 Days" at the local theatre(Lamb's)-5 minute walk, the unique candy store right next door- our 6 &9 year olds liked the show- they had bought some inexpensive but pretty dresses for the occasion at the t-shirt shop at the hotel; go to Del- look at there shops, watch a sunset, play on the beach, drive down the peninsula(We stayed out of Tijuana); they also have a 50 minute gondola boat rides at the Cay, just couple miles south of our hotel.

The El Cordova gets a big thumbs up from our family It was nice to come home to it and Coronado after a crazy day in San Diego or LA.

Final notes- our bathroom was small but with decoratvie sink and wall tiles; the kitchen had the bare minimum of supplies and no dishwasher, disposal. There was a fridge, gas stove, coffee maker(Although the front desk supplies 24/7 good coffee!), sink and microwave, table and 3 chairs. We heard no restaurant noise, but did hear traffic, although not obtrusive to us from the main street. Now, I say these things to be as critical as possible so one will know what to expect. But again, let me say this is an incredible place to stay, and we got a good price, especially if you book well in advance and use any discount, e..g., AAA.

Finally, we paid nothing for parking. Just park a couple, short blocks away in the residential area for free; also, the meter parking is only 25 cents/ hour and free on Sunday. Kudos to the staff for making our trip super!

Room Tip: Some rooms with steep staircases; if concerned about restaurant noise avoid rooms near MIguel's
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cordova Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.