We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Walkers enjoyed their stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cordova Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
El Dorado Hills
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Walkers enjoyed their stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had an excellent time at the El Cordova Hotel. The facilities and staff were beyond our expectations and the location was ideal. Our room (37) was quiet and had an fine layout for an extended stay. The breakfast was very good and the choice of a free continental breakfast or a discounted full breakfast was welcome. We would recommend the El Cordova Hotel without reservation (pun was intended).

Room Tip: We were in room 37 and enjoyed all the available facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    133
    45
    16
    20
See reviews for
126
104
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cute boutique hotel across the street from Hotel Del Coronado. Cute shops and restaurants. The staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel itself needs someone with decorator skills to make the rooms more homey and comfortable. The lighting is poor (only wall-mounted lighting), We had a very small kitchen (mentioned several times in prior reviews), The is a great hotel if your plans take you out and about, but if you intend to stay put at least part of the time, or so much cooking, find another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was not sure what to expect when I arrived at the hotel. I was very surprised that it was such a nice property. The employees at the desk were all very pleasant and helpful. The free WI FI was nice to have as was the coffee in the room. The room was very nice, with a small desk that could have used a light on it. The bed was very comfortable; the clock radio was somewhat hard to figure out and was not very bright. The closet was large, but could have used a few more hangers. The ice machine was in the laundry near the pool. The courtyard of the building contained a Mexican restaurant and the first floor of the building on the street sides had shops and restaurants. The noise was not a bother. The hotel is very convenient to many restaurants and the becah; it is across the street form the del Coronado Hotel. The hotel has an arrangement with a fitness center less tha a block away for a daily charge of $8.00. My stay was very nice and I will be staying here in the future when I am in Coronado. I have stayed at four hotels in this area and I find that I enjoyed my stay here the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker, co
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights with our two small children and had a great time at a place that resembles a Mexican hacienda/resort.

We had a beautiful, recently renovated 2 bedroom with a kitchen, new wood flooring, comfy beds, decorative furniture and fixtures, 3 flat screen TV's, and a good, sofa sleeper. The unit was on the far end away from Miguel's, the central courtyard restaurant, with view of the Del, the amazingly grand old hotel of Coronado.

There are 4 restaurants; Miguel's, MIguelito's, a French creperie(where we had the included continental breakfast- made up of sweet breads, juice, cereal, oatmeal and crepe samples- and the Brigantine(steak and seafood). The kid's really liked the Mexican food.

There are shops dispersed in the floral, green alley ways; a clean, heated pool and a hot, hotub fenced off in the center as well as a bbq area with three grills(I used this numerously- the front desk will light it for you.) There are various fountains, and the rooms are spread out around the central courtyard. Staircases, some steep, lead up to rooms, others are around the pool and Miguel's, ours was in a building with a private entrance that locks at night.

The kids loved the place. Full of romantic ambiance and character, they enjoyed going to the shops and restaurants and especially swimming- the week we were there, we had the pool to ourselves. We met most of the staff during our extended stay and without fail, they were helpful and friendly. Once, our shower plugged up and within 10 minutes, they were there and remedied the problem.

The Del and the gorgeous, long Strand beach is across the street. One can walk along Orange Blvd. and visits shops, numerous restaurants, a small museum, a yummy gelato store, a Vons(Safeway) is 15 minute walk away plus RiteAid, and a great candy store; moreover, you can take a short drive to the ferry and the bay for more shops and an Albertson's.

Activities: we took the ferry across the bay to the USS MIdway, Seaport Village; drove to Balboa Park for zoo(must see Pandas) and the museums(science, natural history, Museum of Man and others; drove for a day to Disneyland(go early and during the week if possible), Legoland, SeaWorld if you want(we skipped it).

We saw "Around the World in 80 Days" at the local theatre(Lamb's)-5 minute walk, the unique candy store right next door- our 6 &9 year olds liked the show- they had bought some inexpensive but pretty dresses for the occasion at the t-shirt shop at the hotel; go to Del- look at there shops, watch a sunset, play on the beach, drive down the peninsula(We stayed out of Tijuana); they also have a 50 minute gondola boat rides at the Cay, just couple miles south of our hotel.

The El Cordova gets a big thumbs up from our family It was nice to come home to it and Coronado after a crazy day in San Diego or LA.

Final notes- our bathroom was small but with decoratvie sink and wall tiles; the kitchen had the bare minimum of supplies and no dishwasher, disposal. There was a fridge, gas stove, coffee maker(Although the front desk supplies 24/7 good coffee!), sink and microwave, table and 3 chairs. We heard no restaurant noise, but did hear traffic, although not obtrusive to us from the main street. Now, I say these things to be as critical as possible so one will know what to expect. But again, let me say this is an incredible place to stay, and we got a good price, especially if you book well in advance and use any discount, e..g., AAA.

Finally, we paid nothing for parking. Just park a couple, short blocks away in the residential area for free; also, the meter parking is only 25 cents/ hour and free on Sunday. Kudos to the staff for making our trip super!

Room Tip: Some rooms with steep staircases; if concerned about restaurant noise avoid rooms near MIguel's
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the El Cordova hotel on Coronado Island in San Diego a long time ago when our kids were younger. Since the 90’s the place has really burgeoned into a great spot for dining and shopping. Just across the street is the historic Hotel Del Coronado with upscale dining & shops, and the beach and beach walk are right there as well. But back to the El Cordova—an old estate complex that is converted into restaurants and shops on the lower floors, with a center courtyard containing outdoor grill stations, seating, and a small (heated) pool & hot tub. The upstairs accommodate a variety of hotel rooms & suites. We booked a 2-bedroom 2-bath suite to cover 4 adults and a child (on the sofabed in the living area) during our daughter’s wedding. It suited us very well, the outside stairway up to it began from the courtyard, very steep, and our suite was just above a Mexican restaurant, and a French creperie. The suite itself was furnished with very old furniture, not decorated or refurbished recently, I am guessing. But there were 3 flatscreen tvs, one in the living area, one in the queensize bedroom, and one in the 2-double beds room. The kitchen was small but useful, no dishwasher or ice maker, just a sink, small frig, microwave & cabinets with limited dishware.

Bathrooms are old fashioned tub/shower and tiny sink area. No exhaust fans.

Our suite had 2 separate closet areas, with an ironing board & iron.

The beds were comfy, but if your windows are streetside like ours were, be careful dressing—there are no screens, so when you crank open the windows in the bedroom or the bathroom, it’s all right there below you.

Pros: All you need to do is emerge from your room for a variety of activities within walking distance. Park once and you can shop, go to the beach, tour the Del Coronado, traverse the sidewalks to browse lots of eateries, etc.

The restaurants below & surrounding the hotel & courtyard are awesome.

Great for a wedding or reunion, where many different family members can book various accommodations at the same place and congregate

Prices more reasonable than the Del Coronado, and location was excellent

Cons: No elevators but Raphael was very helpful in lugging up our suitcases to the second floor room. If you cannot negotiate stairs well, this may be restrictive for some travelers.

Parking is $8 a day in the public lot, or streetside right outside the hotel for $0.25 an hour, 2 hours max. during the day, free overnight. We just kept quarters in our pockets and every time we walked out, fed the machines, cheaper than the lot option.

Restaurant noise early in the morning just outside, as all the rooms are connected with the courtyard which houses the restaurants. Also street noise with windows open at night as well.

Old, nostalgic Mexico décor, small bathrooms (TINY), and VERY LIMITED ELECTRICAL OUTLETS & MIRRORS—bring your own powerstrip if you want to use a curling iron or lighted makeup mirror while charging your phone or ipod or nook!

Room Tip: The standard hotel room for $99 is so small, our married children couldn’t fit comfortably in just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The front desk guys need a lesson on etiquette. I came for my wedding and not only did they overdraw my account... they were rude to my incoming family and guests. BUT its a price to pay for such a great location. It really is a nice hotel...just train the desk better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction that you experienced with the front desk. I have shared your comments with the department head for a thorough investigation and staff retraining in necessary. We understand that weddings are very special occasions, and the last thing that I want to do is to make it more difficult than it already is.

I do not feel that your experience is typical of the level of service that we strive to provide. My staff is committed to providing excellent service for each and every guest that stays here. I hope that you will give us another chance should your travels bring you to Coronado again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Neat, cozy hotel right across the street from the famous Coronado Hotel. El Cordova is located a block from the Imperial Beach. You can walk the beach coastline or on the paved sidewalk near the beach for a two mile walk, stroll, or jog. If you are not one to exercise sit on the beach and watch the surfers, military jets or helicopters in the air. There are many gift shops on Orange Street to walk in and out of for those who love to shop. El Cordova also includes breakfast with your stay. Breakfast is at a nearby French restaurant. You have a choice of fresh oranges or apples, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, or a breakfast taco. Our room was adequate. Nothing fancy with a queen size bed, big screen TV, coffee any time, small shower but decorated with Spanish tiles. I'd stay here again any day. Pool on site was open 9 until 9 P.M. with warm water and a very comfortable hot tub too.

Room Tip: We had room 116 on the second floor. View-nothing special but nice and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
#12 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cordova Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cordova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.