We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased with our choice of Marriott Coronado Island Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Pleased with our choice of Marriott Coronado Island Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed on Coronado Island at the Marriott for three days in February this year. Although somewhat pricey, it was a great experience, from start to finish. We were upgraded from a standard room to a bay view -- our patio overlooked the Bay Bridge and city skyline. The room was well-maintained, clean and spacious. The walking and biking trail runs just outside the hotel and we enjoyed renting bikes and exploring. The bike rental was through the spa, and their staff was particularly helpful and friendly. All of the staff was courteous and accomodating. We saved high parking fees by finding a spot on the street with no problem. One disappointment was that the water taxi we had read about didn't seem to be operating, perhaps due to the time of year. Coronado is just delightful. We enjoyed Coronado Brewing Company brewpub. Amazing breakfast at Crown City Bistro (small, chaotic but wonderful food!). Dinner at Boat House was just ok. Highly recommend the Marriott as a good base for enjoying all the Coronado offers!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    349
    112
    41
    20
See reviews for
280
275
26
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anchorage
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We just completed our stay at the Marriott Coronado Island resort. I have stayed with Marriott many many times and I have to say that this property does not measure up to a Marriott Property. While the location and the Staff are superb, the rest of the property was lacking. It was not extremely obvious, however, its the little things that add up over the entire stay. The health club was very much in need of attention. It costs $25.00 to use the health club and it is aweful. The carpet needed to be replaced 10 years ago and the Sauna in the mens locker room was out of service.
Again the staff and location was great, but it does not measure up to a Marriott resort property.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stayed here recently with my boyfriend (he was at a conference, I was tagging along), and we were quite happy. The room was spacious and well-maintained, with a beautiful view of the Coronado bridge from our balcony. The pool area was also lovely. Staff was very friendly. We had no complaints whatsoever. The location was also quite good - Coronado is a pretty town, and it took no time to get to downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We absolutely loved our time here! The room was great, service was fantastic, and the cushions on the pool furniture was so comfortable!! I miss it all already and I've only been home 2 days. If you get a chance grab the chocolate cake one night from the restaurant.... delicious. And Pehoe's down the street is a great restaurant as well as Miguel's across from The Del. The room was extremely spacious. We had to go to a airport Holiday Inn on our last night there and it was night and day!! Holiday Inn was HORRIBLE. (which will be my next review)

Some tips for your trip and ways to save a few $$: 1) If renting a car you can easily park it on the street outside the hotel for free. We did this daily. 2) There is an Albertson's two blocks down. Request a room with a fridge. We went there are first day and picked up yogurt and fruit for breakfasts. 3) Take a water bottle with you. There are two large bottled water dispensers pool side. Or, you can ask the bartender to give you a glass of ice. 4) Back to the car... don't know if I would rent one again. Marriot has a ferry that will take you over to San Diego for $6 each way. You can also buy a trolley pass for $30/day that will take you ALL over the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We (family of 4) spent 6 nights at the resort and were very happy with the location. Coronado was a great home base for site seeing (we rented a car) as well as a relaxing and beautiful vacation spot. However, this hotel did not live up to the Marriott resort standard we have come to expect. I was disappointed in the front desk and in the housekeeping,

The first room we were given was handicap accessible, which was not mentioned to us at check in. Most hotels I have stayed in at least mention this detail before handing out the key. The hotel was not full, so it was not like there were not other options. It was on the third floor, South wing, bay view. Throughout the night, we heard a periodic loud banging which sounded like it may be coming from the roof – maybe a compressor. It woke us up many times that night. We asked to move the next morning, and were given a very brief apology and a new room which was ready immediately (at 8 am in the morning) and was also South wing, bay view. Nicer room – better bathroom and closet, not handicap accessible. We spent the next hour of our vacation packing up and moving rooms.
The service provided by the front desk and housekeeping was lacking throughout our stay. In our first room, the bathroom had enough towels for only two of us, and our request for additionally towels, pillows and blankets for the bed and cot was delivered to the wrong room. It took two follow up calls to get what we needed quite late into the night. That was the first night. I also want to add that the amenities provided in the bathrooms were quite stingy – very small shampoo and conditioner (not enough for all of us to use once), and no shower cap, mending kit, bath gel or other niceties. Not even a sign to indicate they would be available upon request. Not a four star feeling.
When we switched rooms, I gave the front desk a written list of what we again needed in our room (towels enough for 4, blanket, shower cap, cot, fridge). This was at 9 am. When we returned to our room at 8:30 pm, there were no extra towels or shower cap, and the blanket they provided was a duvet WITHOUT a cover literally tossed in a pile onto our bed. We did get the cot and fridge. We called the front desk at this point quite frustrated. We got an apology, a $50 room credit for our trouble moving rooms, and the delivery of the towels and shower cap.
Throughout our stay, small things continued to irk me. Some of the towels were nice, others were frayed and rough. One even had a hole in it. Another day housekeeping took our bathmat and did not replace it, which led to a pretty wet floor. The nice soaking tub (which is in regular rooms, but not handicap ones) needed to have the fixtures caulked better, as did some tiles in the shower. None of these details would normally bother me individually, but when taken altogether, well - they add up when a hotel charges resort prices.
Finally, when we mentioned our disappointment at check out when asked how our stay was, the front desk response was “I am sorry, we never hear that.” When I reiterated how it was not our usual Marriott experience, she said she would be sure to tell the housekeeping manager of our concerns. Not really the response I was looking for; I wasn’t angling to get money back, but maybe a conversation with the general manager would have been nice. Honestly, it felt like they just did not care.
There are positives to the hotel – large rooms fit four quite comfortably, nice pool area, beautiful views, pretty common areas, convenient (walkable) to the ferry landing and local, reasonably priced restaurants in that area. Also, we had excellent experiences with the concierge and the friendly omelet/crepe/waffle maker at breakfast who made the best breakfast concoctions for the kids.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We were pleased with this hotel. The lobby restaurant and bar are updated, the pool was fun for the kids and the front desk staff was efficient and helpful. The location is okay - on the walkway and close to a little village with shops and restaurants. But you have to drive to reach the real heart of Coronado where most of the activity is. Rooms were okay, beds were comfortable, and bathroom was relatively large. Our room had a balcony which was a nice plus in this price range.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We loved our family stay at this hotel. We had a bay view room and really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony enjoying that beautiful view. The room was very clean and spacious for our family of four. The beds were among the comfiest I've ever enjoyed. The kids loved playing in the big tub and the shower had incredible pressure for the adults. The hotel is huge so you end up doing a lot of walking to get to the pool etc. The breakfast restaurant is lovely Our package came with breakfast and we enjoyed the buffet.

You can rent bikes and surrey bikes at the spa on the property and it's great fun to peddle along the water path right outside the hotel. There are some small beaches within walking distance but it's worth the drive to go over to the beach in front of the Hotel Del Coronado which is amazing! There's a nice playground within an easy walk from the hotel right along the water which our kids enjoyed a lot.

The pool is great and they serve lunch right there which is pricey but very convenient.

You definitely shouldn't pay for parking at the hotel. There's loads of free parking on the street which is just as close as the self parking lot and felt perfectly safe. I actually think it's a little tacky that they charge for self parking there when parking's not at a premium.

The folks at the front desk were a bit grumpy but I can't think of a single other negative thing about this hotel. It's great!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and BookIt.com so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.