We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget that historic hotel on the island...stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 3/4!
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Forget that historic hotel on the island...stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed at the Marriott Coronado Resort & Spa for one night. It was the best place for us to stay to get the Coronado experience. The hotel looks out to the San Diego skyline, and has restaurants just steps away from the hotel.

The room was contemporary and very large! The resort itself is very large.

You can pay for valet parking, or park for free on the street. Finding parking on the street was no problem at all.

If you want to check out the few shops on the island or little bars, you can take about a two-three mile walk towards the Hotel del Coronado. Out of curiosity, we walked all the way to the Del. In my opinion, the Marriott had a nice relaxing feel. The Del seemed way too chaotic. It was nice to see from the outside as a hitstoric hotel, but it had nothing on the Marriott besides being beachfront.

Behind the Marriott, there is a path you can use to walk or run- I used it for a run in the AM. Going east out of the hotel, the path takes you along the golf course on the island.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Halethorpe, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I honeymooned at the Marriott. We could not have asked for a better stay. We had a direct bay view and the room was beautiful. The bed was so comfortable, I wished I could bring it home. The concierge gave us perfect dinner recommendations. As others have said, don't pay the fees to valet your car. We parked on the street for the whole week and saved $100+.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieD06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed for two nights at the Marriott Coronado. Easy access by taxi from airport. Easy check in, desk staff was friendly and helpful. Stayed in a one bedroom villa with a nice patio. Room had a little kitchen area and a nice bathroom. Everything was very clean. Don't know why but the beds were not as comfortable as the Boulder Marriott, but still acceptable Enjoyed the peace and quiet. Walked out of room to a nice patio area. Met the local ducks. Room had a nice view of the bay and a nice pathway that lead to Ferry dock. Enjoyed the shops, had a great breakfast and just enjoyed the sunshine. Would not use the hotel resturant for future visits, but would stay at the hotel again if visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We tend to stay in San Diego about once a year, and have previously always stayed downtown. This was our first stay on the "island", and the slower pace was much appreciated before a long trip back to the UK.

Rooms were clean and comfortable (air-con was a bit noisy), and our east-facing balcony overlooking the bay and bridge a wonderful setting for an early morning coffee and read of the newspaper.

The location is excellent, with the ferry landing just a five minute walk up the bayside promenade, and also the shops at the eastern end of Orange (throughly recommend the coffee and pastries at Tartine).

Just a couple of criticisms of the resort itself. Firstly, as a low-rise development it spreads out a fair bit - we found the lobby a fair trek from our room (#344).

Secondly, breakfast was a bit disappointing. We were staying with In-laws who reckoned the quality of the buffet had declined since their last trip there 18 months ago. The excuse offered by the manager - "the economy" - is not good enough (especially in a Marriott property). In a recession you should be making more effort to get people to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

My (now) fiance and I stayed at the Marriott Coronado Resort for a friends wedding. When we arrived at the hotel our room was upgraded. It was a large room with a big balcony overlooking the hotel pool and inter-coastal. The hotel had a nice lobby bar, as well as a pool bar which we enjoyed daily. The hotel has a water taxi that can take you to the "main land" in San Diego. It drops you off in the "Gas Light" District near Petco Park. We went to two baseball games while we were there and it was quite convenient. There is also a little downtown area just a couple blocks (walkable distance) along the water from the hotel where there are restaurants and shops. We also rented bicycles one day to ride to the downtown area near Hotel Del Coronado.

If you plan to spend a lot of time in downtown San Diego, or near Hotel Del Coronado I would recommend having a car. The taxis on Coronado are few and far between.

The hotel staff was fantastic, the pool was quiet and relaxing (we were there Memorial Day weekend keep in mind), and it could not have been a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shychirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

For Girls Weekend we stayed here. It is a nice hotel, but there are NO VIEWS of any sort of beach. The skyline was nice, but alas we actually had a parking lot view. There is NO BEACH near here, while that was o.k. because we were busy all the time, with kids it would be a problem. The room was nice, the pull out chair smelled like pee and we choose not to sleep on it. The roll away bed was never delivered. However the Concierge was AWESOME!!! They arranged cars, booked dinner reservations and were very knowledgeable about almost everything.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhurey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Great hotel on beautiful Coronado Island. The hotel was quiet and we enjoyed the view of downtown San Diego from our balcony. The location next to the walking/bike path is ideal both for jogging around the island or walking to the Ferry Landing shops and restaurants. The hotel staff was attentive and the restaurant/room service food was very good. The main pool was very nice and the kids really enjoyed using it in our "down time." There is also a lap pool at the fitness center. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Coronado.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Glorietta Bay Inn
#4 of 17 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing