We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Event Deal
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Coronado
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Good:
* Great view of Coronado Bay
* Clean rooms
* Well-maintained hotel grounds
* Seems like a good place for a relaxing family vacation

The Bad:
* Parking is expensive.. $29 self-parking and $33 for valet
* Not located near the beach
* Rooms need to be updated

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    378
    121
    42
    21
See reviews for
313
293
28
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I'll start by saying wow. What a location and what a beautiful hotel.

HOWEVER,
$12.95 FOR WIFI
$29 FOR SELF PARK.

For the amount of money you spend to stay here, I genuinely think that these should be free. Because of this is why I rated service so low.

Ordered the bbq salmon for $24 and they gave me sweet baby rays bbq sauce for bbq. Thankfully i got it on the side. Come on, man! I can say I will look elsewhere next time.

Beatiful hotel, needs more inclusive guest amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beautiful entrance, and the reception and valet personnel were very friendly, the room has a plenty of space and it has a little fridge and coffee spot, bathroom was spacious also and in great conditions, what I liked the most was the bed: mattress, pillows and sheets were great and I appreciated that over all!

Unfortunately we only stayed for a day, so I didn't have the chance to go around the area but I can tell the view was beautiful and the breakfast on the terrace was great thus it worth the price :)

Oh, there was something that I didn't expect...there was a Wi-Fi fee, so I was like really? I mean room charge was a kind of pricey already and I would expect it to cover all...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a great hotel. Nicer rooms, great patio, good facilities and pool and close to the harbor. It's hard to find any fault with this hotel. We had a large reunion and everyone loved the location so much, we're re-booking for next year. Can't wait.

Room Tip: It looks to me that they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay in one of the one bedroom villas. Upon entering the lobby, we were taken back by the uninviting, dark, dreary lobby. This is not your typical Marriott decor. I'm so sorry we booked at this hotel. The only thing going for this hotel is the location. Apparently Marriott
does not feel that it needs to update this hotel since people sadly will pay the high price tag just because it is in Coronado. I really felt like I was staying in a 2 star hotel. The room had a lot of dust
hanging on the walls and the baseboards. This is unacceptable when paying over 400.00 per night.
Come on Marriott....you could do much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My family and I have just returned from an incredible week long vacation in Coronado, California and the Marriott Coronado Island Resort did their part to make this possible! From the moment we checked in to the last second before leaving everyone on the hotel staff made us feel important.

There was a minor issue in our room (smoke alarm) and it was resolved in about 10 minutes after reporting it. The shower drain was still slow to drain but that is probably from years of use! Overall the facility, grounds and furnishings were excellent. The only real area of concern that should be mentioned is the condition of the lounge chairs and umbrellas at the pool. They have served their customers well and are in need of replacement. the other item would be the charge for parking...Really? Hasn't the parking garage been paid for already? $29 is pretty steep to park a car overnight when you are already paying for a room.

Other than that, the front desk staff, the coffee bar, the resturant staff, the front door/parking attendants, the housekeeping staff, grounds keepers and pool staff should all be commended! Thank you very much for a wonderful time and I look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor (only 3 floors, elevators are slow) that looks over San Diego Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We only spent one night here, and it happened to be after a pretty lousy day (unrelated to our stay). I was grateful for the lovely view from the pool--we spent a breezy couple hours there after the sun went down. A very, very nice place without feeling at all pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#71 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,296 reviews
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 18 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 18 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.