We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Greeley, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very nice hotel even if a bit dated. The rooms are large and well maintained. The staff is helpful and friendly. Very good restaurants within walking distance. I believe we will plan a family trip to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    314
    105
    39
    17
See reviews for
256
256
23
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Really like the architecture and design of this hotel, friendly staff, easy parking, great location, good services, nice rooms/beds, got a good rate and helpful on change of reservations. Definitely will be back again. Easy walk to grocery store, park, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The advertised water shuttle does not run during some months and when it does, the schedule is unpredictable. The lobby bar is quite dated, the food was mediocre and the staff were not always pleasant. There is a lovely area on the "basement" floor with birds, water, and plants, but it's like walking through a tunnel. This could be a wonderful setting. There is a great Italian restaurant a short walk away, though. A taxi to the convention center across the water was $25 each way. This got expensive after a couple of days. We checked out and checked in at the Marriott across the water. What a vast improvement. Am surprised Marriott doesn't do something about this property and its staff.

Room Tip: Try the Marriott Marquis instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusrat M, General Manager at Marriott Coronado Island Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
First and foremost thank you very much for selecting my hotel for your accommodtions during your recent visit to San Diego. I am grateful for your feedback, my sincerest apologies that we did not meet your expectations. I will personally make sure that your concerns are addressed.
Once again thank you for the feedback.

Best regards,

Nusrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This Marriott Resort is located right on San Diego Harbor across from Downtown San Diego. The views are spectacular. The property has been upgraded and the rooms were large and the beds very comfortable. We had connecting rooms to accommodate four adults. There was a desk, couch and balcony with each room. It was a great value. The room and grounds are very clean and well-maintained. The breakfast buffet was above average with lots of fresh fruit and made-to-order omelets and eggs. Everyone on staff was very friendly and accommodating. We could walk to several local restaurants and Coronado Golf Course is just around the corner. Beach, boating and jet ski rentals are a short walk away. The Marriott has its own water taxi service to the Marriott Marquis Hotel on the Downtown San Diego side. The fireworks on the 4th of July above San Diego Harbor were spectacular. We even saw a wedding take place on the grassy area between our building and the harbor. A beautiful setting! The exercise room has lots of equipment, but the facility (including the spa) is small. They are dismantling the tennis courts and in the process of expanding the spa and exercise facility (great!). This resort is smaller, more intimate and less busy than the Hotel Del Coronado on the opposite side of the island and we prefer the views from the Marriott over those of the Hotel Del (plus the cost was 25% of what we would have paid for a suite at the Hotel Del).

Room Tip: Look for a room with a "city view" -- that means downtown San Diego.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the Marriot Coronado for six days over the 4th of July. Absolutely stunning views from our 3rd floor bridge-view room. I was worried about cramming our family of four into a room with only two full size beds, but it was actually pretty spacious. A small couch pulled out to a twin size bed that was perfect for our 13-year old, and a long countertop served as our snack bar all week. Convenient underground parking, great bay-side pool, and awesome service from check-in, to advice from the concierges, to the maid service. Most importantly, we couldn't have picked a better spot as the base of our southern California vacation. We loved watching all the activity in the bay (Navy boats, sailboats, kayakers, etc.), incredible fireworks, easy walk to restaurants and shops by the Ferry Landing, and a quick drive to downtown Coronado for more shops, restaurants, and the Coronado Beach. You can also be in downtown San Diego, Mission Beach, and the La Jolla beaches within minutes.

Room Tip: I think it's worth every penny to have a bay/bridge/city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is a great getaway! The staf is extremely helpful and nice -- you can get everything you possibly need for a comfortable stay. Unfortunately this was a business trip and I had to go to San Diego every day and didn't have a chance to use everything the hotel had to offer.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a little local getaway this past father’s day and we had a great time. Thanks to Miguel at the front desk for his special service before, during and after our stay, Ryan the bellman was very helpful and even joked around with my 2 and 4 year old daughters, Zach at the pool was on top of everything with great service and Iribe at the restaurant was awesome and patient with my daughter’s making a mess of everything. This is a great place to visit with your family, the pool is shallow which makes it a great kid pool and there are a million things to do in and around the hotel, great staff and perfect service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.