We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - inconsistent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Libertyville, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location - inconsistent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Family of four in a villa. The villa itself was spacious and offered us plenty of room to spread out. King bed was very comfy. We requested a rollaway, so our boys each had a bed. (pull out couch is in the room). Kitchenette was nice. Bathroom was large and updated. The rug was a little tired.

Location is great. We walked over to Ferry Landing for dinner one night. Coronado is a small island so nothing is really "far".

Called around noon for early check. Our room was "vacant" but hadn't been made up yet. No problem. Arrived at hotel at 3pm (check in is at 4pm). We were told that the room wasn't ready yet -- when I said I called earlier, the front desk woman said that don't rush the room until the party arrives. She also said they were completely booked and behind on the rooms. I had requested the rollaway in advance - she said it would arrive later. Whatever.

Rented bikes from the spa to kill time. This was great - we explored the island, meandered up and down the side streets - rode up to the Hotel Del (didn't go in, though). The woman at the spa was great. Too bad I don't remember her name - she was the most helpful out of everyone. Bikes were $10 per hour - extra for basket and locks. We had the bikes for around 90 minutes and she only charged us for the hour since it was late in the day and we were the last rental. Nice.

Got into the room around 5pm. if we Only two sets of towels in bathroom. Called for more - they never showed. Called two more times - and they said they were very busy - hotel is sold out. We all needed showers - so I just walked over to the spa right next door and grabbed a couple more. (not sure if this is allowed, but no one said anything). Saw a rollaway leaving the room next door and asked the housekeeper if they could just put it in our room. Didn't want to take the chance that it wouldn't show up since they were so "busy". She was very nice and came back within 10 minutes to make it up for us.

The strange thing was, that although the resort was "sold out" - it didn't really seem like there were many people around.

Stopped by the restaurant for a quick drink before dinner. Sat outside - only one table was occupied and waiter never came over to greet us. Decided this wasn't a good sign so we just walked over to Ferry Landing for dinner.

Spent the next day bike riding at Mission Beach. This was great fun. Had breakfast before we left - just OK. Very expensive - but this is to be expected at a resort property. ($25 for the buffet - worth about $15) Ordered a couple of appetizers for dinner (room service). Nothing to write home about - but the food came relatively quickly and the food was hot.

Check out was simple.

Overall a good stay.

I would give 3.5 for the room (was dated - rug needs replacing and outdoor patio needed to be cleaned better). But the size was great for our family of 4.

A 3 for service - it was spotty.

3.5 for food.

5 for location.

We had a package with parking and internet included. However, I would have not been happy at all to pay $25 for self park and $12 for internet per night. That's kind of ridiculous.

Value was good since we had this package - but I would have rated it lower had we paid these extra charges.

Room Tip: Villas great - parking just outside for easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    319
    105
    39
    17
See reviews for
257
257
24
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

San Diego is one of those perfect vacation cities, and Coronado is a beautiful spot to base your trip. The hotel and villas are very close to the Coronado bridge, and a lovely walking / running path runs right along the edge of the property by the water.

We laughed out loud when we walked into the villa we'd booked -- it was large, comfortable and had a fantastic view of the water, San Diego skyline and bridge. The villas are a perfect size -- nice kitchen with mini-fridge and microwave, dining area, large living room with a pull-out sleeper couch, and a bedroom with two double beds. The bathroom is huge and storage is incorporated into a number of rooms (wall of closets in bedroom, etc.).

This would be a perfect base for a family or group -- quiet, peaceful, spacious and well-appointed. There is a large supermarket and shops nearby as well.

If you're looking for a self-catering location in San Diego / Coronado, give this serious consideration. We were really happy here and are considering coming back to San Diego simply to stay here!

Room Tip: There are two rows of villas separated by a quiet access street; the villas that face the bay have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have been to Coronado many times, it is one of our favorite places in the summer to get away from the arizona heat. It was our first time to stay at the Marriott. The staff was exceptional in getting us checked in and making us feel at home. We liked the location (but anywhere on coronado is walkable if you enjoy walking which we do). It was less crowded at this end of the island. We thought the hotel was great, the only negative which was slight was the carpet in our room was a little worn out which did not match the rest of the hotel. Please don't misunderstand this, we would and will stay there again, just trying to give an honest review. The grounds were very nice. We did not pay for parking, you can park on the street and if you walk, you won't have to get into it again until you leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This resort is beautiful, nothing else I can say about that. The staff, especially the coffee ladies were all exceptionally friendly and accommodating. This Marriott resort certainly deserves a rating of 5 which I would have given except for a few things. My biggest issue was the lack of high speed internet unless you wish to pay $13 a day. They have a free system which is very slow and disconnects often. In this day and age, most hotels offer free internet to their guests. Perhaps eliminate the USA Today and Wall Street journal and offer internet instead. I found it very inconvenient to use my iPad and I don't have a smart phone so it was like a disconnect from the world. We have friends and relative in the area so we didn't suffer too much but I'm sure others have. This problem is a common issue at most of the Marriott hotels and something management should certainly address. Yes, I know the like the extra incomes but it would be better to slightly raise rates and include this important feature as it is something that often makes us select other chains. Next is the parking situation which does offer parking on site but at a cost of $30 a day. I understand this is a resort but I have found Marriott does this even in remote areas. Of course we simply parked on the street for free however I doubt this is possible in season.

Finally the lack of complimentary coffee which is something every hotel should provide.

The grounds are fantastic and everything is spotless. The views are amazing of downtown sand Diego and the Coronado bridge. I would certainly stay here again.

The restaurant was really nice however rather expensive. I find $25 for the buffet breakfast to be excessive.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and both were great. I suppose if you are planning to hang out in t...
See more room tips
Green Features: As is the practice in most hotels, I could see where the Marriott was using as many environmentally friendly options as possible.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Third time at the property over a few year span. We just returned from a 6 day stay. Yes the parking fee is high and the hotel has some age on it but you cannot beat the large rooms, the great service by all members of the staff, and the views. We had a Bayview room and it is just incredible for day and night views. We sat on the patio balcony every chance we could, which was alot, because we had great weather during the whole stay. This property has great landscaping with ponds and flamingos. The location makes it easy to get anywhere on Coronado and to downtown San Diego. The water taxi's are a big time saver. From the pool area, spa and workout center, they have it all. The price was a bargin for a property with all they have to offer. Outside noise does travel into the room but it is to be expected with the outside corridors. This hotel has charm and service that far outweighs the few flaws that can be found. Cannot wait to get back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View you will not be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights here after a cruise down the west coast of america. We really loved coronado island and enjoyed the stay at the marriot - lovely pool area and nice spacious room - we has a resort view room which looked onto a duck pond and had the sun on the balcony for most of the day - i actually preferred this to the bay view or pool view options. Good facilities - several tennis courts, a small but well equipped gym and comfortable sun loungers with free towels. The hotel was quiet the first couple of days but was busy near the end of our stay as there was a wedding and a conference on. The pool bar wasnt open on the quiet days, but opened when the resort was busier.

It was a good location for the ferry over to san diego downtown and there were a number of restaurants within easy walking distance.

Only downside was that wifi wasnt free which i thought was unusual in a hotel of this standard. The bar prices were a bit steep in the hotel, but overall we really liked it and would stay here again if we returned to this area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I traveled to visit family in San Diego....and when our primary location was not available to us, I chose this hotel. It was very nice, both inside and out. Staff were responsive and attentive. The room was upgraded to a bay view upon our arrival and for that I upgraded the review from 3 to 4 bubbles. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and there was both a very deep bathtub and a separate shower. The shower door took a bit of muscle to open, and the noise generated as it was opened could wake the dead. The toilet was extremely low and small. The patio needed a bit of love and kindness as it was dirty......and the flower/potting areas had nothing in them.....

For those that use internet, you could get internet on a free basis, but it was not easy to navigate to open and it was very slow. There was a pay option but the stay was already expensive as it was. The next bone of contention: the $25 per night parking.

In all, I would not stay there again. But the staff and service rated the better rating.

Room Tip: The nightly view of the bay was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.