We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't think I would like it but I did” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Coronado
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“I didn't think I would like it but I did”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I spent a few nights here recently for work and was most surprised. I had visited the hotel and thought it lacked atmosphere. However, when staying there the experience was very different. The bar area is welcoming, the service quick and friendly and the area very clean. There is also a poolside bar with fire pit tables, although I didn't see them lit. You can dine out there also. The room had a balcony looking across the bay to Downtown Dan Diego and the Coronado Bay Bridge. The sunrise in the morning, from this location was quite the way to start the day! The bathroom was very spacious and the bath tub huge! The meeting rooms upstairs were well laid out with large open windows to the water. A great view when you have been in presentations all day. There is a water taxi to Downtown San Diego but I had my car so drove customers to dinner. All in all, a great place to have a smaller conference.

Room Tip: Say you want a balcony on a lower level. I don't like having to walk for miles to and from my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    279
    88
    32
    16
See reviews for
231
230
22
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent eight nights at the resort partially for business and partially on vacation. The place is clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and genuinely cares about you and your comfort. The place is very relaxing with a view of the San Diego bay and the San Diego Skyline. Although the place seems remote from everything, it is actually minutes away from the San Diego downtown and the beautiful and quaint Coronado downtown. The amenities are abundant and although the hotel has its own restaurant with a limited menu, it is within walking distance from the Ferry Landing with many wonderful eateries and shops. We would definitely to try to go back given the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a very nice property. All employees were very professional, courteous and polite. Room rate for our group was very reasonable. I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast buffet is very good albeit a bit overpriced at $22 (as best I can recall) A couple days I couldn't find the butter at the buffet and had to ask for it which was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

As a biz traveller, I stay in plenty of hotels and many are Marriott. This property is wonderful in every way - well appointed rooms, fabulous location and views, good food (somewhat hotelly though), excellent service and staff, very nice fitness facilities and pools. Didn't use the spa. We walked 6 minutes on the sea walk to a nice water front dinner at Il Fornaio. Maybe I just picked the right dates, but the rates were good. Extremely competitive to hotels in downtown. And a much more tranquil place. Ask for a bay front room! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We had an absolutely fabulous wedding and reception here and have told everyone. The setting, staff, food could not be beat. The wedding planner, Indira, was the best. I had a Spa day on sight and felt very pampered. All of the suggestions for tours made our added stay so much fun.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Last year we had our wedding at the Marriot. Can I tell you how perfect and beautiful it was?! The staff made our day fabulous, the rooms were great, and the whole environment was beautiful. We are lucky to have such a great place to have our anniversaries at. There is so much to do in walking distance and downtown San Diego is so close by water taxi. If anyone has questions I would be sure to answer honestly. THANK YOU SAN DIEGO!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Marriott, getaroom.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.