We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a small conference!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Lemmer, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a small conference!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott Coronado Island Resort is a wonderful place to have a small conference or just for a stay in San Diego. The hotel is just minutes away from the ferry landing (but running their own watertaxi to downtown SD as well), has a great pool, unbeatable views of SD at night and good food. I came from a conference and stay at the somewhat outdated and concrete Towne and Country Resort and moved for a followng conference to Coronado and I was so pleased. A little thing that is great: you can see the watertemperature on the shower, very convenient. One issue I have: they charge you big time for wi-fi in the room. Hotels should just stop charge you for that and take care of free hi-speed internet everywhere!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    278
    84
    31
    16
See reviews for
228
228
21
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Can't say enough for the view, and exceptional services. The landscaping and layout is beautiful. The room was clean, but needs to be updated, as well as the outside buildings. More attention needs to be paid to overall cleanliness of the hallways and atriums.
With that said, the location is great. Waterfront view of Downtown, plenty of walking, great restaurants and close to ferry, which runs every hour. would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott on Coronado Island in late August 2013. It was a pretty resort. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Loved the large bathroom, walk in closet and deck overlooking the bay and San Diego. Service was excellent.

My only complaints were the high daily parking fees and the lack of free Wifi which is customary in even lower end hotels these days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed the weekend in one of the villas and I can say it was GREAT.
The Villa was clean and comfortable, the view of downtown San Diego was awesome.
I highly recommend staying here if you want to get away for the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, california
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here via discounted price on PriceLine.The room was clean, and was well maintained. We slept well in the bedrooms. The view we had faced the tennis courts, which was not inviting. The internet service was great according to the kids. The pool area was nice and we enjoyed our pool service/food. Loved their Strawberry Coladas. However, everytime I was about to fall asleep by the pool the military flew overhead, about every 15 minutes. So I had no pool naptime. We also enjoyed the very quaint and petite aviary. I felt secure with the parking security badge and made me relax at night in an unfamiliar area. For the price we paid via Priceline, it was worth staying here. Otherwise, we had breakfast alfresco at the Del Coronado, which did not have helicopters flying over and had a nice expansive beach.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the bay or pool, and make sure you do not want a view of the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Hotel in Coronado for our anniversary this past weekend. Its a nice location but the rooms really need to be updated. Ours had water damage on the ceiling with a good sized hole. The bathroom tile was old and kind of beat up looking. The view was nice but we had what was considered a bay view room which was blocked by a lot of palm trees and the pool which was noisy. We had the Romantic Package which included parking, breakfast and a bike ride so that was nice. It was an ok property, but not the best. We ate dinner at La Terrazza which is on Coronado, near the Del. That was really nice : ) Overall. a nice weekend.

Room Tip: Good package deals that include breakfast, bay view and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have 2 young boys that still talk about this place and it's been a month since we were there. The hotel is a little older but there was plenty of space in the room, super fluffy bedding, it has an updated bathroom with deep bath and separate glass shower -- and the patio on our first floor room was super spacious. The location is amazing. You literally are right on the bike path which is right on the water. I know a lot of people flock to the Del Coronado Hotel side of the island but for someone who's staying for a few days, I think there's way more available to you staying at the Marriott that's within walking distance. We literally walked to the shops/restaurant area at the Ferry Landing (only a 5 minute walk and you MUST go to Village Pizza - best. pizza. ever!!) probably 3 times a day and it was a beautiful, super easy walk even for my 4 year old. We met locals walking their dogs and everyone is super friendly (who could be mad living on an island, right?!). The check in process at Marriott was quick and simple (very sweet front desk gal) and upon arrival, we had a gift from the Concierge -- warm cookies and delicious fresh fruit -- nice touch!! We also went to Sea World one day and it only took about 10 minutes to drive to. The only things I'll mention as not-so-great: the traffic on Coronado was not something I was expecting and there are a few areas that only have 2 way stop signs that can get a little hairy to drive through. Second, the breakfast buffet at the hotel is pricey and doesn't have a whole lot. For 4 of us it was over $70 and that was with the 4 year old being free. The underground parking on property was also about $25/day. We still give the whole experience with Marriott 5 stars and my entire family wants to make this an annual event. I rave about this place to everyone. Seriously, look at the picture. That's the view FROM MY ROOM.

Room Tip: ask for the first floor facing the bridge side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.