We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for vacationers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Pacific ocean
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for vacationers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business, safe neighborhood, uncrowned pool, nice restaurant, fantastic Cottage Rooms, for this level price range hotel it was excellent. A 7 minute walk to stores and shops, but that distance kept it quiet and safe feeling. Pool had chaises with cushions. Nice park for kids next door. Coronado business district was clean and safe. Best to have a car to get around. Staff very nice, room well equipped.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    280
    90
    32
    16
See reviews for
232
230
22
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has lovely places to sit and watch ships go by and walk along the bay. The rooms are spacious and check-in was a breeze. The patio made for an easy place to enjoy snacks. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

From the initial check-in to our final breakfast, it was a totally positive experience, with a couple of magical highlights. The porte cochere (covered driveway entrance) staff were helpful and friendly, as were the concierge and other staff.

The lobby, bar and restaurant had a stylish, relaxed feel, and the room (suite) was large, so quiet with a magnificent view across the bay to San Diego. Fabric on the foldout divan was showing signs of age. The TV image quality varies, so check this out. The grounds were relaxing, well kept and flowed from one into another, with little surprise waterfalls dotted around.

A short walk around the edge of the bay, about half a mile at most, is Ferry Landing - a delightful collection of shops and a range of restaurants. Also, the gift shop has a limited wine selection and very pricey. Best to get what you want from the Ferry Landing shops, then enjoy a sunset over the water with a glass of chilled wine on your comfortable balcony chairs.

The pool beside the restaurant was lovely and clear, in a beautiful setting. We took a swim all by ourselves on the second morning. The evening before it had been full of shrieking, uncontrolled children, and thus not a time for child-free guests. So for people seeking a peaceful swim, you need to choose your time.

Our most memorable experience was breakfast, especially on our first morning. A generous buffet we enjoyed outside with a shaded view of the city across the bay, and a pool nearby, surrounded by palm trees. The chef, Santiago, prepared an amazing omelet, with lots of care and conversation, then brought it out to me personally. What a gracious and caring personality - a real asset to the resort. Our server that morning, Marco, was also totally helpful, friendly and caring. Between Santiago and Marco, we felt like VIPs!

Room Tip: Go for a harbor view and balcony if you can. We had 249, which was perfect. A bit of a walk to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights for a business trip and it felt like I was on vacation. The hotel is right along the shore with views of the Coronado Bridge and the San Diego skyline. It's a beautiful location and I cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at a one bedroom villa overlooking the water. It had every amenity Imaginable. We liked the full the kitchen and living room, even though we didn't look anything. Patio is equipped with lounge chairs, chairs and a table where we spent time looking at the boats and people watching as we sipped some wine. The Jacuzzi, double shower heads and the soft bed were added bonus. They allow dogs. We saw dogs every where. Such a dog friendly town. It's also walking distance from some local shops and plenty of eateries. We recommend Candelas restaurant. It was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the villas facing the water. You can watch the sun rise early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Marriott Coronado Island Resort is a wonderful 4 star property, located on the bay, with beautiful views of the San Diego city skyline.
The facilities are first class, the staff so friendly and accommodating, and the total environment feels like Hawaii.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view, they are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was very nice and it was in a great location, although I wish it was closer to Coronado beach. It was walking distance to restaurants and shopping, and the pool was wonderful!! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Marriott, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.