We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good for relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Room was spacious and it is in a good location facing the San Diego skyline across the bay. It is close to the ferry ride that brings you across to Gaslamp district. Or you can walk over to a shopping center with restaurants and a small beach area. A trolley is available to bring you to the other side of Coronado to see the fabled Coronado hotel. Would stay here again, but be aware of parking fees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    331
    108
    40
    17
See reviews for
266
265
25
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife, eleven-year-old sons, and I stayed at the Marriott Coronado Resort for a couple nights at the end of June. We stayed in a double room with a beautiful view of the bay and bridge. We arrived around 11:00 am and were surprised that our room was ready and we were able to check in. There was iced fresh-fruit flavored water in the lobby, which was a nice touch. The room was very large and was nicely decorated. The bathroom had a big soaking tub with a separate shower. We had lunch one afternoon and dinner one evening by the pool which provided great ambiance and a beautiful view of San Diego. The food was good and the service was excellent. The servers were very personable and we enjoyed talking to them. The general "feel" of the property is relaxation. I wish we had had more time to stay there, but this was just the beginning of our two week tour of Southern California. What a great beginning! If we are ever in San Diego again, we will certainly stay at this property, but will plan a longer stay for maximum relaxation. My wife and I commented that Coronado Island and the Marriott would make an excellent honeymoon spot. We're 16 years beyond a honeymoon, but maybe we can come back sans the boys in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and spacious, with a large bathroom, and nice view. All the staff were friendly and eager to please. One addition I would like to see is a quick coffee bar for those mornings we were going out and didn't want to have a sit-down breakfast. Our club Internet rate included self-parking, in-room wi-fi, and $60 per day resort credit, which made our stay a great value, as well.

Room Tip: Top floor bay view rooms offer the best view, although we stayed in a first floor room facing the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Coronado Marriott countless times over the years. Low key casual elegance beats out the other big hotels hands down. Staff is always available and eager to help. Beautiful setting on the San Diego Bay. We will be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect. The location is great (we love The Del but it's craziness there) and the pool and view are to die for. Couldn't say enough nice things about this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Bayside room with an outstanding staff and restaurant! Many activities such as kayaking,tennis,biking,great spa and work out room, the massage at the spa was wonderful and the staff went above and beyond to be pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: A bayside room is well worth the additional cost. Every morning and night we sat on our balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel was the last leg of our 3 week journey around California, and we had really struggled to choose a hotel that fitted our requirement - good location, suite or villa (2 adults plus 2 kids) etc - thanks to recommendations on the forums here we went for Villas offered at the Marriott.

If the correct One Bedroom Villa had been available for us as our booking it would have worked out great, but due to their error, which they did not deny, we were given a single king and sofa bed rather than twin queen and sofa bed.

The supervisor on the desk was more than helpful and really tried hard to get it right - after a lot of clicking of the keyboard she offered us a pair of twin queen rooms with view over to San Diego at half price which meant our 16 year old daughter had one room to herself (she was well happy) while myself, wife and youngest stayed in the other.

The Hotel then made sure that the correct Villa was ready for the second night (though another $50 discount was given as it wasn't ready until 10 minutes past 4 when it should have been ready prior to 4).

Without this mix up this would have finished the holiday perfectly.

In the end it didn't really detract too much from the stay, plus the discount and savings given covered our two lots of room service, parking and pool side eating and drinking bills.

Yes the hotel is a little aged, especially in the first nights rooms (see my picture) but it was clean and location is great for views, and the water taxi across to downtown San Diego

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.