We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coronado Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Verne, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Coronado Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family stayed here in July 2009 for 3 nights. First time at this property and we had a good time. We've always liked getting away to San Diego and staying on the other side of the bay was pleasant, and quieter. I love the Gaslamp Quarter, but much prefer the the slower pace of Coronado. The hotel itself is in need of some updating, but overall comfortable. The property has a resort feel as it is spread out over a larger area. The boardwalk along the bay is nice and the view of the city, incomparable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    331
    108
    40
    17
See reviews for
266
265
25
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was upgraded into a bungalow style room due to my Marriott Platinum status which was way more room than I needed, but it was impressively laid out and well appointed. My team gathered in it for meetings and it absorbed all of us like a luxury apartment. The rest of the resort is sprawling and well landscaped with spectacular views of San Diego Harbor and the bridge. There are beautiful paths meandering along the waterfront and throughout the property. Add the Marriott special style of service and it made for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I truly enjoyed my recent stay here with my girlfriend in Coronado and will visit here again. The Marriott is a great location right after the bridge to San Diego and a very nice hotel. There was a resort style pool area in the middle and the rooms were great too. The Marriott has a water taxi to get across downtown that's helpful. Everything was a little pricey though (ten bucks for a water a 1 Zantac?!) but I earned the trip free through a sales contest at work so it didn't affect me as much.

Room Tip: Get one that overlooks the bay, or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was recently at this hotel, I was there for a family wedding. We were given the discounted group rate of $250/night, i was upset that we had to pay that much for this old, outdated room! So, let me start with the good. The location is good, on the bay side, not on the beach side. So if you are wanting to travel into town, you can't walk there, you have to fight traffic to get down to the main island area. The pool was very nice, that I would hands down give a solid 4 stars. The chairs were cushioned lounge chairs, plenty of them and plenty of umbrellas as well. Service for food and drinks are available with good pool service. Plenty of towels, clean restrooms at the pool as well. The out door dining area is located next to the pool and also was nice, and the breakfast was good and not too expensive.

Now, the downfall to this hotel, or should I say motel is the very outdated rooms. This property is in serious need of a major facelift! We stayed on the south side of the hotel and it is a motel, our room was extremely musty, stained carpets, dirty/dingy bathroom floor. It did not make me feel comfortable walking barefoot at all in this room. The smell was the worst for me, as it really was musty and the smell kept me from sleeping soundly. The bed was fairly comfortable, however, the pillows were old, lumpy and uncomfortable.

They do have a little fridge and counter area which was a plus, they are nice sized rooms. The bathroom had a tiny shower, if you are a larger person, this is uncomfortable to shower. My brother in law complained of trying to fit and shower.

That being said, the service at the property was pretty good for the most part. Breakfast service was extrmely slow, and the server seemed irritated that we didn't opt for the buffet and had to come back and take our order.

If I wasn't there for a wedding, I would never had stayed, I would have checked out immediately and found another property. We had just spent 4 nights at the sister Marriot across the bay and that was night and day in comparison.

Needless to say, I will not be returning to the property in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north seemed to be newer,if you have to stay here, try for that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good location with city views across the bay. Plenty of restarants nearby and one onsite, and either 25-30 minute walk to the west side of the island or about $8 cab ride to get to dozens more restaurants. It was actually nice being on the quiter side of the island...less traffic, felt very laid back. Nice pool area with very nice lounge chairs and excellent poolside drink/food service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for five days in June 2013 as part of a family vacation (us and four teenagers/20-somethings.). We love Coronado Island but didn't need to be right on the beach, so the Marriott was perfect. The location is on the bay side of the island, with great walking paths along the water, plenty of restaurants, a nearby Albertson's grocery, near the ferry and fishing docks and bike rental, etc. It would be a bit of a hike to get to the actual beach, though - easily a mile and a half - but obviously this is not a problem if you have a car. Great location!

The room quality was excellent (comfy beds, strong shower water pressure, lots of space to spread our stuff around, consistent air conditioning/temperature control; there was a fridge in the room, and the little patio was nice for enjoying a glass of wine at night). The staff were helpful and accommodating; the concierge was a bit befuddled at times, but overall the staff was good. The gym was really nice.The lobby and grounds need a bit of updating, and the pool area is small and cramped (both the pool itself and the area around it). The flamingos in the front are cool, and there's a little aviary in the main courtyard off the rooms which is really fun. An annoying quirk was the parking - getting in and out can be a bit of a challenge because the parking gates work inconsistently.

Overall, we had a great time staying at the Marriott Resort, and we'd come back when visiting Coronado.

Room Tip: For more quiet, stay away from the pool side rooms and the part of the hotel that's closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
193 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Seeking a quiet, relaxing local get-away, we chose the Coronado Marriott resort and were not disappointed. Just a short hop from the Coronado bridge, the hotel offers underground parking for a $25 fee. The property is spread out on acre after acre of landscaped grounds with many ponds, fountains, a Flamingo pond, and comfortable seating groups everywhere inviting one to while the hours away while watching boat and ship traffic passing by on San Diego Bay.

Check-in by friendly staff was swift, and we were as booked and requested a quiet room on the top floor. A surprise was the size of the room, more in the line of a suite than a typical hotel room. It was carpeted, well furnished, brightly lit, and spotless, as was the bathroom with separate tub and shower, each with modern fixtures. The room was serviced each day in the morning, and servicing left absolutely nothing to be desired. The spacious balcony with comfortable chairs provided a very nice view over San Diego Bay, the Coronado Bridge, and part of downtown. Unfortunately, our room remained quiet for only two hours until a group of teens moved into the two adjoining room, slamming their door every few minutes having us wonder whether they were trying to turn their rooms into Animal House. Though out of the hotel's control, the constant low altitude flyover of ear shattering military helicopters put a damper on the expected quiet resort ambiance.

The pool area clearly proved the Coronado Marriott to be a family resort. The pool filled with inflatable water toys of every kind, children noisily playing watergun fights, and some dads tossing a football made the area less inviting for adults. An adult pool would be a worthwile addition to this resort, ample grounds are available to accommodate such a pool. Chaises were comfortable and ample sun shade umbrellas were available.

A water taxi service to the downtown shore leaves from the hotel dock every 30 minutes with a fare of $6 each way. A waterfront walkway leads from behind the hotel in about five minutes to the ferry landing, a number of eating establishments, and some shops. The center of Coronado, the venerable Hotel Del Coronado, and the beach are a ten minute drive away. All in all, Coronado makes a nice spot for a vacation, and the Marriott Resort is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.