We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I spent another weekend at this hotel recently for a conference. This was my 4th time staying and I still enjoy it. It is conveniently located off the bridge and a short drive to gas lamp. Cab rides from Gaslamp will cost you around $15 each way. I have written in dept reviews of this hotel before so I wont into too many details.
Checkin: I valeted the car (probably should have self parked, but it worked out to $28 instead of $22). Check in took all of 2 mins and I was ushered straight to my room.
Room: I was in one of the rooms furthest from the lobby on the 2nd floor. It was kind of a pain to be that far away. But if you want quiet, thats where you want to be (room 244). I had a great bay view. The bed was comfy as always. I love having a fridge in the room (emptied and ready for you to use). One of the best aspect of the room was the fabulous shower head and water pressure. I love taking a shower there. Bottle water was $6 each (fiji) but there was a coffee machine complimentary. I also love having a little couch that pulled out to a bed.
Service: Great. Everyone from the valet people to the other staff.

The way the hotel is set up (with ponds and fountains in the middle) is very peaceful. You will see ducks and flamingos roaming around freely. Quite nice.

Great place for a conference to be held. Would return even if it wasn't conference related.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    303
    102
    38
    17
See reviews for
254
249
23
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently stayed at this property for a midweek R and R and found it to be exactly what I needed. Large, clean rooms with fantastic views, a friendly and attentive staff and a good restaurant. I enjoyed being able to wander the grounds and the easy access to the attractions on the island. I arrived early and checked in well before the posted time which was much appreciated and relaxed for my entire stay.
This would be a great location for those looking for a quick get-away or a romantic weekend in San Diego!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are great and offer views of San Diego and all the ships coming up the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went for business. The rooms were clean and the service in the hotel was good. It was easy walking distance to several shops and eateries. The concierge was very helpful. The menu was limited in restaurant but the food was good. The only down side after eating there for several days while at the conference I wish they had more of a selection. The atmosphere and setting was wonderful. Overall a very good experience. The bedroom was roomy and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Aside from one complaint I heard from a coworker (found a dirty band aid in his room, for two days), this hotel was very nice. the concierge was very helpful to me, the food served was great. never have I has better scallops! The Pacific Cobb salad was good, even if it had a little too much dressing. The waitstaff was a little lacking on.our last day, but overall it was fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Earlier this month we had a 2 night stay at the Marriott Hotel on Coronado before joining a cruise sailing from San Diego. A large comfortable bedroom overlooked the Bay, with wonderful views of San Diego. Extremely helpful, friendly reception staff and conceirge (Norma??), who made enquires for us, as to where we could find a camera shop in San Diego. We were too busy sightseeing, to make much use of the excellent facilities the hotel has to offer. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for comfort, peace and quiet, attractive grounds to wander in or just sit by the pool. A path along the waterfront takes you to the ferry landing, cost $8 to get over the Bay. It was a $25-28 taxi/cab ride from the airport, but well worth staying on Coronado. We could not have found anywhere better to have stayed.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Bay, especially for the night time views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I spent a few days there recently while at a conference. A very nice place to stay at the wonderful Coronado Island. Good location with nice views and scenic routes for jogging. There is a very nice patio with a bar and pools for relaxing. Can be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Returned for a quick 3 day visit to celebrate a birthday. Front desk staff are among the best that we've experienced nation-wide as loyal Marriott guests. Treated to an upgrade that provided a relaxing, peaceful space. A pesky ant infestation was handled efficiently, but villa left with insecticide smell that forced us to the cold patio with all doors and windows open for hours. Still, the managers including Emily, Natalie, etc were responsive and we will return ... recommend highly.

Room Tip: Communicate ahead of time what you are looking for in a room; always an important part of a successf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.