We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a 3 night stay in Coronado and were offered an upgrade to a bay view room with a balcony for $29 per night which we decided to accept. The room was of a good standard with two queen beds, the air conditioning was quiet and effective and the bathroom was large featuring a shower with a detachable hose, which seems to be quite rare in hotels. Being picky I would say that the bathroom was looking very slightly tired, a few marks etc. but this didn't detract from the quality of the room. On the first night we subscribed to the WIFi service for $12 only to find it had stopped working by 9am the next morning, we asked the front desk to refund the charge which they were happy to do. Free WiFi is available in the lobby area, literally just a few metres around the front desk so is quite restrictive.

The hotel was generally quite expensive for everything but we enjoyed breakfast in the resort at the lobby restaurant, choosing to eat in the nearby restaurants in the evening. We didn't need to park in the hotel which wold have cost $20 per night. A taxi from San Diego airport cost us around £25.

The Marriott water taxi service was only running at the weekend but we preferred to take the regular boat service to San Diego, a short walk away, as this cost $8.50 for a return ticket and the boat was much bigger, this ran hourly in each direction.

We enjoyed our stay in this resort hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Coronado.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    302
    102
    38
    17
See reviews for
254
248
23
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham al
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel was very pretty and the room was spacious with a wonderful bathroom which had a large garden tub and separate shower. The view was beautiful of the bay . Breakfast was not cheap but it was a buffet and the food was excellent. Fruit was extremely fresh and loved the eggs benedict! And anyone who offers creme brule at the buffet gets a thumbs up from me:) The location was perfect. We enjoyed walking the long sidewalk path along the water which led to the ferry and wonderful shopping. So glad we stayed on the island instead of in San Diego itself. Just nice to be near the water but still close to the Gas Lamp district, museums , and other major tourist spots.

Room Tip: Ask for a bayview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a two day conference in San Diego and stayed at the Marriott Resort in Coronado. It was only a 20 minute drive to the conference location in Point Loma, in fact everything seemed to be only 15 - 20 minutes from the hotel, Gas Light District (10 minutes), Old Town San Diego, Imperial Beach. I had a king-bed room on the 3rd floor with a view of the 'duck pond,' (would have liked the Bay, but...). Room was extremely clean and well updated, with lots of room. Full balcony with chairs and a table. A little strange that doors opened to the outside, not the interior, but that seemed to be a standard layout for San Diego area hotels. Not thrilled about $22/day for 'self parking' ($28 for valet), but that's also typical for Marriott. At least there was no 'resort fee.' Didn't use internet while was there, but that would have been $12/day.

As usual the meeting started too early to have breakfast at the hotel, but the restaurant looked very nice. The hotel's right on the coast of Coronado Island with a very nice pool, cabana's, fire pits and a bar/grill by the pool. It also adjoins a walking path along the edge of the island facing the city and there's a 'Marriott water shuttle' that takes you over to downtown San Diego (I think the charge was $8-$10 each).

You're only minutes from great restaurants and shopping at the hotel and maybe 10 minutes from the famous Hotel Coronado and the area around it which is all great walking, shopping and restaurants. You also have beach access there, or a little further drive south on the island and you've got miles of amazing California beaches. About 20 minutes drive south from the Marriott and you're in the famous surf town of Imperial Beach with its terrific fishing pier.

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge desk. Housekeeping was also notable as they noticed I had polished off both coffee's and cups in the room, so the next day she left me three. My room was really cold the first night and I couldn't get the heat on, but after calling for service they came immediately and by the time I got back to the room it was toasty.

Overall, for the price (I had a government rate), the quality was very high, service great and the condition of the hotel very good. Elevators and some elements seemed a little dated, but overall, I highly recommend the Marriott Coronado Island Resort Hotel for business, family or romantic trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a high (3rd floor) room facing the Bay and San Diego. Or near the pool if that's your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here in early September to escape the heat in Tucson. The rooms are large and comfortable and our had a balcony overlooking the pool area and the bay. What a pleasure so sit out in the afternoon and watch the Navy ships pass by. At night, the view was of the lights of downtown San Diego. Parking is underground with convienent elevators to the rooms. Food at the hotel was a bit expensive, but there are very good restaurants within an easy walk. We really enjoyed the walk along the bayfront and even walked into downtown Coronado where there were shops and more restaurants. Overall, a very pleasant get-away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved the one bedroom Villa on the water overlooking the Coronado Island Bridge. Pool bar service was great, as well as the food we had at the bar. Wish we were staying longer. The villas have their own hot tub / pool area which we enjoyed later in the evening. Large bathroom, bedroom with desk and view of the water, and plenty of seating in the living room with patio seating overlooking the water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We loved our water view. The aviary was fun. The hotel was walking distance to many things. Stayed a week and wad very comfortable. Can't wait to return. Food was good - beds comfortable. Lovely views.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located on Coronado, so you have to take a taxi (expensive) or the water shuttle (less expensive) over to downtown or the Gaslamp. Good sized rooms, with balconies. Nice sized baths with a deep soaking tub. Small fridge. Stayed in a standard room but saw one of the villas, which is a very nice upgrade.

Room Tip: Water views are best, without question.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.