We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business trip stay at the Coronado Marriott Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Islip, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great business trip stay at the Coronado Marriott Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a two day conference in San Diego and stayed at the Marriott Resort in Coronado. It was only a 20 minute drive to the conference location in Point Loma, in fact everything seemed to be only 15 - 20 minutes from the hotel, Gas Light District (10 minutes), Old Town San Diego, Imperial Beach. I had a king-bed room on the 3rd floor with a view of the 'duck pond,' (would have liked the Bay, but...). Room was extremely clean and well updated, with lots of room. Full balcony with chairs and a table. A little strange that doors opened to the outside, not the interior, but that seemed to be a standard layout for San Diego area hotels. Not thrilled about $22/day for 'self parking' ($28 for valet), but that's also typical for Marriott. At least there was no 'resort fee.' Didn't use internet while was there, but that would have been $12/day.

As usual the meeting started too early to have breakfast at the hotel, but the restaurant looked very nice. The hotel's right on the coast of Coronado Island with a very nice pool, cabana's, fire pits and a bar/grill by the pool. It also adjoins a walking path along the edge of the island facing the city and there's a 'Marriott water shuttle' that takes you over to downtown San Diego (I think the charge was $8-$10 each).

You're only minutes from great restaurants and shopping at the hotel and maybe 10 minutes from the famous Hotel Coronado and the area around it which is all great walking, shopping and restaurants. You also have beach access there, or a little further drive south on the island and you've got miles of amazing California beaches. About 20 minutes drive south from the Marriott and you're in the famous surf town of Imperial Beach with its terrific fishing pier.

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge desk. Housekeeping was also notable as they noticed I had polished off both coffee's and cups in the room, so the next day she left me three. My room was really cold the first night and I couldn't get the heat on, but after calling for service they came immediately and by the time I got back to the room it was toasty.

Overall, for the price (I had a government rate), the quality was very high, service great and the condition of the hotel very good. Elevators and some elements seemed a little dated, but overall, I highly recommend the Marriott Coronado Island Resort Hotel for business, family or romantic trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a high (3rd floor) room facing the Bay and San Diego. Or near the pool if that's your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    279
    89
    32
    16
See reviews for
231
230
22
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here in early September to escape the heat in Tucson. The rooms are large and comfortable and our had a balcony overlooking the pool area and the bay. What a pleasure so sit out in the afternoon and watch the Navy ships pass by. At night, the view was of the lights of downtown San Diego. Parking is underground with convienent elevators to the rooms. Food at the hotel was a bit expensive, but there are very good restaurants within an easy walk. We really enjoyed the walk along the bayfront and even walked into downtown Coronado where there were shops and more restaurants. Overall, a very pleasant get-away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved the one bedroom Villa on the water overlooking the Coronado Island Bridge. Pool bar service was great, as well as the food we had at the bar. Wish we were staying longer. The villas have their own hot tub / pool area which we enjoyed later in the evening. Large bathroom, bedroom with desk and view of the water, and plenty of seating in the living room with patio seating overlooking the water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We loved our water view. The aviary was fun. The hotel was walking distance to many things. Stayed a week and wad very comfortable. Can't wait to return. Food was good - beds comfortable. Lovely views.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located on Coronado, so you have to take a taxi (expensive) or the water shuttle (less expensive) over to downtown or the Gaslamp. Good sized rooms, with balconies. Nice sized baths with a deep soaking tub. Small fridge. Stayed in a standard room but saw one of the villas, which is a very nice upgrade.

Room Tip: Water views are best, without question.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a girls trip, the rooms were large with two double beds and a pull out.... worked perfect for sleeping arrangements. We had plenty of room for our "own space" and the bathroom was quite large and lovely. Shower and seperate tub and large vanity. All of the amenities needed makeup mirror, hairdryer, etc. The patio was lovely and private with a table and two chairs. The property is pretty and comfortable! Tony the driver is available at anytime for flat fees $10 across the island or $20 to the airport - very nice twon car and he's quite the talker! The lobby bar is pretty quiet - the bartender will place drinks in-front of you even if you have not asked for another - so beware! This was disappointing to us. The resort was full of kids which means the pool had lots of kids running about and screams... btu that is what pools are for I guess. The bar at the pool was good, had TV's with sports games playing and a full menu. Service other than walking to the bar yourself needs some attention. There are many ducks on property and we did have the pool closed for about an hour ... not the hotels fault but you'd think they'd run lines to detur the birds. Breakfast was AMAZING! VERY GOOD! There are other great restaurants and shops just down the board walk within a mile or less. Beautiful walkway, scenic!

Room Tip: Requesting a room with a view of the bay won't be a regret!!! The view of San Diego and the Nav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this property. I stayed here about 3-4 years ago and the property has vastly improved.
This time I was placed in a "villa" #410. I really liked the villa, it a was large unit with a living/dining area and a small galley "kitchen" area (no stove -just microwave). The unit included a large bathroom, with a separate jetted tub and a separate shower stall. My favorite feature was the large sliding glass doors that opened from the bed/living area onto a "private terrace". This terrace was flanked by a man-made pond water feature, the sound of the fountain was relaxing. I liked leaving the doors open with the sheers drawn. There are ducks, the ducks are cute but are always looking for some food from you and if they like your terrace they'll leave droppings... Thankfully they didn't like mine. I did a panorama photo of the room to show how big it is -not sure that I really did that but I'll upload it anyway. The villas are a short walk to the hotel lobby and fitness center. The fitness center has plenty of machines but seems to always be busy. My first day I went over at 5:55am and 2 of the 4 cross trainers were already in use. The restaurant/bar was very good -pricey of course -but good. I recommend the bloody mary -esp. if you like them spicy. For breakfast they make a broken yoke sandwich -really good. Location-wise we liked it here. The water taxi is super convenient to the gas lamp district. We took the water taxi over to the Marriott Marquis - getting through the Marquee was a little confusing . Gas lamp area is great, a lot of fun.
Parking at this property is Ok, a bit expensive and a little inconvenient but ok.
We had a little trouble checking out but it all worked out. Check in and food service were all very good.

Room Tip: If you can get a villa, get an end one, I had 410 and my colleague had 408 the middle villas are roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Marriott, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.