We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this property. I stayed here about 3-4 years ago and the property has vastly improved.
This time I was placed in a "villa" #410. I really liked the villa, it a was large unit with a living/dining area and a small galley "kitchen" area (no stove -just microwave). The unit included a large bathroom, with a separate jetted tub and a separate shower stall. My favorite feature was the large sliding glass doors that opened from the bed/living area onto a "private terrace". This terrace was flanked by a man-made pond water feature, the sound of the fountain was relaxing. I liked leaving the doors open with the sheers drawn. There are ducks, the ducks are cute but are always looking for some food from you and if they like your terrace they'll leave droppings... Thankfully they didn't like mine. I did a panorama photo of the room to show how big it is -not sure that I really did that but I'll upload it anyway. The villas are a short walk to the hotel lobby and fitness center. The fitness center has plenty of machines but seems to always be busy. My first day I went over at 5:55am and 2 of the 4 cross trainers were already in use. The restaurant/bar was very good -pricey of course -but good. I recommend the bloody mary -esp. if you like them spicy. For breakfast they make a broken yoke sandwich -really good. Location-wise we liked it here. The water taxi is super convenient to the gas lamp district. We took the water taxi over to the Marriott Marquis - getting through the Marquee was a little confusing . Gas lamp area is great, a lot of fun.
Parking at this property is Ok, a bit expensive and a little inconvenient but ok.
We had a little trouble checking out but it all worked out. Check in and food service were all very good.

Room Tip: If you can get a villa, get an end one, I had 410 and my colleague had 408 the middle villas are roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    328
    107
    40
    17
See reviews for
265
261
25
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyle, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you like a hotel that has great views and is on the water, this hotel is for you. Outstanding view of the San Diego skyline. Rooms are nice and clean. The only negative I had is with the condition of the stairwells. I tend to take the stairs instead of waiting for elevators. The stairwells were disgusting. Marks on the walls and major stains on the carpeting. Certainly not up to Marriott's standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of San Diego Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The location is lovely. Our room overlooked the pool area which would have been nice, except for the large tacky sign announcing the pool side bar. Our room was comfortable but tired, the furniture showing the odd nick and scrape. It was also very noisy. I think the open nature of the hallways and the construction of them is an unfortunate combination. I don't expect WiFi and parking charges at a hotel in this price range. The restaurant menu was disappointing - very little variety.
The public areas were very nice. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

One of the most welcoming greetings from a Hotel, we have ever received. We arrived early and a room was available, we had booked a corner suite. We went to our room only to discover that our view was obstructed by Palm Trees, so we went back and asked to change. We were given a room on the South Wing and this time the view of San Diego City was beautiful. The Marriot have a private boat that takes you accross the bay for $US6 and it only takes 15 minutes and was a lovely ride. Shops and nice restaurants are a 10-15 minute walk away. Bike hire is available also. The Island is very clean and has some beautiful beaches and it's easy to walk or ride around it. They have a lovely lagoons throughout the hotel and a large swimming pool. It is also family friendly. This hotel was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing San Diego city, it's beautiful lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We loved everything about the hotel. We had a suite with a separate living room with a sofa bed which was perfect for our 15 year old son. However, what was not perfect for him was the $12.95 a day charge for in-room wifi. It seems very mean not to include it when you are paying around $400 a night and the free wifi in the lobby was very spotty. That said, we loved everything else. The restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner and poolside drinks and snacks. The staff were all lovely and very attentive. The resort ducks who have perfected their "feed me I'm starving" looks were very cute.

Room Tip: We had a bayview room on the third floor which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I just spent a week at this hotel and while there were a few things we did like, we would not select this hotel again if we returned to San Diego. First the good - the service at the hotel and the restaurant were excellent, the one bedroom villa we had was a nice size, the bedroom area and bathroom were very nice, and the water pressure in the shower was great! Unfortunately the negative aspects outweigh the positive for us. The living area needed updating and cleaning. The rug and furniture were very worn, and seemed very dirty. In addition, the room hadn't been cleaned very well. There was hair in the bathroom, toothpaste on glasses by the sink and on the faucet, cereal on the floor in the bedroom, and a very large straight pin on the floor in the bedroom, that luckily neither one of us stepped on. We also weren't crazy about the view. We had a bay view room, but it seemed to look out on an industrial area, so wasn't a very pretty view. Also, there was a walking path between our room and the water so there were people constantly streaming back and forth, even though it was the off season, and several times there were large families sitting out in the grass just outside our room, so we ended up keeping the blinds closed most of the time we were in the room.

The location of the hotel was fine. We found it easy to get around San Diego from the hotel, and it was a short drive to the beach near Hotel Del. There were also plenty of restaurants nearby or a short drive away. Miguel's Cocina was recommended by a friend, and it lived up to the recommendation, and we loved the ice cream at Mootime Creamery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First of all, this Marriott property is in an amazing spot! Views from the balcony of San Diego's Harbor and it's skyline we're a pleasure throughout our visit! The resort pool was lovely and worthy of the resort title. The only thing keeping me from giving this property 5 stars is the tired look of the outside of the buildings. It felt more like a timeshare property with its weathered look. I loved the location... Plenty to walk to, bike to, or drive to on Coronado Island! The weather was uncharacteristically gloomy the first 2 days of our trip, but the pool/hot tub and low stress nature of where the Marriott site, made it enjoyable for 2 kids and their parents! The fire pits at night around the pool area made a pretty scene and was fun for the kids to roast marshmallows over the flame!

Make sure to rent bikes and "ride the island" ... We normally don't bike much, yet all of us loved it here! The walking path from the hotel to the Ferry Landing area is also a must... Peaceful in the morning , lots of cute shops, and restaurants for every taste and budget! We didn't even venture off the island for the 3 nights we stayed at this Marriott in Coronado.... No need to! Everything you could possibly want is so close!

Room Tip: Any room that has a balcony facing the pool would work! The views are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.