We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on Coronado Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Coronado Island Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on Coronado Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

First time that we have stayed at this hotel - family of 4. We really liked it. Rooms were spacious and nice. Loved that we had a balcony and a fridge. Hotel seemed only about 60% occupied, so not sure what is going on with that. Hotel is located on the bay side, but the pool overlooking the bay is beautiful. The pool wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Breakfast buffet was your typical "too much money" type thing - 22.00 for adults and 10.00 for kids 6 and over. We ate there one morning (I skipped the buffet and ordered something off the menu that was only 10.00), but the rest of the time, we found other breakfast spots on the island to eat. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning our room each day (we have 2 small kids, so it gets messy). The island is so small that you can stay anywhere, but we really liked that we knew what we were getting with the "marriott" name. Would stay here again. (I also heard they sell discount tickets to Legoland)

Room Tip: We didn't want to pay more to be "bay view", but we had a lovely view of a little pond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    298
    99
    36
    17
See reviews for
252
244
22
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My partner and I traveled to San Diego for a college graduation and used our Marriott points to stay the the Marriott Coronado Island Resort. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the San Diego Bay and throughly enjoyed our room. The room was large and house cleaning did a great job of cleaning every day. We went to La Jolla to see the seals and the Gliderport and spent an afternoon at the San Diego Zoo. While in Balboa Park we ate lunch at the Prado Restaurant. Outstanding! We also took the Old Town, Hop on, Hop off Trolley and enjoyed every minute. Make sure you get off at Little Italy. Every Saturday morning they have a farmers market with music and great food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stay at the Marriott Coronado Island twice a year on business and it never lets me down. The staff is kind and helpful and the setting is wonderful. Hotel is on the waterway at the entrance to the San Diego harbor area (not on a sandy swimming beach...that is on the other side of Coronado Island), but the waterway is full of activity, and you have a stunning view of the downtown skyline across the water. The food is excllent, it is a very quiet hotel and the rooms and bathrooms are very spacious. The Island has a wonderful walkway that circles nearly the whole island, so you can start walking/running/biking from the hotel and get a great workout in while seeing Coronado Island. The hotel has families of ducks living in its many ponds surrounding the grounds and they are fun to watch as you are eating on the patio overlooking the pool and water. You will not be disappointed in this hotel choice!

Room Tip: I have stayed at all locations around this hotel....but ask for a water view...much more fun to watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel had the most amazing views of San Diego, we sat on our balcony and watched all sorts of boats go by, from small water taxis to huge cargo ships, all passing in front of the San Diego skyline. Even the Coronado bridge was beautiful, it linked San Diego to Coronado and was only a 10 min drive from the Marriot to the san diego side of the bridge.
The hotel was lovely, huge bedroom with balcony, sitting area and large bathroom with bath and shower. There are pink pelicans in the lake at the entrance to the hotel, and everywhere you go you are met by a family of ducks!
A walk of approx 10mins takes you to the centre of coronado where there are plenty of restaurants and pubs and a lovely beach.
we stayed 3 nights here before crossing the bridge and staying 2 nights in san diego town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Island Hotel still ranks high for location and scenery. I have stayed at 5 star hotels in San Diego (Torrey Pines) and find that this Marriott is so convient to all the attractions using the Old Town Trolley bus shuttle. The only complaint I have is the $22.00 parking fees. I would give it a rating of 5 but for this and also this time I paid for this parking and the security gate that gives you in and out entrance was remove when I was there so there was no security at all. I could have park there free and no one would have been the wiser since I heard a group talking about parking there for two days and not having to pay. I ask about this at the front desk but they said they have personnal checking for cars that are not authorized to park there. This I find out hard to believe since I did not put anything in my window to show a parking permit.

Room Tip: There are parking places outside the hotel that are free and you can also take the shuttle boat prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed at this great hotel in February, 2012. A bit off season, so not crowded. Pool was fabulous, restaurants very good, and location was perfect. We walked down the path next to the water daily to a shopping area with lots of restaurants, shops, and places to sit in the sun. The staff was great - excellent and prompt service. Room was spacious, had a refrigerator, balconey. Reasonable prices, and a free Wall Street Journal everyday!

There is a spa that is being redone - fortunately. Currently the treatment rooms are on the first floor, under the gym, and you can hear treadmills going and jumpropers, etc. Before booking the spa - check to see if it has been redone - otherwise it may not be as relaxing as desired.

I'd highly recommend this hotel for families (although please don't go there while I'm next there), romantic getaways, and just any vacation. Quiet, comfortable, and delightful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Went over Memorial Day weekend for 2 days and ended up staying for 4. This is second time we have stayed here and each time exceeded our expectations. Pool area so relaxing and program for kids was exceptional. Room was huge and every room has a great view of resort or bay. Would definitely recommend for a romantic getaway or family travel

Room Tip: go for bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coronado Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coronado Island Resort

Address: 2000 Second St, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Coronado Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Coronado Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coronado Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.