We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coronado Inn to your Saves list
Coronado Inn
266 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I booked on line and when we checked in we were allocated a room at the rear overlooking a back alley. We found it contained only one bed which seemed very small, so we returned to check in and they were able to allocate another room with two beds which was far superior in every way for an extra $10 per night
There wasn't a lot of choice of breakfast items, but we had sufficient to stave our hunger and the rate was very reasonable for Coronado.
We were woken early one morning as the hotel is on the main road, but is within walking distance of the waterfront shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    15
    9
    14
See reviews for
33
22
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chino, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I stumbled on this hotel on a spur of the moment trip. We chose it because it was a very inexpensive rate for a last minute stay for 1 night. We were so impressed w/ the cleanliness we've now came back every year for 7+ years.

It's within walking distance to the Village Cinema Theater and the Village area where you have plenty of choices for lunch and shopping.

The hotel is also in process of upgrading their rooms w/ Flat Screens and new interior features.

Perfectly priced and accommodated getaway!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

First of all I planned this trip at the last minute and switched the hotel the day before check-in! So for all of this last minute action I rated the inn higher than some others might. The inn is small and that made me feel comfortable however the room was a little smaller than I thought it would be but again just a weekend trip so didn't spend much time in the room.. The staff was friendly and I didn't have any issues to rate responsiveness but they seemed helpful if necessary. The inn is not modern but has character which I preferred for this trip! Homey feeling overall in the town and at the inn. Continental breakfast was served and is just sitting out in front of the lobby again I enjoyed the down to earth atmosphere and safe environment. My room was in the back and pretty quiet the two nights I stayed. So overall I would stay again on a short trip. The price was awesome especially since it was last minute and still very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Well I read some of the reviews prior to my reservation but I didn't have any issues with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

At first sight this looks like a cozy cottage. They're renovating the place so there is quite a difference between room 61 and room 18. They've got an amazing customer service approach to their temporary residents. Those that reviewed with poor reviews I will never understand. I found everything to be clean and well maintained. Even in the old room 61. I also found it to be fantastic that within two blocks is the ferry and the bay and a mile the opposite direction is Coronado Beach or imperial beach. Both directions is filled with cafés, restaurants, and shopping! Victor was the person we had the pleasure of doing business with. Amazing place! Fridge and microwave with grills out back! I highly recommend this for a cozy relaxing and happy stress free vacation without the loud tourists, the obnoxious gas prices, and the stress of concerns. We had a fantastic week here and the rates were really phenomenal. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed! Management was very open and inviting to any and all feedback. Breakfast selection had variety as well as delicious! If you forgotten your pc, they have computers in the reception area as well as amazing free wifi! Grills are well maintained and easy to use. I have stayed at both of the stuffy resorts and this is much more relaxing. I absolutely loved that our car remained parked the entire week we stayed! Of course, try this place out once and form your own opinion:)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Coronado Inn for a week because it had a kitchen and would save us some money eating out. From the parking lot things didn't appear too awful, and then we walked into our room. The entrance was into the living space and the smell was terrible. Kind of mildewy. There were two full size beds in the sleeping area dressed in tattered/torn bedspreads, and the only method of cooling the entire suite was with the window air conditioner in this room. The floor from the bedroom into the bathroom and kitchen was uneven and you couldn't tell whether it was dirty or not. There was an old tub with remnants of non stick stickons on the floor and you couldn't tell if it we're clean or not. Had you wanted to take a bath, you would've had to put the rubber disc over top of the drain hole because there was no levered drain cover.....just a gaping hole. Enter the kitchen. The refrigerator was missing parts on the inside that made refrigerated storage space tight. The stove/oven was gas, missing a grate, and with an oven that would not fire. Also, the stovetop was so hot to the touch with never being used that my husband called the front desk and was told they would call a maintenance man. No call, no one showed. Husband calls next day and they send a non English speaking housekeeper to evaluate the situation, and again no one to address the problem. Speaking of the housekeeping staff, we saw them every morning in the alley behind the hotel dumpster diving for aluminum cans. Our sons room had its own set of issues, but most troubling was the electric outlet behind the bed that was hanging out of the box. Up to code? Don't think so. Has WiFi, but is so slow I could never use it. Do yourself a favor and book somewhere else. We only stayed three days because the Best Western didn't have a vacancy right away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Absolutely horrible!!!!!!! The location is the only reason this place is still in business. The door to the room had huge gaps in it, the iron was old and stained my dress, everything in the hotel looks like they bought everything from goodwill in 1980. The ironing board was filthy & disgusting; I went to the front desk and asked for a decent one and they gave me another in the same condition. Then early in the morning the housekeeping staff were making tons of noise rolling around carts and talking to each other so loud that it sounded like they were yelling at each other. My fiancé asked the front desk attendant to tell them to be quiet for sleeping customers. They were quiet for about 10 minutes then were back to yelling at each other. We checked out right away and left angry. Then we tried to speak to the manager who will not return any messages and refuses to call me back. This place is completely unprofessional and needs to be completely renovated. I have stayed in hostels in Mexico that were significantly better than this. Also, there was no venting in the bathroom and there was a dumpster directly at the bathroom window.

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you are desperate for a place to sleep and be woken up really early. Room 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights and was more than happy with cleanliness and comfort. Nice continental breakfast as well! Parking spots are gone after 7 pm and must park on street. Pool was clean too! Clean budget hotel in good location!

Room Tip: Rooms have wood mini-blinds and let alot of light in. Do not stay here if light in a room bothers y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Address: 266 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.