We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great deals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coronado Inn to your Saves list
Coronado Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   266 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Coronado
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great deals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The room was cozy, quiet at night, free wifi and its just a ten minute drive to downtown. The staff was really nice and attentive. Theres a swimming pool in the back but we didnt have time to use it. Overall great experience, and at a pretty low rate, hard to come by in Coronado Island. I'll definitely stay at Coronado Inn next time i visit San Diego. Thanks Erin for all your help!

Room Tip: Room 4 is our fav
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    20
    11
    15
See reviews for
39
24
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Sunlight, Surf Steps Away. . . but, most importantly, SERVICE, SERVICE, SERVICE !

Old-time, old school hospitality just short of downtown, the Ferry, the naval bases, and, of course,
Coronado Downtown shopping and cuisine! We stopped in just for a one-night visit to the island, and obtained a month's worth of grande clean and personal contact from the front desk through the housekeepers, and even were professionally greeted by the Manageress.
The Coronado Inn is now on our permanent list. Classically quaint with all of the technical benefits. . . including a continental breakfast.

Don & N.B.Georgia
Sonoran Bay Music

Room Tip: Ask the front for the type of room you especially prefer. Helpful, knowledgeable and very personabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Booked for Coronado Inn; was housed in Coronado Island Inn, which required 2 street crossings at one of Coronado's busiest intersections with long traffic lights to access main desk/amenities. Traffic noise was horrible, waking me up before 6 am each day as traffic from the main bridge to the island passed by, headed to naval base. Lots of motorcycles. Room quite clean; wi-fi unusable. Most times you must hunt for parking on the street, not at the hotel. Mine was a prepaid booking and I was put in a lower cost room. Neither the hotel nor the booking agent (major name starting with "O") would refund my credit card for the difference despite what their website says; O only offered a travel voucher but I won't use them again for hotel booking. I survived but would not recommend this unless you are very hardy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Coronado Inn and the second time, I found myself much more contented. Let's be honest--it must be one of if not the cheapest hotel on the island, so it's not surprising that it lacks a few amenities. My room was clean with one lamp that worked pretty well. The tvs are old with clumsy remotes; my bed was comfortable and the shower, while very small, worked fine. If you're looking for a bit of chic, stay elsewhere. If you're looking for an inexpensive and basic hotel, you couldn't do better.

Room Tip: It's what used to be called a "motor court," so cars park close to the rooms on the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ok, I went to Coronado to attend a conference at the Hotel del Coronado. I got the ticket late, so all the other hotels were booked. I knew going into this adventure that it wouldn't be the nicest of places, and I figured, since I was on a business trip, all I really cared about was a clean bed and a shower. Coronado is a pleasant place, so it was in a decent area, but that's about all it has to offer. The "continental breakfast" is cold cereal and bad bagels served on the front steps of the office, in the parking lot. The place has been there a while, as is evidenced by the very worn everything. I wound up in the building in back of the property, with a screen door that had it's knob mounted in the same space where the door knob sat, so the two doors could not both close at the same time. Which isn't a big deal, except the screen door flapped open and semi-closed all night long. Several blinds were broken, they didn't even replace the tiny bars of soap daily... I was there for 4 days, used the same nub of soap the entire time. It was a mile walk to to Hotel del Coronado, which was pleasant. There are a lot of restaurants, pubs, stores, and a movie theater within 10 minute walk of the property, so that was nice. The TVs barely worked, the remotes not at all, and they did nothing about it when I asked. Since I spent so little time in the room, I chose to ignore the issues and make the most of my time in Coronado. I would have had an entirely different attitude if i were staying there for leisure or if I had to spend any significant time on the property. I wouldn't recommend this place for anyone, I'd stay away.

Room Tip: Go to another facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

got there late, put us in a room, the heater blew out smoke and set the smoke detector off, blinds broken, the other room the heater did not work at all. got home from vacation and the double charged us for one night!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This inn was a very good value. We debated staying in downtown San Diego, but chose this place instead because the location is perfect for a stroll on the beach in the morning or evening and with parking included is a great value for the San Diego area and very close to downtown sites. It is really the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
1.0 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#6 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 18 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Address: 266 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.